We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From the Bride and Groom on the June 2013 Wedding:” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Florentina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coloma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Florentina
6673 Carvers Rd., PO Box 551, Coloma, CA 95613   |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
“From the Bride and Groom on the June 2013 Wedding:”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

To future Brides and Grooms: We loved our time at the Villa Florentina and think our wedding was beautiful. We loved the fact that it was off the beaten path and secluded. It was another reason why we traveled 500 miles (one way) to get married. Celebrating privately with those we love and hold dear to our hearts was important to us. The house is gorgeous and clean, comfortable beds, beautiful views from the balcony, great hospitality and an amazing breakfast both mornings. The owners welcomed us with open arms which was important to us because of the intimate setting of a bed and breakfast. We plan to return to enjoy a quiet and relaxing getaway for two.

In response to the negative reviews that have been left regarding our wedding day: The Villa Florentina provided us a long list of vendor recommendations (wedding planner, florist, caterer, DJ, photographer, party rentals, etc.) which was just that, a recommendation. Ultimately, we wanted something different so we picked our own vendors. Therefore, all the complaints listed below should have been directed at the vendors that we (the bride and groom) picked, not the Villa Florentina. As far as the wedding starting late, it was due to an independent vendor (not connected to the Villa Florentina) that was out of everyone's control. At the end of the day we realize we can only guarantee the happiness of ourselves, which we did. Our wedding day will always be memorable and special!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    0
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Prairie, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have to say, I think I also was at the wedding that the Dallas reviewer was at. I am actually appalled that the business owner would rebut that review with such a lengthy, and honestly, quite rude reply. I myself am a small business owner and find it hard to believe that this wedding, which was quite frankly, in the middle of nowhere, was organized and handled without any guidance in vendors and vendor choices from the owners of said venue. I know that I give all of my prospective clients a long list of accomplished and often used vendors that we have worked well with so they have help planning their event. I find it hard to believe that these same business owners do not guide their clients on which vendors to use. It is obvious these owners have sour grapes about a poor review and are taking it out on the reviewer.

Now, to get back to this wedding that I too was at.... When the older gentleman passed out from heat stroke, the parking attendants (as we were helping guide the ambulance back) even told us that this "happens all the time for outdoor events in the summer." They were unfazed. So, there is a history of this happening in the past, which the owners had to have been aware of. There were many elderly guests here, as well as small children and babies. This was not a good environment for them to be in medically. The heat was just too much, plain and simple. If the guests had been forewarned or told about the possibility if extreme heat, they possibly could have prepared better. People were complaining , as I myself heard 5-10 people complaining to waitstaff and bar tending staff. There was a shortage of ice, and water was also scarce. The food cake out and sat in the hot sun, and I heard numerous comments about betting on food poisoning. The wedding cake wasn't even out because it honestly would have melted. So, the reviewer from Dallas was not exaggerating or using malice, they were stating fact. I felt the need to write not to humiliate or embarrass the owners of this venue, but t let them know that yes, this is their responsibility. As owners of venues such as this, it is your job to help your clients find proper and complimentary vendors for their event. That is your job. Especially when your venue is indeed, in the middle of nowhere. This should be a lesson to you, to grow from bad reviews and appreciate the feedback to make your business better. Instead, you took it personally and write a rather ridiculous rebuttal that only made you look childish and unprofessional. I can hardly wait to see what you write to me. But I want to let everyone know the Dallas reviewer is correct and accurate with their review.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementCares, Owner at Villa Florentina, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Please allow us to respond to this review in the same objective and factual manner as in the past. There are no "sour grapes" nor "rude" comments in our previous response, nor will there be here. It is easy for anyone to post a review that may not be factual, so we will simply clarify the facts and allow the reader to see the truth.

1. FALSE: reviewer claims that we are "in the middle of nowhere".
TRUE: We are less than a 2 minute drive, on a public and paved road, from a State Highway. We are less than 1 hour from Sacramento and less than 30 minutes from Folsom, CA. Most guests find our location to be lovely and accessible.

