We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relive the past at this hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fallon Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Columbia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fallon Hotel
Save
You added Fallon Hotel to your Saves list
11175 Washington Street, Columbia State Historic Park, Columbia, CA 95310   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$55 (USD)
Ranked #2 of 4 Columbia B&B and Inns
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Relive the past at this hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is quite authentic. Period furnishings, tall ceilings, old wallpaper and rugs, and old pictures. Be aware of a few things: The beds are small and rickety (lots of noise when you move around), the heat at the hotel was turned off when we were there. The staff told us that they turn it off for the season which didn't really make sense to me since the hotel was full to capacity that evening and October is when it starts to get downright cold at night. It was freezing in our room, but they were kind enough to bring us a space heater. Our room was very small, but we expected that and weren't disappointed. After all, this is an 1800's hotel (rebuilt after a fire in the 1940's). Be aware -- the sidewalks roll up at 6:00 (or maybe it's 5:00!). Make sure you have plenty of drinks and snacks on hand because there is no place to get those things after early evening. There were no plays at the theater when we were there (disappointed!), but the two bars on Main Street were going strong. The crowds were scary though (rough, biker types), so we just went back to our room. Bring books, games, a laptop for movies...so that you'll at least have something to do in the evening.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are larger and worth the added cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
169 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our room in this old hotel was small, and there was nowhere to put your stuff. The double bed fitted into a corner and one of us had to clamber over the other to get out of bed. The light was rated at an authentic two candlepower so the room was gloomy and it was not really possible to read. I've rated the cleanliness of the room at average but it was not really possible to see to judge properly.

In other words, the comfort-factor is on the same scale as visiting your grandmother's house with the rest of the family at Christmas when you were the youngest, at the bottom of the pecking-order, and had to sleep in the box-room.

On the other hand, the restoration of the hotel is well carried out - I especially liked the authentic dark and elaborate wall- and ceiling-paper. It's a historic experience and you get to see the town after the crowds have left. We learnt a lot and enjoyed this part of the stay.

A theatre is next door and we were able to see a French bedroom farce presented with verve and good timing by a repertory company. It is not something we would have chosen to go to see in a London theatre but it was what was on that evening, it could not have been more conveniently placed, it expanded our experience and we enjoyed it.

You have to check in for the Fallon Hotel at the City Hotel, the paperwork completed by a grumpy bloke (the saloon barman) dressed in an authentic waistcoat. You also have to walk to the City Hotel for breakfast, the authentic menu of stale food served in another authentically dark room with authentic gloominess by an authentically dressed lady, who, by her similar demeanour, I thought was possibly related to the grumpy bloke.

One night here was an interesting experience. Two nights would be too many.

Room Tip: There is no tip possible to help you get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a lovely old hotel with charming rooms with air conditioning and WIFI, but shared showers down the hall. Be aware that there are NO TVs in the rooms. It is great fun to visit Columbia State Historic park and then stroll to your hotel. Take in a play/musical next door after eating dinner in the City Hotel down the block for a really fun experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night, arriving early evening. At this time the visitors to Columbia had left and we had the town to ourselves. It was really good value for money to stay here a real treat to experience Columbia in the evening and early morning. However there are not very many options to eat out in the town – we ate in the What Cheer Saloon which was very pleasant.

The hotel is run by the City Hotel (3min walk away) which means there is no staff at the hotel giving it a really empty feeling. However the rooms were really nice with private toilets and bathrobes provided for the communal showers. The breakfast at the City Hotel was ok. If you are wanting to stay in the area and fancy something different to your typical motel then stay here for the same sort of price.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

A group of us recently took a car tour to Columbia and stayed at the Fallon Hotel. The hotel was built in the 1800's and was restored by the state of California (as was a large portion of Columbia) as part of a State Park acquisition. The restoration was very well done. Although most of the rooms are quite small they are quite charming and clean. And, the air conditioning works very well (the outside temperature was 108F). Although the hotel is supposed to have some some resident ghosts none in our group experienced any of the pesty poltergeists!! Immediately adjacent to the hotel is a (live) theatre and an ice cream parlor. Although we did not partake in the theatre experience we did jump into the ice cream and enjoyed it immensely...try a cherry soda on a hot day to know what is great. Heidi who was our local contact at both the Fallon and its companion, The City Hotel is as good a desk clerk as there is anywhere!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Unfortunately we stayed only one night. The room with a balcony was great, the victorian detail in the lights beds and furnishings were great to set the mood for this great theme town. Downstairs one would expect Mark Twain to be reading a newspaper with a grumpy smile. The shared bathroom was unexpectedly pleasant, on with bathrobe and a good morning to a person in the corridor and again it added to the old hotel charm though they modern and clean.
So downstairs is the icecream shop, then gold panning, and a stagecoach ride for the children and into the crazy sweet shop and excellent museum with kids room at back while parents browse
The town is great with the characters, antique shops- day and night

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This old and historic hotel is located within the historic Gold Rush town of Columbia, California. Nearby are all of the original (and some restored) buildings that were part of this town which grew overnight when gold was found nearby. The hotel is furnished in keeping with its history. Don't expect a TV! The room we had was on the second floor where there is a balcony that overlooks the street below. Our room had two very comfortable double beds and a half-bath with a sink and toilet. Just across the hall was a "community" shower room -- one for men and one for women. The hotel provides nice bathrobes to use for crossing the hall. Despite the community nature of the shower rooms, each facility includes a private dressing area and private show stall. It is not as primitive as it may sound. We greatly enjoyed our stay there. The saloons, restaurants, livery stable, general store, and so forth are just down the street. Be sure to walk or drive up the hill to visit the school house and cemetery. You will enjoy your stay at the Fallon Hotel and will leave with a good sense of what "first class" facilities were like in the 1850s.

Room Tip: Make reservations well in advance and ask for one of the front rooms on the second floor with a balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Columbia
5.8 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
5.0 of 5 stars 53 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
5.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Royal Carriage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#1 of 8 in Sonora
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
3.9 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fallon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fallon Hotel

Address: 11175 Washington Street, Columbia State Historic Park, Columbia, CA 95310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Columbia
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Columbia
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Columbia City Hotel and its sister, the Fallon Hotel, are authentically restored 19th-century country inns. All rooms are elegantly appointed with Victorian antiques, custom crafted wall coverings, and beautiful lithographs. Each hotel has a sitting parlour where you can peruse books and magazines, or participate in one of many board games. While both hotels stay as faithful to 19th century decor as possible, modern conveniences such as indoor plumbing, heating. And air conditioning have been added. Each room has a half bath, and a shower basket and robes are provided for the trip down the hall to the shared shower rooms. There are also three charming cottages- a one-bedroom, two-bedroom and three-bedroom- each with a full kitchen, fenced yard and DVD player. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fallon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.