We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best flavors!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memo's Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Memo's Mexican Restaurant
2118 Mount Diablo St, Concord, CA 94520-2307
925-691-6200
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Pacheco Street
Transit: We are close to the Concord BART station!
CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best flavors!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stopped by after the Tuesday farmers market in Concord at Todo's Santos Square. What a wonderful surprise. We had heard that they are opening a new restaurant in Rio Vista at the Point and we had to stop and try the food. The chef owner really cares and is passionate about there food. You can sense the pride.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    0
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fine Mexican Cuisine? It's here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Memo's is near the heart of old town Concord, just off Todos Santos plaza, and well worth the time to find them and stop in for a meal. This small restaurant is operated by a father-daughter pair who consistently provide a very welcoming and intimate atmosphere for experiencing an authentic and carefully crafted Mexican meal. My favorites include the posole, carnitas, and the house specialty, chicken pipian (with pumpkin seeds).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Will not return - disapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The wait staff was atrocious. Drinks were served after the food came. The Tortillias came out some 4 minutes after the main dishes. The Quesadillas were served cold, the Carnitas was dry as a bone, and the special Chicken pumpkin seed mole other reviewers rave about seemed to warmed up in a microwave and had a chalky consistency. Lastly the room was not clean. Very disappointing. Sadly, I'll have to stick to Berkeley, Oakland, and SF for good Mexican food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure in Concord”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

What makes it for me at a restaurant is when the owners and chefs really care. This tiny treasure offers great and uncommon Yucatan cuisine, including pipian, which is amazing. Let them know what you like and indulge in some treats you may find almost nowhere else.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

No recent reviews, but we had heard it was a good lunch spot. Seems like they have fallen on hard times, few patrons, food bland to mediocre. Good service, but not one of the three of us were impressed with our food. We will not be back

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memo's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memo's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.