We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good for a summer venue!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Florentina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coloma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Florentina
Save Saved
You added Villa Florentina to your Saves list
6673 Carvers Rd., PO Box 551, Coloma, CA 95613   |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Not good for a summer venue!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I cannot explain how horrible this place was for the Ju e wedding I attended. First of all, the wedding was supposed to start at 2pm, didn't start until almost 3pm. It was 93 degrees and this place had ZERO shade... I am not exaggerating, there was no cover anywhere. They wouldn't let you inside to escape, even the bathrooms were swelling. We all had to huddle under the scarce table umbrellas as staff was trying to set up for the dinner. It was so hot outside, we couldn't get over how unprepared this place was. There were not enough umbrellas for dinner-- and believe me, you had to be shaded to escape the scorching heat. They ran out of ice and started rationing it out...seriously?? It was just horrible from beiginnig to end, which was when an older gentleman psed out and an ambulance had to be called in... Too much sun. Shocker. Here's a tip: if you hold an outdoor wedding, make sure the guests are comfortable and taken care of as well as the wedding party. Numerous people were complaining and calling this place a joke-- it was THAT miserable. I am sure this is a wonderful place for anything BUT a summer event, but this place is woefully not prepared to handle hot temperatures. We travelled a long way to attend this wedding and it was just miserable, not memorable, as it should have been.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
myexitstrategy, Owner at Villa Florentina, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Blaming Villa Florentina for this bad experience is like blaming the theater itself because you didn't like the movie.

It is unfortunate that this review appears on our Villa Florentina Tripadvisor profile. It should actually be posted on the sites for the client, caterers, and coordinator. Please read the simple explanation below:

WE DO PROVIDE beautiful and elegant wedding venue in the Sierra foothills, along a sparkling river, with views of our olive grove and the valley beyond. It is a stunning setting for our clients to exercise their creativity in assembling a team of vendors to deliver their dream wedding.

WE DO NOT PROVIDE food, drinks, or rental equipment. Those items are the responsibility of the client, coordinator, and caterer. We are not an "all-in-one" venue, but instead allow our clients the flexibility and creativity to select their own caterers, photographers, florists, etc.

SHADE: The client and coordinator arranged for all rental equipment, including tables, chairs, market umbrellas, etc. While we can not force our clients to obtain any particular rental items, we recommend, stated clearly in our contract, the need for shade. In fact, our clients sign a contract in which they agree to provide a minimum of one large market umbrella for each 10 guests. Clearly, in this case, the client and coordinator failed to follow our recommendation and plan for guest comfort. Unfortunately for us, the reviewer's dissatisfaction is misguided and should have been directed toward the responsible party.

FOOD/DRINK/ICE: The caterer provides all of these items. For the majority of our events, as evidenced by our other online reviews, the professional caterers provide ample and excellent food and drink. In this case, unknown to us, there appears to have been a shortage of ice provided by the caterer. Unfortunately for us, the reviewer's dissatisfaction is misguided and should have been directed toward the responsible party.

WEDDING SCHEDULE: The client and coordinator arrange the schedule. In this case, the invitation stated 2pm ceremony, when the client's actual intent was to begin the ceremony at 2:30pm to allow for late arrivals. When the ceremony actually began at 2:45pm, guests had been waiting for quite some time, especially those who had arrived long before the stated start time. This might not have been remarkable if shade and refreshments had been adequately planned for by the client, coordinator, and caterer. Furthermore, most ceremonies begin at 4pm to 5pm, but this client chose to begin at 2pm, which, due to their failure to provide for adequate shade and refreshment, compounded the discomfort. Unfortunately for us, the reviewer's dissatisfaction is misguided and should have been directed to the responsible parties.

WEATHER: We cannot control the weather any more than any other outdoor wedding venue. When the client, coordinator, and caterer adequately plan for guest comfort with items such as umbrellas for shade, ice for drinks, etc, the weather plays a small role in the event. Unfortunately for us, the reviewer's dissatisfaction is misguided and should have been directed to the responsible parties.

VENDOR ERRORS: We pride ourselves on allowing our clients and their wedding coordinators a great deal of flexibility in planning their own event, including choosing their own vendors (caterers, coordinators, florists, etc). This usually leads to memorable and unique events, but occasionally brings an unprepared or unprofessional vendor to our venue. In this case, the caterer arrived late and failed to set up what few umbrellas they did have in time for the arriving guests. Furthermore, they did not set up the bar/refreshment station in time for the arriving guest. Finally, they apparently ran out of ice and drinks as well. Unfortunately for us, the reviewer's dissatisfaction is misguided and should have been directed to the responsible parties.

