We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undergoing renovations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6121 East Telegraph Road, Commerce, CA 90040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Commerce
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Undergoing renovations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel has all the amenities needed for most travellers, whether business or family. The hotel is undergoing some internal and external renovations and while I was there the pool and the upper 2 floors were unavailable. I booked my room through Priority Club using points and I was not informed of the work being done. Because of the work on the top floors I was not able to get the room I requested. The very friendly staff did the best he could to get me and my family settled in. If you are considering this hotel then I would book verbally with the hotel staff or verbally with Priority Club to ensure you don't run into the issues I did.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce6121, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Gary,

Thank you for your most recent stay with Crowne Plaza –Los Angeles Commerce Casino. We are very sorry to hear you were not informed about the hotels renovation. Our renovation will soon be completed, hopefully you and your family can come in the near future and see our new rooms. We are pleased to hear our staff was able to meet your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time, we appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    51
    28
    10
    12
See reviews for
31
28
14
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Very disappointed by this hotel. Old, tired and poorly cleaned/maintained. Walls in elevater lobby's and halls were banged up and covered in marks and dirty hand prints etc. 2-3 star at best.
Eating in lobby bar was a big mistake for us, with two of three meals well below what should be expected. Mushroom risotto should have mushroom in it, and is not fried rice!
Nice enough staff, but just a very scratchy hotel that needs a facelift.
No safe for valuables, no free wifi.

Room Tip: Find an alternative hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce6121, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
I am sorry to hear that your stay has been less than satisfactory due to the hotel condition. Your comments will be passed to the appropriate department for necessary improvements. We are currently under renovation to all our guest rooms with a modern enhancement. We hope we have the opportunity in the future to provide you with a better experience.

Please feel free to contact the hotel directly and ask to speak with the front office manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Went to spend my 4th of July weekend here, very disappointed and unacceptable service. Worst service ever! I prepaid for the hotel through hotels.com, once arrived they said they do not have the room that I reserved in advance which was $158/nt with Jacuzzi, they told me they cannot do anything told me to call hotels.com. Hotels.com finally got me a different type of room/ not willing to show the price of the room that I stayed. Beds are horrible uncomfortable and small. Next day key cards doesn't work had to go back down from the 6th floor to get it re-set, the manager didn't even apologize just said "weird" not even apologize that that was from the manager himself. Bad from the beginning to end. No parking for customer, all front parking lot are for valet, others park like a mile away. This hotel ruin "Crowne Plaza" reputation. I will report it to the corporate office to see what they think. They tried to tell me that the Hotels.com website was not updated correctly, but it not true because I was in this hotel website itself same price same everything and the room were exactly the same and available at the time of my reservation because I was comparing prices between the two, so I remember. I'm glad I booked through Hotels.com because they took care of me. I felt like this hotel did not treat me as a customer, not willing to work or compensate anything with me because I booked through Hotels.com. I called back to see if they give me price adjustment, hotels.com representative contacted this hotel about the price adjustment and she said the hotel will not do anything for me! So Hotels.come went ahead and give me the credit adjustment for my inconvenient... Kudos to Hotels.com. The casinos part is really sad looking, no slots. Room small. Unhelpful, unapologetic, unfriendly front desk or the manager himself. This place in need of new management or new owner all together. I hope other Crowne Plazza are not like this. Couple of my friends stayed at Double Tree Hotels next door, no problem. I should have went there, but thought I gave Crowne Plaza a try. It was even $10/night cheaper at Double Trees Hotels and they got nice bed and clean room.

Room Tip: Only good thing about this place is that it's close to the Citadel outlet, but Double Tree hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
167 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I have stayed at this property in the past.
Sadly, because of circumstances with this visit, I will not stay again.
If my business brings me to Commerce, I will stay at the Doubletree just down the road.
For this particular stay, lets start with the "pros."
... Staff at desk were pleasant. Mae (I'm not sure if I have the spelling correct) was very nice.
... Room was very clean. An improvement from last time.
... Valet parking was only $5.00. That is very reasonable. You can park yourself out back, but I would recommend the valet parking.
... Coffee maker nice. Starbucks coffee in room. Ceramic mugs in room.
... Water temperature for shower was hot.
... A/C worked fine (have to put a key in slot as you enter interior of room and leave it there for a/c to work.)
Here are the "cons:"
... strange odor to the water
... water pressure poor
... location is in a busy industrial part of town
... someone was in the first room that I checked into (I had to go to the desk to be issued another room)
... Upon checkout, I called for the valet to bring my car. I had a large suitcase, a small suitcase (equipment for my job) and a briefcase. There were three male valet attendants and they all stood nearby talking and watched me put my luggage in my car. I'm small in stature and had to struggle a bit to get my larger suitcase in.
With that said...I'm fine doing it myself...I travel alone for business all year long...I'm resilient and don't "have to" have help --- but, it would have been nice.
Once I got my luggage in, I glanced at them. Two of them were looking at me as they talked ... I have never seen anything like that in my life.
That afternoon, I called the manager. They did take some $$$ off my bill, which I appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Eulalia_3,

