We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmm... Different.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6121 East Telegraph Road, Commerce, CA 90040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Commerce
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hmm... Different.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

It was my first time being in the LA area, so I didn't know really what to expect. This place, the hotel, and the casino, gave me a pretty poor view of LA.

Upon arriving, I hated that the parking was very confusing and I didn't want to carry my bag for a block or two, so I used the valet service. I didn't like the fact that they charge for valet, even if it was $2 a day...

The valet boy was more professional and friendlier than the front desk staff as I later noticed. The front desk people did not speak the best English and weren't the politest. (But I think this is just a certain LA type attitude)

The outside of the hotel is not the best, the inside lobby is pretty glamorous. The hallways and elevator area are pretty nice and unique. The room looked decently clean.
The flat screen was nice.

I didn't like the fact that the fridge was a 'pay what you take one'... There was no room to put your own drinks in there. The view was terrible from the window.

I paid like $120 a day with taxes and valet... I don't think it was worth it.... I'd pay maybe $80 with taxes to stay there again, but no more than that.



Now lets get to the casino.
The casino has the largest poker room in the world I believe. I have never seen anything like it. I tried playing a little, and I must say, the place SMELLED BAD, and the tables were obviously very used/old/dirty... The LA people were very pushy and had an almost rude personality ... (but again, this is just an LA thing I think). Not somewhere I'd want to go very often.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    26
    9
    12
See reviews for
30
25
13
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oklahoma
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

i stayed at the crowne plaza for a business stay and booked it through united airlines when i got my flight and car; when i checked in there was a problem and the front desk did not know how to deal with this; finally i "thought" i had straightened this out and went about my business; when i checked out 3 days later the front desk said my bill was $450; i again explained that i had prepaid everything through united; there was a lot of confusion at the front desk and they got the mgr; again, i thought i had this straightened out and returned home; 2 wks later i get a credit card bill with crown plaza billing me for that same $450; it took me most of a day to straighten this out and anna with crown plaza was not helpful and did not return calls or follow up on anything she promised to do; the only good thing about my stay was the room was quiet and the poker room was good; the lobby restaurant was a joke; it is stuffed in a very unusual place and has little ambience and poor service; don't stay here; you may get ripped off and the service sucks; also; i went to use the business center and an employee was viewing porno sites when i entered the room; this place has very poor mgmt;

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Uk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

We stayed in an executive room on the 8th Floor and the room and breakfast were very good.

The rooms were comfortable, the reception staff were helpful and the decor around the foyer was very nice.

However, this hotel is situated as part of a casino complex and whilst we expected some gambling there were tables everywhere thatthey could fit them.

The no smoking policy makes the stressed out gamblng clients go outside and this meant there wass little room to get past on the pavement (sidewalks) without strolling through the fog.

The Car park for guests wishing to self park is HUGE but very busy during the evenings so unless you use Valet parking (or are disabled) you will park about 1/4 miles away.

All round if your a gambler then I imagine it's very good, if your a traveller / sightseer then keep looking. - Holiday Inn Buena park isn't too far and much more touristy !

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

The hotel looked nice, but the service was horrible. You could not find a Valet anywhere. It would have been a miracle to find a housekeeper who spoke (or understood) English. The front desk staff clearly did not know how to handle basic elements of their job, and their manager Alejandra's lack of customer service skills left a lot to be desired. Go to Motel 6 and save your money! Certainly not up to Crowne Plaza standards.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville,NJ
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

My bf is a good poker player and I always make sure that there's a casino in our travel adventure. Anyways, we arrived in Santa Ana and decided to drive to LA to check the casino. The casino is no Vegas nor AC. However, it's pretty good if you're a serious player. You can order food and eat it by the table. We stayed at this hotel and got a poker room rate. The room is quite big,is clean, have a microwave and over-price mini bar (just like all hotels). They have a sleep kit which consist of an eye mask, ear plugs, sleep cd and lavender mist ( a unique amenity from most of the hotel I stayed). Dont bother by the view because there was none. Free internet, Maxwell house coffee and the bed is soft yet firm. The staff is helpful and the housekeeping is fast in their service. Small lobby. There is a spa on the 5th floor. The price is not that bad. Will do a separate review. I like hotels who take their time to look for good brand toiletries. They have a brand. Will stay here again if my bf will just play poker.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

Crowne Plaza Brand has very good rooms and this is not the exception. I really liked so much this room.

