We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average ... some "pros" and some "cons"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6121 East Telegraph Road, Commerce, CA 90040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Commerce
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
167 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Average ... some "pros" and some "cons"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I have stayed at this property in the past.
Sadly, because of circumstances with this visit, I will not stay again.
If my business brings me to Commerce, I will stay at the Doubletree just down the road.
For this particular stay, lets start with the "pros."
... Staff at desk were pleasant. Mae (I'm not sure if I have the spelling correct) was very nice.
... Room was very clean. An improvement from last time.
... Valet parking was only $5.00. That is very reasonable. You can park yourself out back, but I would recommend the valet parking.
... Coffee maker nice. Starbucks coffee in room. Ceramic mugs in room.
... Water temperature for shower was hot.
... A/C worked fine (have to put a key in slot as you enter interior of room and leave it there for a/c to work.)
Here are the "cons:"
... strange odor to the water
... water pressure poor
... location is in a busy industrial part of town
... someone was in the first room that I checked into (I had to go to the desk to be issued another room)
... Upon checkout, I called for the valet to bring my car. I had a large suitcase, a small suitcase (equipment for my job) and a briefcase. There were three male valet attendants and they all stood nearby talking and watched me put my luggage in my car. I'm small in stature and had to struggle a bit to get my larger suitcase in.
With that said...I'm fine doing it myself...I travel alone for business all year long...I'm resilient and don't "have to" have help --- but, it would have been nice.
Once I got my luggage in, I glanced at them. Two of them were looking at me as they talked ... I have never seen anything like that in my life.
That afternoon, I called the manager. They did take some $$$ off my bill, which I appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Eulalia_3,

Thank you for writing a detailed review of your experience. It makes us happy to read that after some initial issues with the room accommodation, these were all sorted out and addressed accordingly. Your feedback regarding the cleanliness of the room and and front desk service is highly appreciated. On the other hand, it is regrettable that the water quality was a let down during your stay. As for your experience upon check-out, we apologize for shortcomings you may have experienced with the staff.

We have forwarded your concerns with the respective departments and will certainly take action to improve the quality and services we offer. Once again, we thank you for staying with us. We are looking forward to an opportunity in serving you better on your next visit to Commerce.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    43
    26
    9
    12
See reviews for
29
25
13
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The staff were very friendly as were the patrons, my husband and I spent one night here after hearing it was the largest card room in the world and wanting to learn how to play cards seeing we were in the area. Not only were we taught properly by the staff but they bent over backwards to make sure our stay was great. Everything was spotless, the prices were very good for LA, we had the best Chinese , authentic Chinese food we have ever had and had a great night. The management there went out of their way to make sure we were looked after, as a couple of Aussies travelling around, we were made to feel like locals and we had a great night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My stay at Commerce Crowne Plaza was average. The location is quite far away from L.A downtown and it's pretty much next to the highway. However, you can ask for free shuttle pick-up either at Union Station or at any location is within 10 miles. Give hotel a call when you're ready to be picked up.

When I checked in, I was disappointed with the fact that the hotel is under construction for about "two months". And so, I was informed that there's no outdoor pool or spa for use. I wish the hotel has informed me this earlier. Communication is way too important!

The restaurant, Wood Dragon, located next to the lobby was fantastic! During my three nights stay, I pretty much ate there every day. Service was great, food was fresh, and the environment was way better than the sporty bar/ cafe/ inside of Casino.

Commerce Casino was very outdated and it looks kind of cheap. I didn't really feel like spending my time there at all.

On the very last day, I had one hour massage at "Meridian Day Spa" on Level 2 above Casino. Ben from front desk was very friendly and helpful. It was a great place to spend time at while you were there. Make sure you treat yourself a nice hourly massage and spend half day inside of jacuzzi pool and steam rooms. Visiting the SPA was totally my highlight!

If you wanna stay here, please consider it won't be much entertainment for non-gamblers like myself. Overall, It was an average stay!

Room Tip: Use their free shuttle bus for pick-up if you're not driving in L.A
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Koko S,

Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay. We take delight in knowing that despite the challenges regarding our location, you managed to find our complimentary shuttle service convenient. You seem to have particularly liked the food and service in our restaurant. We take pride in knowing that our food and beverage staff was able to provide the best culinary experience during your stay.

I do want to apologize for the shortcomings, with regards to the ongoing construction affecting the pool area and spa. We will certainly work on the points that you have raised to ensure we provide the best customer experience. We look forward to serving you again when you can enjoy all the hotel amenities.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The place is elegant. If your a poker player its the place to be. I came through for a night on the way to Phoenix. The valet parking would not touch my bike. I came in on a Harley. The parking manager directed me to a covered parking space in view of the staff. Way above and beyond expectations. The room was OK, nothing special. A nice view of the rear parking lot, but the view is not what one comes to this hotel. The poker floor was booming, the food was great and the staff was very attentive. The renovations were annoying, but the front desk staff spelled it all out when I checked in. I am looking forward to my next trip to the area to see all the reno's done. All in all, its a good hotel and destination. I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbine, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

I would avoid the hotel for the next six months. They provided us a letter when we checked in stating that they are doing construction starting at 8am yet start every day at 7:15. When asked about it the front desk responded that they start at 7am and said the letter was wrong. They made us feel like it was our fault the letter was wrong. Terrible customer service.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear JMPeck,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered over the renovation. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests as your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Booked a non smoking room, received email confirmation for non smoking room, upon arrival we where told we booked a smoking room, when we showed them email, they said no, you booked a smoking room. Load of crap. Other than that, hotel was nice, 15-20 min drive to L.A. Convention Center even with morning commuter traffic, $2 Valet parking, good dining options in hotel. Hotel is busy Friday and Saturday nights, but valet was still quick and easy. Probably would not stay here again because of the smoking thing.

Room Tip: just know that you may still get smoking room even if your confirmation says non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 days in mid march. Convenient just off the 5, excellent staff, very curteous, valet parking a must ($2 charge) very worth while. Asian and Americsn restaurants, good food, service and bar staff. Will stay there again. Rooms very comfortable.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino

Address: 6121 East Telegraph Road, Commerce, CA 90040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Commerce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Commerce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel Los Angeles Commerce Casino. Whether you're traveling to Los Angeles for business or pleasure stay close to all the exciting action you'd expect from Las Vegas! This upscale tower of hospitality resembles a Babylonian theme with lush gardens, water fountains and a grand entry that will impress even the most discerning traveler. The Crowne Plaza Hotel at Commerce Casino, is 'The Place to Meet'; is located adjacent to the World's Largest Card Gaming Casino, the Commerce Casino. The hotel is also in close proximity to all of Southern California major attractions, STAPLES arena and Convention Center, Downtown Los Angeles, Hollywood, Disneyland. May we book your reservation? We look forward to welcoming you to our fabulous hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Hotel Commerce
Crowne Plaza Commerce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.