SUMMARY: We take full responsibility for all facets of our venue within our control. That is why the parking is ample, the grounds impeccable, the scenery breathtaking, and the staff helpful, professional, and kind. However, we cannot assume responsibility for failures beyond our control, though we provide valuable insight to all of our clients to help ensure that their event is amazing. When clients disregard our advice, or private vendors fail to provide professional service, or mother nature provides a beautiful clear summer day, fingers are better pointed elsewhere than at our beautiful venue and it's hardworking staff.

Do you blame the swimming pool for your nudity if you forget your bathing suit?
Do you blame the ski resort if your gloves are not warm enough?
Do you blame the condominium if your friend runs out of wine at her condo during dinner?

Clearly, the reviewer misunderstood the very nature of the situation, and should be forgiven for their misplaced outrage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    0
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Villa Florentina seems to be designed from something out of my dreams. It is unique, classy, and perched on top of a hill in Coloma with breathtaking views. The Venue itself had a lot of thought go into the design and is perfect for events and weddings with gorgeous rooms for the bride to get ready (very important haha!) a fountain, bocce ball for entertainment, and olive trees. There are hotels, restaurants, parks and gorgeous scenery nearby as well. The photography here would be absolutely stunning. We got a tour from the owner who showed us all around and answered all of our questions, ALL of them, even the ones we thought of later he was quick to email or call us back. I strongly believe that this place is a hidden gem and I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I got to help plan a friend’s wedding here. It was just an amazing experience from start to finish and a lot of that had to do with it being held at Villa Florentina. Every step of the way the staff was totally accommodating and helpful. Just their great customer service is worth booking here! We had our initial venue tour with the owner himself and he took the time to answer all of our questions...and we had lots. We were impressed with how well laid out the property was for a wedding and yet how intimate it felt.

The day of the wedding was gorgeous! Villa Florentina was the perfect setting - impeccably clean, maintained grounds, with just incredible scenery. The bridal party got ready in the bridal suite in the villa, which was really nice...and had two bathrooms! It was a super relaxed atmosphere, for being such a luxurious place, and we got some great getting ready shots.

We had about 160 guests at the wedding so it was really nice to be able to park on-site and not have to shuttle all those people back and forth from somewhere else. Also, I know it might sound a little silly, but they had really nice bathrooms for all the guests too. No porta-potties at this wedding...I hate that!

We decided to have the ceremony on the lawn and that went off without a hitch. After the ceremony, our guests played bocce on the bocce court and had cocktails and appetizers. The reception was in the huge, round plaza in front of the villa. It has a fountain in the middle which was really pretty when the sun went down and it was all lit up. The sunset as we were having dinner and doing speeches was incredible, and the photos turned out more better than we could have hoped for.

The DJ was set up next to their permanent dance floor and we seriously danced until our feet almost fell off:) That was a big factor in my friend's decision...being able to have a band or DJ, and it really made the night. Whenever we needed a break, we sat around the fire and could still watch the dancing. When the event ended, some of us went down to one of the local bars and basically took it over...so much fun. I was lucky enough to get to stay in one of the guest rooms at Villa Florentina and I got such a good night’s sleep...which was probably because the bed was super comfy, but maybe also partly to do with the wine:) The next morning, the owner made a really amazing breakfast...all local and organic...mmmm! And this may seem trivial, but they had a huge selection of high quality teas...a nice touch for us tea drinkers.

Wow, this review got really long, but I’ve been in and to a lot of my friends’ weddings and this was one of the best experiences I’ve had. We had so much fun and the venue was elegant and refined without being stuffy. If you are even considering having your wedding here, go for it! This place is amazing and you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Villa is set near the American River so just the sound is soothing! The garden, patio and olive trees give it an entirely tuscan feeling - inside and out. Each room is tastefully furnished with everything you need to be comfortable for your stay. The living room fireplace warms the room and creates great conversation. Walking beside the river, or enjoying the area of foothills, this is the place. The host and hostess are easy, gracious and willing to point you to lots of fun in the area. Warm summers lollygagging in the river or winter hiking in the nearby forests. Old Placerville is nearby, skiing about an hour away or take a day trip to Tahoe but return to the charm of villaflorentina.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Florentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Florentina

Address: 6673 Carvers Rd., PO Box 551, Coloma, CA 95613
Location: United States > California > Coloma
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Coloma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the American River and Coloma Valley, Villa Florentina welcomes you for luxurious weddings and weekend getaways. The days here are filled with gentle breezes, the sound of the river, and a sense of love and laughter. From the verandas and terraces you will gaze across the silvery leaves of the estate's olive grove and down the valley towards the setting sun. As night falls and the stars dance overhead, you will wish the evenings could last forever. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Florentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.