Thank you for writing a detailed review of your experience. It makes us happy to read that after some initial issues with the room accommodation, these were all sorted out and addressed accordingly. Your feedback regarding the cleanliness of the room and and front desk service is highly appreciated. On the other hand, it is regrettable that the water quality was a let down during your stay. As for your experience upon check-out, we apologize for shortcomings you may have experienced with the staff.

We have forwarded your concerns with the respective departments and will certainly take action to improve the quality and services we offer. Once again, we thank you for staying with us. We are looking forward to an opportunity in serving you better on your next visit to Commerce.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The staff were very friendly as were the patrons, my husband and I spent one night here after hearing it was the largest card room in the world and wanting to learn how to play cards seeing we were in the area. Not only were we taught properly by the staff but they bent over backwards to make sure our stay was great. Everything was spotless, the prices were very good for LA, we had the best Chinese , authentic Chinese food we have ever had and had a great night. The management there went out of their way to make sure we were looked after, as a couple of Aussies travelling around, we were made to feel like locals and we had a great night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My stay at Commerce Crowne Plaza was average. The location is quite far away from L.A downtown and it's pretty much next to the highway. However, you can ask for free shuttle pick-up either at Union Station or at any location is within 10 miles. Give hotel a call when you're ready to be picked up.

When I checked in, I was disappointed with the fact that the hotel is under construction for about "two months". And so, I was informed that there's no outdoor pool or spa for use. I wish the hotel has informed me this earlier. Communication is way too important!

The restaurant, Wood Dragon, located next to the lobby was fantastic! During my three nights stay, I pretty much ate there every day. Service was great, food was fresh, and the environment was way better than the sporty bar/ cafe/ inside of Casino.

Commerce Casino was very outdated and it looks kind of cheap. I didn't really feel like spending my time there at all.

On the very last day, I had one hour massage at "Meridian Day Spa" on Level 2 above Casino. Ben from front desk was very friendly and helpful. It was a great place to spend time at while you were there. Make sure you treat yourself a nice hourly massage and spend half day inside of jacuzzi pool and steam rooms. Visiting the SPA was totally my highlight!

If you wanna stay here, please consider it won't be much entertainment for non-gamblers like myself. Overall, It was an average stay!

Room Tip: Use their free shuttle bus for pick-up if you're not driving in L.A
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Koko S,

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay. We take delight in knowing that despite the challenges regarding our location, you managed to find our complimentary shuttle service convenient. You seem to have particularly liked the food and service in our restaurant. We take pride in knowing that our food and beverage staff was able to provide the best culinary experience during your stay.

I do want to apologize for the shortcomings, with regards to the ongoing construction affecting the pool area and spa. We will certainly work on the points that you have raised to ensure we provide the best customer experience. We look forward to serving you again when you can enjoy all the hotel amenities.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The place is elegant. If your a poker player its the place to be. I came through for a night on the way to Phoenix. The valet parking would not touch my bike. I came in on a Harley. The parking manager directed me to a covered parking space in view of the staff. Way above and beyond expectations. The room was OK, nothing special. A nice view of the rear parking lot, but the view is not what one comes to this hotel. The poker floor was booming, the food was great and the staff was very attentive. The renovations were annoying, but the front desk staff spelled it all out when I checked in. I am looking forward to my next trip to the area to see all the reno's done. All in all, its a good hotel and destination. I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino

Address: 6121 East Telegraph Road, Commerce, CA 90040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Commerce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Commerce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Los Angeles Commerce Casino. Whether you're traveling to Los Angeles for business or pleasure stay close to all the exciting action you'd expect from Las Vegas! This upscale tower of hospitality resembles a Babylonian theme with lush gardens, water fountains and a grand entry that will impress even the most discerning traveler. The Crowne Plaza Hotel at Commerce Casino, is 'The Place to Meet'; is located adjacent to the World's Largest Card Gaming Casino, the Commerce Casino. The hotel is also in close proximity to all of Southern California major attractions, STAPLES arena and Convention Center, Downtown Los Angeles, Hollywood, Disneyland. May we book your reservation? We look forward to welcoming you to our fabulous hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Hotel Commerce
Crowne Plaza Commerce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.