2. FALSE: Reviewer claims that the event "was organized and handled without any guidance in vendors and vendor choices".
TRUE: We provide clients with a clear list of preferred vendors and work closely with them to provide advice should they wish to select vendors not listed there. When a client chooses a vendor who has not worked at the venue, we ensure that they are licensed, insured, reputable, and appear able to deliver a quality product. As with anything else in life, sometimes the services delivered fall short of the promises made, which is why several vendors from this event will not be allowed to return.

3. FALSE: "There is a history of this (medical emergencies due to heat) happening in the past".
TRUE: Never before in our venue's history has any guest had a medical emergency due to heat. This was the first time ever, which can be verified by EMS records. If, as the reviewer claims, anyone made the comment that this "happens all the time for outdoor events in the summer", they may have been generalizing about summer events like weddings, concerts, state fairs, etc. Knowing this general rule, we advise our clients to arrange for adequate shade and cold drinks when temperatures are forecast to be warm. In all but a few cases, our advice is followed and guests enjoy the event, even on warm days such as this one.

4. FALSE: It was somehow the venue's fault that guests were not "forewarned or told about the possibility of extreme heat".
TRUE: This venue, like nearly any other, does not have a list of all the guests for a given event, nor their personal contact information. We did, however, contact the client and advise them several times about the temperature forecast (low 90s) and urge them to double check with their caterer and coordinator that ample shade and other guest comfort items were being provided. Whether the guests were contacted and advised to check a basic weather report before leaving for this outdoor event we cannot possibly know. We doubt that being "forewarned" would have solved any problems, however, since the stated complaints stemmed from unprepared client vendors rather than the weather or the guests. Again, we regularly host weddings during warm weather without incident when our recommendations are followed and vendors perform to a professional standard.

5. FALSE: It was somehow the venue's fault that the caterer ran out of "ice, and water was also scarce", nor that the food "sat in the hot sun", nor that the "cake wasn't even out because it...would have melted".
TRUE: Once again, this reviewer appears to not understand the relationship between the venue and the vendors. The caterer (not the venue) is responsible, as you would expect, to provide drinks, food, and dessert, and to plan to have adequate quantities of each, which is what they were paid by the client to do. Further, on sunny days, no matter the temperature, food should be shaded, which is why we recommended several times that adequate shade (umbrellas in this case) be secured prior to the event. Further, it's a common practice to keep wedding cake in a cool area prior to the cake cutting, as even on a mild day, frosting can melt if left out, so this is not really relevant.

6. FALSE: The previous reviewer was "stating fact" and we "took it personally", making us look "childish and unprofessional".
TRUE: We have clearly illuminated the actual "fact" about each claim made by both reviewers from this event. A simple reading of the review and the response will clear up the facts. In both cases, the reviewers stated opinions that were contrary to the facts. At no time did we or will we ever insult the reviewers, nor stray from a simple explanation of fact, except to provide some analogies that we hoped would assist understanding. Unfortunately, when reading the reviewers use of insulting words like "sour grapes", "childish", "ridiculous", etc, the same professional approach was not provided to us.

Those are the facts. We appreciate that we are able to provide them in response to the reviewers opinions. We welcome anyone with further questions to contact us at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I cannot explain how horrible this place was for the Ju e wedding I attended. First of all, the wedding was supposed to start at 2pm, didn't start until almost 3pm. It was 93 degrees and this place had ZERO shade... I am not exaggerating, there was no cover anywhere. They wouldn't let you inside to escape, even the bathrooms were swelling. We all had to huddle under the scarce table umbrellas as staff was trying to set up for the dinner. It was so hot outside, we couldn't get over how unprepared this place was. There were not enough umbrellas for dinner-- and believe me, you had to be shaded to escape the scorching heat. They ran out of ice and started rationing it out...seriously?? It was just horrible from beiginnig to end, which was when an older gentleman psed out and an ambulance had to be called in... Too much sun. Shocker. Here's a tip: if you hold an outdoor wedding, make sure the guests are comfortable and taken care of as well as the wedding party. Numerous people were complaining and calling this place a joke-- it was THAT miserable. I am sure this is a wonderful place for anything BUT a summer event, but this place is woefully not prepared to handle hot temperatures. We travelled a long way to attend this wedding and it was just miserable, not memorable, as it should have been.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myexitstrategy, Owner at Villa Florentina, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Blaming Villa Florentina for this bad experience is like blaming the theater itself because you didn't like the movie.

