We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, nice pool, food so-so” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino

Save Saved
You added Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 Lucky Lane, Coarsegold, CA 93614   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Coarsegold
Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, nice pool, food so-so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The pro's : very nice new rooms in the new wing of the hotel. We liked the pool area, it wasn't too busy. Staff was friendly enough. The con's : food options were limited as many restaurants were closed. Pizza from the bakery was horrible. The location is great for a visit to Yosemite.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    60
    34
    11
    16
See reviews for
55
72
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SLO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed two nights with our three kids recently with a big hiking day in Yosemite between. We got everything we wanted out of the hotel; buffet one night, a little casino action both nights, swimming for kids a couple times, lots of room for kids playpen. The room was nice & big & the bathroom was a treat with the whirlpool bath. Only complaints were that there is a lot of smoking downstairs in casino-and the arcade has relatively short hours.

I would have given four stars if not for how the hotel acted when I made a big mistake.

I was loading the van & marveling how I got so many of the bags in the back upon departure. I even mentioned to my wife this fact, who was getting a two year old in car seat. She like that as no one would have a bag under their feet.

We did not notice that my wife's big bag was not in van at all. Either one of my kids rolled it over to a nearby bench, or I was too tired from the trip to notice it on the curb. We drove all the way home, about four hours away.

We called & found out that security had found it, did an inventory, & had it safely stored. There was no ID on the bag for them to call.

I did searches on how to get the bag delivered, but the hotel decided to send it AT THEIR COST. They REFUSED to let me pay for it. It arrived the next day. The bag had, among other things, four swimsuits, that were to be used at swimming lessons the next day.

I am SO ready for another trip to Yosemite, & my family agrees that we will stay at the Chukchansi again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Check in us at 3:00 our room was not ready until 6:00pm. Rude hotel staff, pool area was filthy, room stunk and was not very clean! This used to be a very nice place years ago :( but has gone downhill horribly :(

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coarsegold hotels

Ventura, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice place with super potential. Unfortunately, its severely lacking in management.

Terrible attitude (Missy) at check-in. Check-in supervisor seems to take issues personal and has no options to help customers. One check-in clerk (Johnna) seemed to have it together.

Suite needs attention. Carpet is rolling up. TV remode was dead. Towels need fabric softener.

Room service was good. Bell desk was good. Valet was good.

Need to open the other restaurants.

*** Basically, this place needs a good management staff.***
Some people are right to work with people and some need to work in housekeeping.

Room Tip: Be sure to pound NO SMOKING into the head of the person making reservations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at Chukchansi for 4 nights. My two boys and my wife were headed to Yosemite National Park and we stayed at Chukchansi. We would leave every morning and come back in the afternoon. It was very convenient to have the free valet parking. The rooms were picked up every day and they were kept clean. The pools and gym were clean and well kept. Service was really good. On our departure we forgot some garments back in our room. The hotel personnel got a hold of my wife right away and then they mailed our stuff back to our house. I thought that was a very nice gesture. Thank you Michelle Johnson and the rest of the staff for a great stay.

Room Tip: Stay on the second newer Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro,NC
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
176 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Overall, Chukchansi is a nice hotel and a decent place to stay if visiting Yosemite (probably 90 minutes from Yosemite Valley and 30 mins or so to the South Entrance). The hotel lobby and grounds are very nice. The casino is decent - typical of a Harrah's type. Disappointed at the restaurant selection. Looks like 3 of the restaurants are completely closed down and one evening the Noodle Bar was closed (which turned out to be not so great), the buffet shutdown early (OK buffet), leaving us with just Goldfields (decent but long wait) or the expensive steakhouse (which we did not eat at). The rooms are nice and clean but tough to keep cool for some reason.

I usually don't complain about the service unless it is consistently not good. This qualifies. The security guards throughout the casino made you feel like a criminal the way they watched. The wait staff was not very attentive in most places. The front desk people looked like they were just going through the motions and not very warm.

Just a bad service vibe throughout most of the place. Not everyone obviously. When we were served wine in a water glass at the noodle place, I went to the steakhouse and the bartender brought us over a nice glass since the Asian restaurant did not have wine glasses.

So - nice hotel, things to do at night (which is hard to find in this area) but they need more restaurants open and a lesson in customer service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our room was in the "C" tower overlooking the fountain and bear statues at the main entrance, we stayed here for two days. The property is located halfway between (30 miles to each) Fresno and the south entrance to Yosemite National Park. The room was quiet and decorated with pictures of mountain scenes. They had a small refrigerator and TV in an armoire, no microwave oven and a small table with chairs. They offered bottled water for sale in the room, it was a little expensive at $5 for a liter bottle. For the cost of the room I think they could offer smaller complimentary bottles. The bed and pillows were comfortable, however the towels and washcloths were very rough. Good for exfoliating if that is what you're looking for. The air conditioning worked well. I noticed that the metal table lamps were screwed down to the tables, two of the lamps in our room did not work (and were not fixed during our stay). The faucet in the bathtub/shower did not shut off completely and the staff did not seem to care about wasting water (they are on well water).People would put their dishes from room service in the hallway, and the people that cleaned the rooms would not pick them up. Must be some Union rule only room service can do that. They were in the hallway when we checked in at 7 pm and still there at 8 am the next morning. The dirty dishes were picked up after I complained to the front desk.
The staff had a basic unfriendly, it's a job what do you want, attitude.
We did not use the casino, so no comments can be made.

Room Tip: The valley view rooms have a west exposure and receive lots of sunlight in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino

Address: 711 Lucky Lane, Coarsegold, CA 93614
Location: United States > California > Coarsegold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Coarsegold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chukchansi Gold Resort And Casino
Chukchansi Gold Hotel Coarsegold

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.