We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   835 Gettysburg Avenue, Clovis, CA 93612   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Clovis
Eastvale, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Consistently Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

There were no weaknesses at this hotel. Still looks fairly new and the staff was always accommodating. Good value for the price. The complimentary breakfast was good for what it was. If it's not that busy the food can sit and lack freshness. Overall would stay there again in a heartbeat. Could be a little closer to the freeway too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyHWSGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
On behalf of the staff of the Homewood Suites Clovis, thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate you sharing your experience with others. We take great price in our hotel, and our staff in the service we provide to our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the fact that you would stay with us again. We hope to be of service to you in the future. Thanks for travelling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    40
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
57
22
7
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Middle Kingdom, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

First, let me say that the Homewood Suites facility was clean and comfortable. The beds were comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was above average. The staff was friendly and as helpful as they could be. I'll give 4 stars for that. My low rating is not about the facility or the staff.

This is what happened to us...

My son was getting married in Clovis. We made a reservation for four nights in a two bedroom suite (2 queens & 1 king) for my wife and I, our daughter, our son, his wife and their baby. We made this reservation 2 and 1/2 months in advance. We recommended this hotel to our family. We rented a room for the wedding photographer. In all, we were directly or indirectly responsible for 8 rooms reserved for the weekend.

On the day we were to arrive, the hotel phoned us to say the 2 bedroom suite was unavailable due to an extended stay and they had moved us to adjoining 1 bedroom suites (1 king and 1 king). They offered this for the same price saying it was a good deal because we were getting two rooms at that price.

From my perspective, this was not a good deal. We lost a bed in this arrangement as we went from 2 queens and a king to 2 kings: 3 beds to 2 beds. This deal didn't honor a reservation held for over 2 months. This deal moved my daughter to a sofa bed.

I complained that we had the reservation for 2 and 1/2 months, we were giving up a bed, and a number of rooms had been rented by other family members based upon our recommendation. I requested a discount and the hotel responded by taking 10% off the price. That was 'the best they could do."

For us, a 10% discount did not make up for the loss of a bed, the failure to honor a reservation we held over 2 months, and our recommending the hotel to our extended family and friends. If we had time, I would have changed to a different hotel, but we were already on the road with a full wedding preparation schedule ahead of us. We had little choice but to go ahead with this arrangement.

When we checked in, I asked for an explanation of why our reservation was not honored. The clerk explained since they were an 'extended stay' hotel, sometimes guests extended their stay beyond what was expected. In this case, there are only 3 2-bedroom suites and the people in those rooms were extending their stay.

The hotel manager never spoke to us about this situation, but left it to the front desk clerks to deal with us. It felt like I was negotiating with a car salesman and having to wait while he ran to the back room to see what deal the manager was going to offer, then coming back to make us the 'best offer they could."

I was and still am very disappointed in how this situation was handled. Homewood Suites failed us at the customer service level. A bigger discount would have helped. Being contacted by the hotel manager to explain and apologize about the situation would have helped. But apparently, working with us to help resolve the situation was beyond the level of customer service they were willing to offer.

I would be hard pressed to ever stay in this hotel again because of this. There is a Hampton Inn right across the parking lot.

Be advised, a reservation at an extended stay hotel may not mean what you think it does.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyHWSGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to review your recent stay at the Homewood Suites Clovis on TripAdvisor. I apologize that we were unable to accommodate the type of suite you had reserved. Our goal is to always meet and exceed our guests' expectations with their requests. Unfortunately due to the nature of our hotel, at times we do not have the same availability due to guests extending their stays with us. Most often, guests extend their stay because their residence was not ready to be occupied by the time they had scheduled to depart the hotel. Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience you and your family experienced. On behalf of the entire staff of the Homewood Suites Clovis, congratulations on your son's wedding. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and your guests and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future should you return the Clovis area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our first time in a Homewood Suites and what a very pleasant surprise.
The suite had a fully fitted kitchen, a lounge area with quality furnishings, separate bedroom and a large bathroom. The suite was also spotlessly clean.
Included in the rate was a complimentary breakfast which was very, very good.
All the staff were friendly and gave excellent service - well done to them all.
There is a shopping mall close by with many restaurants.
We will definitely look out for Homewood Suites on our future vacations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyHWSGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Homewood Suites as your home away from home! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and have now become a fan of Homewood Suites when you travel. Please consider becoming a HHonors member if you are not already one, as your loyalty to Hilton hotels is rewarded with each stay you have at a Hilton hotel. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at the Homewood Suites in Clovis, CA. The facility was in great conditions and rooms were well kept. Our teens enjoyed the pool and the morning breakfast selection was nice. We will defintely return to this hotel during our next stay in the Fresno area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyHWSGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Many thanks for sharing your positive experience at the Homewood Suites Clovis on Trip Advisor. We sincerely appreciate your kind words. Our team is committed to providing a warm welcoming atmosphere and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. On behalf of our entire staff of the Homewood Suites in Clovis, we look forward to being of service to you on your next trip to the Clovis area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very quiet and clean facility with more than one elevator for my disabled Dad. Everything in the room was in working order with a flat panel TV in each of the bedrooms as well as the living room. I did not go to the breakfast area but my family did and were surprised to find real donuts instead of the standard hotel cinnamon rolls. They were happy with the selection. Will stay there next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyHWSGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Homewood Suites in Clovis. We are so pleased you found our accomodations and services to your satisfaction. On behalf of the entire staff, we hope to be of service to you again on your next trip to the Clovis area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Very good location and facilities. Clovis is quieter than Fresno yet close enough for easy access. Staff was friendly and helpful. Food could use an upgrade, yet staff made the experience pleasant. As a business traveler this facility is worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyHWSGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Homewood Suites in Clovis. Thank you for taking to time to share your experience with others on TripAdvisor. On behalf of the entire staff, we look forward to being of service to you again on your next trip to the area. Thanks for traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Extremely helpful, friendly and professional staff. I made several requests upon my arrival and every one was met immediately. Our group needed breakfast served an hour earlier than they normally open and the manager made sure to have staff available to open at 6:00 AM. We will be going back to this hotel next year and every year our team plays in Clovis, CA thanks to the staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyHWSGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Hotel on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to be of service to your group at the Homewood Suites! Your kids were great and we look forward to being of service to you on your next trip to the Clovis area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis

Address: 835 Gettysburg Avenue, Clovis, CA 93612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Clovis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Clovis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.