It is unfortunate that this review appears on our Villa Florentina Tripadvisor profile. It should actually be posted on the sites for the client, caterers, and coordinator. Please read the simple explanation below:

WE DO PROVIDE beautiful and elegant wedding venue in the Sierra foothills, along a sparkling river, with views of our olive grove and the valley beyond. It is a stunning setting for our clients to exercise their creativity in assembling a team of vendors to deliver their dream wedding.

WE DO NOT PROVIDE food, drinks, or rental equipment. Those items are the responsibility of the client, coordinator, and caterer. We are not an "all-in-one" venue, but instead allow our clients the flexibility and creativity to select their own caterers, photographers, florists, etc.

SHADE: The client and coordinator arranged for all rental equipment, including tables, chairs, market umbrellas, etc. While we can not force our clients to obtain any particular rental items, we recommend, stated clearly in our contract, the need for shade. In fact, our clients sign a contract in which they agree to provide a minimum of one large market umbrella for each 10 guests. Clearly, in this case, the client and coordinator failed to follow our recommendation and plan for guest comfort. Unfortunately for us, the reviewer's dissatisfaction is misguided and should have been directed toward the responsible party.

FOOD/DRINK/ICE: The caterer provides all of these items. For the majority of our events, as evidenced by our other online reviews, the professional caterers provide ample and excellent food and drink. In this case, unknown to us, there appears to have been a shortage of ice provided by the caterer. Unfortunately for us, the reviewer's dissatisfaction is misguided and should have been directed toward the responsible party.

WEDDING SCHEDULE: The client and coordinator arrange the schedule. In this case, the invitation stated 2pm ceremony, when the client's actual intent was to begin the ceremony at 2:30pm to allow for late arrivals. When the ceremony actually began at 2:45pm, guests had been waiting for quite some time, especially those who had arrived long before the stated start time. This might not have been remarkable if shade and refreshments had been adequately planned for by the client, coordinator, and caterer. Furthermore, most ceremonies begin at 4pm to 5pm, but this client chose to begin at 2pm, which, due to their failure to provide for adequate shade and refreshment, compounded the discomfort. Unfortunately for us, the reviewer's dissatisfaction is misguided and should have been directed to the responsible parties.

WEATHER: We cannot control the weather any more than any other outdoor wedding venue. When the client, coordinator, and caterer adequately plan for guest comfort with items such as umbrellas for shade, ice for drinks, etc, the weather plays a small role in the event. Unfortunately for us, the reviewer's dissatisfaction is misguided and should have been directed to the responsible parties.

VENDOR ERRORS: We pride ourselves on allowing our clients and their wedding coordinators a great deal of flexibility in planning their own event, including choosing their own vendors (caterers, coordinators, florists, etc). This usually leads to memorable and unique events, but occasionally brings an unprepared or unprofessional vendor to our venue. In this case, the caterer arrived late and failed to set up what few umbrellas they did have in time for the arriving guests. Furthermore, they did not set up the bar/refreshment station in time for the arriving guest. Finally, they apparently ran out of ice and drinks as well. Unfortunately for us, the reviewer's dissatisfaction is misguided and should have been directed to the responsible parties.

SUMMARY: We take full responsibility for all facets of our venue within our control. That is why the parking is ample, the grounds impeccable, the scenery breathtaking, and the staff helpful, professional, and kind. However, we cannot assume responsibility for failures beyond our control, though we provide valuable insight to all of our clients to help ensure that their event is amazing. When clients disregard our advice, or private vendors fail to provide professional service, or mother nature provides a beautiful clear summer day, fingers are better pointed elsewhere than at our beautiful venue and it's hardworking staff.

Do you blame the swimming pool for your nudity if you forget your bathing suit?
Do you blame the ski resort if your gloves are not warm enough?
Do you blame the condominium if your friend runs out of wine at her condo during dinner?

