We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Casual Dining” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Pit

Olive Pit
2156 Solano St, Corning, CA 96021
+1 530-824-4667
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Corning
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Hot Dogs, Hamburgers, Delicatessen, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since 1967 the Olive Pit gourmet retail store features over 120 different kinds of olives, many Balsamic vinegars, wine, craft beer, gifts, nuts, candy and so much more. We also have a Café that features burgers and sandwiches where you can pile on the toppings to suit your taste. We offer free tasting of over 150 products and also offer a wine and craft beer tasting room, current tasting room fee 5 tastes for $5.
Redmond, Oregon
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Nice Casual Dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We ate at the cafeteria in the Olive Pit. The food was just fine and it was quick and easy. This is not a fancy place but an okay place to eat when traveling.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive_Pit_1967, Public Relations Manager at Olive Pit, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you so much for stopping by & your recent review. Glad you were able to enjoy some tasty food. We are constantly looking for new and interesting items and love sharing our finds!
Hope you enjoyed your vacation!
Cheers,
The Olive Pit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    29
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The Olive Pit is THE PITS!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

My flame broiled hamburger came out of microwave and the wine and beer tasting closes at 5 pm. There is NO cold beer or wine to drink with your meal, nor take with you even though signs advertise that all this is available. The staff was bored and seemed like they rather be elsewhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive_Pit_1967, Public Relations Manager at Olive Pit, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Very sorry you didn't enjoy your visit with us. We normally get compliments on our Flame-Broiled Certified Angus Beef burgers-perhaps a microwave was used to finish melting cheese or something of that nature?

We are pleased that you took note of our new Wine and Craft Beer tasting and sales room. It's hours are 11:00/7:00 every day.

Our State permit doesn't allow our wine or craft beer in our dining room so we don't advertise that. Our customers ARE allowed to enjoy their meals at the Wine and Craft Beer Bar if the room isn't too crowded. We have a selection of cold beer, plus some chilled wine to choose from.

We will remind our valued employees of the importance of energetically communicating with our wonderful customers. That has been our constant goal for almost 50 years.

Thank you so much for stopping in and providing valuable feedback. We try to listen to our customers and always seek improvement.

Cheers,
The Olive Pit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Not only is this a great place to stop for olive tasting, but it has fantastic good too. Sandwiches, salads, soups and super good milkshakes!
The staff are all very friendly and food is served quickly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive_Pit_1967, Public Relations Manager at Olive Pit, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thanks so much for your recent review! So glad that you were able to sample some goodies...we hope you had the chance to have a milkshake - the Lemon Olive Oil is divine!
Have an amazing trip & we will see you on your next visit to Olive Pit!
Cheers,
The Olive Pit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Pit Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Loved the tasting room. Not a wine drinker so the beer tasting was excellent ... Bought a few to take home. I was in heaven tasting olives, my husband don't care for them nor wine but since had beer tasting we could stop & check it out.... Wishing I had a bit more money to buy more jars of the outstanding selection of olives

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive_Pit_1967, Public Relations Manager at Olive Pit, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thanks so much for your awesome review! We're glad you were able to find some new favorites at our Craft Beer Tasting area and enjoy some tasty olives as well! We hope you had a fantastic trip & we look forward to your next visit to The Olive Pit!
Cheers!
The Olive Pit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“Always stop for olives”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I always stop here and purchase olives. The selection is amazing. You get to try different ones at the sampling area. This is worth your time. I have some stand bus like the jalapeno olive that I always get. However, this time I discovered the jalapeno blue cheese stuffed olive-delish!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive_Pit_1967, Public Relations Manager at Olive Pit, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us...we truly appreciate it! We pride ourselves on a large selection of specialty olives & products and are so happy you were able to sample some new items at our tasting bar! We agree, the jalapeno blue cheese stuffed olives are addicting! Thanks again & we look forward to your next visit!
Cheers!
The Olive Pit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Pit also viewed

 

Been to Olive Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Pit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.