We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Side Door” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Five Crowns

Five Crowns
3801 E Coast Hwy, Corona del Mar, CA 92625
949 760 0331
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Five Crowns is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: American, Irish, British, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Poppy
Transit: Pacific Coast Highway and Poppy on the #1 Bus.
Description: Five Crowns, a charming replica of one of England's oldest country inns and a Corona del Mar landmark, offers warm hospitality and cozy fireplaces set among authentic antiques and period paintings. Enjoy the sunlit Greenhouse and colorful English garden as well. Expect award-winning food and wine, exceptional service and distinctive style that have made it a dining destination since 1965.
Corona del Mar, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Side Door”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Be sure to go to the right when you enter the restaurant to The Side Door!! They have a small bar area but good drinks. The food was reasonably priced and yummy!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    42
    17
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Five Crowns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Excellent but a bit pricy. Service is excellent. Prime Rib is the best choice but fine Fish also. Too, order their "creamed corn", very ENGLISH in every way. On the South end of town--toward Laguna Beach----beautiful landscape!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Revamp this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had to send our prime rib dinners back as mine was under cooked and both dinners were cold. The music was too loud and did not fit the restaurants atmosphere. Waitress was disorganized. We won't be back. This was not the Five Crowns of years ago.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“A little overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This restaurant has been around for years. The food was good but this is just another typical restaurant with high prices and small portions. Honestly for $40 you should get a decent amount of food. We had the salad which was $10 and then salmon at $30. I enjoyed the meal but the salmon did not have any vegetables with it. It was served with a mushroom sauce-a little strange but good and maybe five leafs of lettuce and a couple tiny parsnips. I get really frustrated with restaurants that do not serve vegetables. Broccoli is about 99 cents per pound. Other people at the table ordered the prime rib-that was a large portion.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Ribeye Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I love the five crowns with it being a sister to Lowery's restaurant in Beverly Hills. Last night we went to dinner there and it was so romantic and cozy near the fireplace. My boyfriend had a beautiful ribeye and I had a vegetable risotto dish. The service was excellent!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Crowns also viewed

Corona del Mar, Orange County
Corona del Mar, Orange County
 
Newport Beach, Orange County
Corona del Mar, Orange County
 

Been to Five Crowns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Crowns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.