Clearly, the reviewer misunderstood the very nature of the situation, and should be forgiven for their misplaced outrage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Villa Florentina seems to be designed from something out of my dreams. It is unique, classy, and perched on top of a hill in Coloma with breathtaking views. The Venue itself had a lot of thought go into the design and is perfect for events and weddings with gorgeous rooms for the bride to get ready (very important haha!) a fountain, bocce ball for entertainment, and olive trees. There are hotels, restaurants, parks and gorgeous scenery nearby as well. The photography here would be absolutely stunning. We got a tour from the owner who showed us all around and answered all of our questions, ALL of them, even the ones we thought of later he was quick to email or call us back. I strongly believe that this place is a hidden gem and I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I got to help plan a friend’s wedding here. It was just an amazing experience from start to finish and a lot of that had to do with it being held at Villa Florentina. Every step of the way the staff was totally accommodating and helpful. Just their great customer service is worth booking here! We had our initial venue tour with the owner himself and he took the time to answer all of our questions...and we had lots. We were impressed with how well laid out the property was for a wedding and yet how intimate it felt.

The day of the wedding was gorgeous! Villa Florentina was the perfect setting - impeccably clean, maintained grounds, with just incredible scenery. The bridal party got ready in the bridal suite in the villa, which was really nice...and had two bathrooms! It was a super relaxed atmosphere, for being such a luxurious place, and we got some great getting ready shots.

We had about 160 guests at the wedding so it was really nice to be able to park on-site and not have to shuttle all those people back and forth from somewhere else. Also, I know it might sound a little silly, but they had really nice bathrooms for all the guests too. No porta-potties at this wedding...I hate that!

We decided to have the ceremony on the lawn and that went off without a hitch. After the ceremony, our guests played bocce on the bocce court and had cocktails and appetizers. The reception was in the huge, round plaza in front of the villa. It has a fountain in the middle which was really pretty when the sun went down and it was all lit up. The sunset as we were having dinner and doing speeches was incredible, and the photos turned out more better than we could have hoped for.

The DJ was set up next to their permanent dance floor and we seriously danced until our feet almost fell off:) That was a big factor in my friend's decision...being able to have a band or DJ, and it really made the night. Whenever we needed a break, we sat around the fire and could still watch the dancing. When the event ended, some of us went down to one of the local bars and basically took it over...so much fun. I was lucky enough to get to stay in one of the guest rooms at Villa Florentina and I got such a good night’s sleep...which was probably because the bed was super comfy, but maybe also partly to do with the wine:) The next morning, the owner made a really amazing breakfast...all local and organic...mmmm! And this may seem trivial, but they had a huge selection of high quality teas...a nice touch for us tea drinkers.

Wow, this review got really long, but I’ve been in and to a lot of my friends’ weddings and this was one of the best experiences I’ve had. We had so much fun and the venue was elegant and refined without being stuffy. If you are even considering having your wedding here, go for it! This place is amazing and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Villa is set near the American River so just the sound is soothing! The garden, patio and olive trees give it an entirely tuscan feeling - inside and out. Each room is tastefully furnished with everything you need to be comfortable for your stay. The living room fireplace warms the room and creates great conversation. Walking beside the river, or enjoying the area of foothills, this is the place. The host and hostess are easy, gracious and willing to point you to lots of fun in the area. Warm summers lollygagging in the river or winter hiking in the nearby forests. Old Placerville is nearby, skiing about an hour away or take a day trip to Tahoe but return to the charm of villaflorentina.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Florentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Florentina

Address: 6673 Carvers Rd., PO Box 551, Coloma, CA 95613
Location: United States > California > Coloma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Coloma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the American River and Coloma Valley, Villa Florentina welcomes you for luxurious weddings and weekend getaways. The days here are filled with gentle breezes, the sound of the river, and a sense of love and laughter. From the verandas and terraces you will gaze across the silvery leaves of the estate's olive grove and down the valley towards the setting sun. As night falls and the stars dance overhead, you will wish the evenings could last forever. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Florentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Villa Florentina to your Saves list