We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Harlan House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Harlan House
22890 School House St, Columbia, CA 95310   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Columbia B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Nice rooms, jaccuzzi , great views. The location is surrounded by woods. You can eve even see deers running around the location. The hostess is great, hospitable and friendly. The place is very close to downtown too. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
8
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have been returning to this beautiful Victorian Bed & Breakfast for consecutive 14 years! It is a true gem, complemented by wonderful scenery. Guests are treated to comfortable and tastefully furnished rooms with private bathrooms. The breakfast sumptuously prepared to your enjoyment. You will feel welcomed by the hostess, and find yourself surrounded by antiques that will take you back in time to the 1800's. The quietness and stillness is something you will truly get to appreciate. Deer are common on the grounds, as are birds happily singing away. I am looking forward to visiting again for an extended stay this Thanksgiving.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally comfortable and nice. My favorite is the Rose Room & Wine Cellar Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a project up in Columbia and so I have stayed at the Harlan House multiple times. Sam is a wonderful host. Breakfasts are wonderful and the rooms are well appointed. Nothing is fancy here, but you will feel cared for and get excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

As a regular visitor to Columbia, California and the beautiful Harlan House Bed & Breakfast since November of 1999, I always look forward to returning. Service is excellent, rooms are very comfortable and the property is beautiful. Proprietor will make your stay enjoyable, and the breakfast, best there is. Excellent location and points of interest are easily accessible. I look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Like many of the bed and breakfast places in Britain that we have stayed in, this fine old house’s décor offered pleasant nostalgia by reminding me of my grandparents’ house. The 19th century house was perfect for our visit to Columbia’s reconstructed 19th century gold rush town. Our owner-hostess was gracious, friendly and helpful. She cooked us a delicious breakfast that certainly beat any breakfast proudly advertised as “Full English” or “Full Scottish” in the UK. She also shared the secret of those marvellous scrambled eggs that were scrumptious and unlike any I had ever tasted before. She shared the ingredients, but not me; you will have to stay with her in her beautiful deer-view home to get that recipe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I just love this place. Sam (the owner) made us feel right at home. We stayed in the ‘Wine Cellar” and even though the average daily temperature high was 90 throughout our stay, the room was always nice and cool. The décor is very charming and beckons you come inside and relax. The bath room is huge and has the bonus of an indoor hot tub to soak away sore muscles.

Sam will cook you a breakfast to order, but we found that if you let her surprise you, you’ll get something amazing. Her banana-blueberry pancakes are to die for and her home-made sweet breads are divine. She makes a fantastic egg scramble loaded with goodies and you won’t need lunch after you’re done. Be prepared to go for a nice long walk to work off her breakfast because you won’t be able to stop yourself from eating every, delicious bite.

If you stay here, do yourself a favor and sit quietly out on the back porch either at dusk or dawn and you’re sure to see plenty of deer and other critters in the field behind the B&B. It’s a great way to start the day or end an evening.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in the Wine Cellar, you won't be disappointed. Even when it's 90 degr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radstock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Sam is a very good host and she has a lovely home just a couple of streets away from the fascinating centre of Columbia with its old shops and businesses dating back in style to gold prospecting days. Watch the deer from one of the outdoor sitting areas or take a dip in the hot tub if you have the cottage room.

Room Tip: If you like the idea of sitting in a hot tub, maybe after a day's sightseeing, pick the separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Harlan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harlan House

Address: 22890 School House St, Columbia, CA 95310
Location: United States > California > Columbia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harlan House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Harlan House to your Saves list