We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not 5* stars hotel, may be 3*” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandros Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alexandros Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Alexandros Palace Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tripiti, Nea Roda 63075, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nea Roda
3.5 of 5 stars 133 Reviews
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This is not 5* stars hotel, may be 3*”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

If I know that this is 3 stars hotel I will not reprimand, but we paied for 5 stars hotel. Very bad and unhealthy food, no any facilities, very bad stony beach with homeless dogs with fleas.
I don't recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    49
    22
    15
    13
See reviews for
63
47
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Again, as in most of greek hotels, stars are questionable. I have stayed at at a 5-star in Cario, and this is no match.
Bat apart from making comparisons. The room we had was in the "new wing", so it was really new, spacious, and excellent, facing the pool.
The food was, kind of, tasteless. They seemed to offer some variety, but as for breakfast, it was actually a copy-paste every day.
The property is spacious, a lot of attention paid to plants and environmental feeling. But at the same time it takes you kind of long to get to the restaurant (if it rains and you don't have umbrella, you soak), kind of long to get to the tennis court, and the longest to the beac, and impossible to get by foot to any civilized settlement. And yes, this is the main downsize. If you don't have a car, don't think of going there, because as beautiful it is, you only get imprisoned.
The beach is ok, the beach bar is excellent. The water is colder than in any other part of Halkidiki.
I am ok with going there; but going there again? No way. Greece has such an impressive and huge coast and so much choice, and this is not going to be my next one.
(the reception by the way, i found really really kind).

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macedonia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We visited the hotel for a week, family with small children. First of all there is no value for the money we paid. We expected a 5 star hotel, and what we found at the place was a 3* hotel. The staff at the reception is very rude, there is no internet in the rooms ( you will have to go at the reception and if you are lucky you can connect). Second the hotel is not child frendly meaning that the cars are passing and its not safe, the activities for children are almost non existant (there is no kids club), The food quality is average. Don't expect too much. We would not recomend it for families with small children!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We have great experience all over the world in 5 star hotels; but is one of the worst experiences.
Only the reception was impressive, what you expect from a 5 star hotel, but the rest of the hotel we are very disappointed. We booked a room for a mountain view, what we got was a terrible view of hillside and a very small furnished room, where we couldn't pass two people in the same time, we had to take shifts to enter in the bathroom. When we complained at the reception, that it wasn't the standard of a 5 star hotel, we were told that is what we have asked...a standard double room. After that, they gave us two other options, but with almost the same problems. The bathroom very small with very old sanitary wares, not to mention that there was not a bathtub, only 1 plastic cabin. The restaurant was nice but the food very poor, there were variety but the quality was bad, only few dishes were eatable. The breakfast with ready juices from the market, not fresh, we had to keep a long raw for tea and coffee, as there was only 1 machine. I can't complain for the cleaning and the sea!

Room Tip: Ask only for the see view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

I am not sure how Greek hotels are ranked, maybe there are different criteria from the other European countries. This hotel is good, pools are clean, rooms are spacious and clean too, but there are needed more things to rank a hotel with 5 stars. The food in restaurant was unvaried but most of meals are tasty. The garden was poor - only 1 little playground for children, some abandoned and overgrown with grass tennis courts and too many buildings. The hotel was good starting point to drive round Athon, Sithonia and Ammouliani. The beach is in front of the hotel and if you are not so far from the main road you can go by foot. Nearby Ouranoupoli offers number of cafes and tavernas and 2 or 3 supermarkets, but most spread are souvenir shops full with icons and various religious articles.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gevgelija, Republic of Macedonia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at Alexandros Palas Hotel for a week. The hotel was very clean (the rooms were cleaned daily), the food delicious, the seawater crystal-cleared and the beach just fabulous, all together fantastic for a nice holiday. The sun beds and umbrellas on the beach free, the pool nice and clean and suitable for children, too much food and very tasty. The hotel is situated nearby Tripiti, and there is a frequent ferryboat rout on every 40 minutes to Ammouliani Island, a nice opportunity to visit this island. It is about 15 minute’s trip on boat (costs 15 euro with car). The hotel staff polite and friendly… The beach is about 5 minutes walking ..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitola, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

The rooms are large and clean, the food is hearty and delicious, the beach is large and clean with free sunbeds and umbrellas.
Every night there is entertainment for children in which they play and compete.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandros Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandros Palace Hotel

Address: Tripiti, Nea Roda 63075, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Mt. Athos Peninsula > Nea Roda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nea Roda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Alexandros Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top quality Hotel & Spa Resort, in a tranquil environment, just a breath away from Mount Athos and its unique monasterial mystagogy. Description Operating from April through October.-250 Luxurious Rooms & Suites- 2 pools, 2 children pools, 3 restaurants, 5 bars, 3 Conference Halls- Refined, international cuisine- Private, fully organized beach and beach bar- Ideal for families- Ideal for Religious Tourism- Ideal for newlyweds (special packages and theme suites available)- Perfect for wedding receptions and parties, high-quality event planning.- Thai-themed spa with specialized, therapeutic treatments- Fully equipped conference halls, ideal for business meetings and events- Daily animation with Special Events and Parties, Traditional Music nights, Live Music Events- Children Animation- Playground- Gym- Car and Water Sports Rental- Mount Athos Monasteries visit booking- Mount Athos Cruise booking- Internet connection in public areas and all rooms- Jewellery Shop- Mini Market & Memorabilia shop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alexandros Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandros Village Hotel
Hotel Alexandros Village

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandros Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.