We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property with friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   711 Lucky Lane, Coarsegold, CA 93614   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coarsegold
Santa Maria, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice property with friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I will review though I truly can't give a very thorough review since it was a quick one night stay on our way in to Yosemite. The staff was friendly - particularly the valet. We were in the newer tower at the property - it was clean and the beds were comfy. We went into the casino for a bit but I don't typically gamble and hate cigarette smoke so I didn't stay long. For a casino it seemed clean however and again the staff friendly. If I had more time I would have tried a few of the restaurants as they do have a wide variety and also would have liked to check out the spa.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    66
    39
    13
    18
See reviews for
62
80
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
california
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I have stayed here many times and usually find it to be a fun and enjoyable experience. There are some issues that should be addressed by the resort. One of the most irritating things is that they have sheets that do not fit the bed. Often the sheets are pulled out and end up in a ball in the middle of the bed and you are on the mattress. Gross! The service in the casino is the worst. I was playing a slot machine and the lady next to me asked the slot attendant to call for cocktails because no one had been by in quite sometime. She waited at least 20 minutes and still no one came so she asked again and again no one ever came. After waiting for over a 1/2 hour she gave up and went and got her own drink at the bar. this often happens. If you need change forget it you could die at your machine before you get any help ( and maybe not even then).
The food is only OK in most of the restaurants. the exception being the steak house. It is outstanding. It is expensive but if you can afford it be sure to go. It is fantastic.
Now to give you the good comments. the rooms are an average size. If you can be sure to stay in the new tower the rooms are nicer there. They have flat screened TVs and a better layout. The pool is small but nice and there is a workout room that is fairly well equipped. the spa is nice and the prices are not bad. the casino is small but fun and be sure to become a club member and you will get all kinds of freebees. We go often and we are not what I call highrollers but our rooms are comped and many of our meals are comped or covered by the points we earn on our club cards.
All in all it is a nice place to stay and a great location. Just 45 minutes from Yosemite. there are also great wineries in the area and a ton of thing to do.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Just returned from Chukchansi. I go here every couple of months because I get comped rooms with casino play. The hotel is very nice, with premium finishes everywhere. Refrigerators, safes, and coffee makers are included. I prefer the Chukchansi Tower to the newer Picayune Tower because the beds are softer. The hotel includes an indoor/outdoor pool, whirlpool spas, free cabanas, a day spa, etc. There are also several restaurants and bars. We ate two meals at Goldfields Restaurant which was offering a $7.77 Prime Rib Special. This morning we had the buffet for an early lunch. Very nice! We bring our own alcohol...just be discreet!
I didn't have any luck in the casino. but two out of four of us came out ahead. Our second day was spent at Bass Lake which is about 20 minutes away. We swam, had a picnic lunch and enjoyed the natural beauty. (Also a number of bikini beauties)!
At the casino, we talked to several Europeans who said that this is the recommended place for them to stay while visiting Yosemite. (The gates are about 30 minutes away).
I highly recommend this hotel. Be sure to sign up for a player's club card!

Room Tip: Ask for a valley or pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

This was my first time here. I don't gamble but we were on our way to Yosemite and decided to stay here instead of in Fresno. My parents could go to the casino and it makes the drive to Yosemite a little shorter especially with young kids in the car. The room was a nice size and very quiet. We went swimming and the pool was very large with an indoor connected to an outdoor section. There is also a small jacuzzi next to the indoor pool. Even though it had been raining the day before, the water was still very warm and there was only one other family swimming. For breakfast, we went to the buffet. Since it was Sunday, there was Champagne brunch offered. There was a wide variety of food - pizza/pasta, made to order omelets, chinese food, fresh fruits, baked goods, tri-tip, breakfast items like bacon, sausage, and desserts. Everyone found something to eat and was sat by the large windows with a great view of the mountains. This is definitely a good alternative if you don't want to stay in Fresno when planning on going further north and want both adult and kid entertainment at one location.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a room in the new tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

The atmosphere on the hotel side of the casino is pleasureable to say the least,do not use a credit card at checkin, opt to provide a 100.00 deposit cash and pick it up in the am, the rooms are relatively nice, the pool and spa area are typically overran with unattended children or drunk gamblers. The gym area leaves ALOT to be desired, you can get some good cardio in but if you want to lift some weights leave that to the gym. Clean beds,bathrooms,chuchanski tower is remodeled so either tower is nice. Tip: Get a players card,play a little bit for free hotel comps mailed to your home for the next stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, Ca
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

One of the best casinos in CA. I getaway frequently to Chukchansi Gold resort and Casino. They have a spa (Serenity Springs) where you can get a massage, facial, manicure, pedicure, etc. There's a pool and 2 jacuzzis. Wonderful restaurants, but my favorite is the California Buffet. I do prefer the "blue" rooms to the "Brown" rooms in in the Chukchansi Tower. The brown rooms are the older side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for newest side of hotel, the blue rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

The Picayune King Suite was way over priced for the quality of the room. First of all the sofa and chair in the livingroom were stained and were made of a rough linen material; the fireplace was electric w/ a noisy fan; the wood tables were dented/scratched/worn; the bedroom was basic and the bedspread was stained. The only thing nice about the suite was the bathroom.

The Spa was not very impressive either. Fake candles lit the rooms, and it was missing the fragrance of a spa. The only positive thing I have to say about the Spa is the massage was awesome...the ladies really worked the muscles.

My husband and I don't ever plan on staying here again. If we want the casino atmosphere we will save it for Las Vegas, and the spa/resort experience we will head to the coast or Bass Lake..

Room Tip: Call to get specifics on rooms and resort spas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino

Address: 711 Lucky Lane, Coarsegold, CA 93614
Location: United States > California > Coarsegold
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coarsegold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chukchansi Gold Resort And Casino
Chukchansi Gold Hotel Coarsegold

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chukchansi Gold Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.