But to the honest there are some comments on thinks that I don't like on this hotel

1.- If you are not renting a car, this place is in the middle of nothing and you won't have many things to do around, but getting bored if you don't like to play in Casinos. So you will have to pay many to the taxi drivers if you want to go somewhere else.

2.- It is located to a walking distance to an Outlet Mall, but if you have been into very big Outlets, this Outlet in Commerce won't impress you much and in 40 minutes you'll be done.

3.- But let's talk about the service of the hotel, the room service people is extremelly efficient and friendly, they cook nice dishes.

4.- But more bad news, when my shuttle left me in the entrance of the hotel, NOBODY was available to help me with my lugagge. I was coming back from a trip from China, and I had many pieces with me, I had to carry by myself 5 pieces to the lobby.

5.- The personal on the lobby was friendly but totally lost. They first told me "Sorry no reservation under your name" and after a long search, they finally found me. The day after I asked them to ask a Taxi for me, so I can go to Downtown, I waited for 45 minutes untill finally my taxi arrived.

There are many hotels in Los Angeles, I only recomend you to stay here if it is a must for you to stay in this neighbourhood or you will stay in the Casino the whole day. Otherwise forget about this hotel.

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

This stay was about what I expected. I was impressed with the grounds and fountains as I pulled up and valeted my car. I checked in at 9:30 pm, but they said a room wouldn't be ready until 10:00PM! The staff was courteous and apologetic and gave me access to the club floor for free breakfast, but I'm not too sure why rooms were not available at that time of night. The breakfast was horrible, with little selection and despite the staff presence, I had to dig around the communal mini fridge for the uncovered milk from the day before. The canned fruit and pastries were straight from the Food-4-Less. DO NOT PAY EXTRA FOR THE CLUB ROOMS, as the breakfast is the only "benefit."
The lobby was well decorated and relatively clean, considering the proximity to the "culturally diverse mecca" of Los Angeles (5 miles). The room was small, but comfortable. The windows are soundproof, being less than 500 ft. from I-5. Signs in the room stated "If you smoke, you pay a $200 cleaning fee!" and "If you touch anything in the mini-bar, you buy it!" Quite accusatory!
Also, remember, this is a CA casino, not NV. There are cards only and with a ridiculous rake, its not even worth playing for amateurs.
Pros: Pool/jacuzzi, mostly polite staff
Cons: Food, checkin, checkout, surrounding area, clientele, ambiance

The $139 rate was reasonable, but I will not stay here again.
I can only reccommend this place for professional poker players and the budget-savy business travelers.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino

Address: 6121 East Telegraph Road, Commerce, CA 90040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Commerce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Commerce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Los Angeles Commerce Casino. Whether you're traveling to Los Angeles for business or pleasure stay close to all the exciting action you'd expect from Las Vegas! This upscale tower of hospitality resembles a Babylonian theme with lush gardens, water fountains and a grand entry that will impress even the most discerning traveler. The Crowne Plaza Hotel at Commerce Casino, is 'The Place to Meet'; is located adjacent to the World's Largest Card Gaming Casino, the Commerce Casino. The hotel is also in close proximity to all of Southern California major attractions, STAPLES arena and Convention Center, Downtown Los Angeles, Hollywood, Disneyland. May we book your reservation? We look forward to welcoming you to our fabulous hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Hotel Commerce
Crowne Plaza Commerce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.