We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and the quality shows it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coronado Inn

Save Saved
You added Coronado Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coronado Inn
266 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and the quality shows it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The inn is located on Orange, which is the main street on Coronado. The rooms are clean and functional. They have a TV, and microwave, and a small fridge. The shower is very small. The rooms are noisy and the inn allows dogs, which makes for a noisy experience. The beds are not very comfortable. It's a long walk to the beach and restaurants located near Hotel Del Coronado.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the complex so you don't get road noise from Orange.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    14
    8
    13
See reviews for
30
20
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

When we have had out-of-town guests visiting, we generally try to keep them on Coronado vs. "across the bridge" on the San Diego side. In picking Coronado hotel/motel locations for our guests, because of their complaints about the conditions existing at the Coronado Inn, we choose other properties. The Coronado Inn is anything but nice, the mold and mildew that is growing within their walls is only "painted over" to encapsulate vs. properly removed and, the room rate is pure robbery.

Staying at this property is really not a good idea!

Room Tip: Stay at the nearby Marriott Island Resort Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Adequate hotel. Problems with hot water in shower first day but fine thereafter. Shower did not drain. Hotel is right on busy corner so expect some traffic noise. Difficult to get into hotel as driveway is actually on Orange, requiring quarter-mile drive east to double-back to hotel. Limited parking. Take your chances if you leave during the day and good luck getting back into hotel (or out) during rush hour Coronado traffic. Quality service from staff. Very nice light breakfast provided.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Blanc, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My family and I stayed three nights at the Coronado Inn. Granted, this is an older property, and the rooms are not high style, but the location cannot be beat, nor can the price. The room was clean (and I am very picky about cleanliness), and the kitchenette was very convenient, given the prices to dine out around the area. The beds were not the most comfortable, but tolerable. The staff was very nice. Breakfast was fine, nothing fancy, but better than nothing! We did not get a chance to enjoy the pool, but it was clean. There are also grills just outside of the pool area that you can use. Parking is a little sketchy, but we always managed to find a place every time. The ferry to San Diego and shopping are only a 10 minute walk away. If you are looking for a high class place with tons of amenities , this is not the one. But if you are looking for a clean, convenient, wallet friendly place in beautiful Coronado Island, this fits the bill!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The room was tolerable. We rented what was called the large kitchen suite. Had one bathroom for four adults. Needs major repair and updating. The continental breakfast was stale bagels, fake tang and fresh fruit on some mornings. The location is right on Orange Ave -- the main street -- but will definitely not return to this one. If you are looking for ambiance you won't find it here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here a few weeks ago. Will not be back.

We stayed in room 1 the first night. The room was ok inside, but it was incredibly noisy all night because it is the closest room to the intersection. The next morning we were ready to leave no matter what, but they had a room open up away from the street. That room was noisy too because of marines partying in a nearby room. The 2nd room (don't remember the room number) was a bit shabby inside and needed some minor drywall, painting and other work.

The location is great, but I'll look into other options next time I want to stay in Coronado.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street, and especially avoid room 1, the closest to the instersection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nv
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

After making a last minute decision to stay on the island for a few mid-week days, I found a lot of sold out or very expensive $350+ rooms so i was excited when i found availability here. There is a mix of pro's and cons.
Con's:
The bed! Very hard and old. My third and last night I tossed and turned, my body sore from the very hard mattress.
The A/C! I was here during a heat wave and the little old wall unit was not able to cool the room down very well.
Pro's:
The price! Only $139 in August
The room had a microwave and small refrigerator.
The service! The employees were wonderful!
The complimentary bottled water and coffee all day long.
The complimentary breakfast. Cereal, oatmeal, pastries, bagels, and fruit.

The parking is not guaranteed on site and my last night I did have to park up the street. Even the back lot was full.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coronado Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coronado Inn

Address: 266 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Location: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 hotels in Coronado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coronado Inn is located on beautiful Coronado Island, home to one of the top 5 beaches in the country. With its great atmosphere and central location, the Coronado Inn is the perfect hotel for vacation or business. Come stay with us, our friendly staff is eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Coronado Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coronado Hotel Coronado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coronado Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.