We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just don't take the name literally” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dine N Dash Cafe

Dine N Dash Cafe
1516 S Canyon Way, Colfax, CA 95713-9033
+1 530-346-1000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Colfax
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Description: Family owned, Garden fresh comfort food. Gluten free and Vegan options available
Placerville, California
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Just don't take the name literally”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Dine N Dash Cafe is a small-town gem in Colfax, Calif. It's right off of Hwy 80, making it a perfect stopover and your way to or from Tahoe or Reno. The food is fantastic, but not greasy, like the gooey messes of grease and cheese you might see in other breakfast joints. If it's nice enough, sit out on the back patio and enjoy the rustic, country feel from the thick wooden beams to the saddle and tractor seating. I'll be back here whenever I'm in town prospecting or just passing through.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    8
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bent Mountain, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“TWO MEALS IN 12 HOURS - FANTASTIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

While in Colfax, I ate here on my last night. While the "twice breaded chicken" was not what I expected, the portion was generous and flavorful. A real delight was the sauted fresh vegetables. But the next day was Father's Day, and I got blown away.
My clients and their 3 young children met me for breakfast. The place was "packed" but we were seated on the pleasant patio. When we advised that I had a palce to catch in Sacramento, service was very prompt, and WHAT FOOD! If you get eggs and links, be prepared for BIG link sausages. My request to substitute bread offerings with 1 pancake was met with a plate sized pancake that was the fluffiest I've ever had. I wish I had driven the short distance to Dine & Dash for all my evening meals. If ever again in Colfax, the folks there will see a lot of me.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tuna Melt Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Coming down the hill from Reno and saw a sign for Dine N Dash Cafe - once exiting the freeway there were multiple signs pointing the way to the restaurant....until just before you got there. I almost drove by but was able to slam on the brakes and turn in. The restaurant is located on a frontage road next to the freeway. The tuna melt and cole slaw was very good. The sandwich actually had too much tuna melt - it was huge. The cole slaw was good too. If you get the opportunity - sit out back - very relaxing and a slice of nature.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We sure like it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I agree with previous posters about ambiance, locals, noise and food portions! Being locals, we rotate our visits to these establishments. One thing I am very happy about is that they have ice cream and serve shakes!
As for the cold, we ARE up in the mountians and it does get cool at night...
As for the noise, this ain't no church!
As for the locals, we support our businesses...
As for the food portions, they are complicit in my weight gain and all I gotta say is a satisfactory "Burp....'scuse me!"

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Here’s what we found at Dash and Dine on a recent Sunday morning. Busy place with lots of locals enjoying breakfast. Very noisy inside and because it was still chilly, the patio area was closed. Service was okay as our server was friendly and chatty but we had to request for sugar packets for our coffee and then also cream as there was none on the table. Overall the place looked clean but all of the waitresses but one had long hair that was hanging forward on their face and not pulled back. Call me old fashioned and I know I’m dating myself but I remember when servers had to wear hairnets or pull their hair back. We shared a breakfast omelet which was very good but when I asked if they would split the order in the kitchen I was told no but they would bring me an extra plate. How hard is it to split an order to two plates? For these reasons I am only giving this café two stars.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dine N Dash Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Dine N Dash Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dine N Dash Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.