We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible gas smell in room 202” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   835 Gettysburg Avenue, Clovis, CA 93612   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Clovis
Sacramento
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“horrible gas smell in room 202”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I was upgraded to a suite which was nice, the room smelled of gas. I woke up at 2 am with a headache, had to open the window- in the morning I told the front desk. The man didn't seem to conern and he would have someone look into it. I phoned about 3 hours later and to my surprise was told they haven't checked on it but would once maintance got in. I phoned the 800 number and was hung up on twice. I phoned again about 6 hours later and was told my room was above the laundry room so that was probably the smell. I don't think even with the room above the laundry room that your room should smell like gas.
the food was good and the customer service in the food area was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amycoverton, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. Incidents such as yours are really quite rare. Please accept our sincere apology for the unpleasant smell and any inconvenience you were caused by it. I have been reassured that there was no safety issue with the odor and wanted to make you aware of that. We understand that travel is very important and work diligently to ensure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please reach out to us directly if there is anything more we can do to assist you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    38
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
53
21
7
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
WV
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here a week while my husband was in town on business. I can't think of a thing that needs improving. Loved the room layout....was like a small apartment. The staff, from the front desk, to housekeeping, and the ladies that run the breakfast and dinner area all are top notch and always willing to help with anything needed. Also, the bed was so comfortable....wished I had found out what brand and type the mattresses are, I'd love to have one at home. If you are going to the Clovis/Fresno area, you can't go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I had the 2-bedroom suite, it's a very good value.

Whenever I stood in front of the basin to brush my teeth and wash my face, I always smelled the mildew, later I found out there was mildew inside the holes at the back of the basin.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night prior to a flight out of Fresno the next morning. Location was convenient for getting to the airport and the room was a standard, spacious suite. Breakfast was also fine. The one piece that brings the rating down was that, even though we had a non-smoking room, the hallway on the entire fourth floor absolutely stank of cigarette smoke. We called the front desk to complain and were told that there was a smoking suite somewhere on the floor...though as we walked around, clearly the vast majority of the suites were non smoking. But somehow the smoke smell permeated the entire floor, which was really off-putting for any excursion outside the room (i.e., to the elevator) and not very healthy for our 2.5 year old daughter. Fortunately, our suite itself was a relatively safe haven. Aside from that significant drawback, our stay was fine.

Room Tip: Assuming that the fourth floor is the only floor with smoking suites, avoid the fourth floor if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Our family of six stayed here during a California road trip. The room was very nice and clean and quiet. The elevator and hall were smoky even though we were very much in a non-smoking zone (I think it came up from lower floors -- we were on the fourth floor). The smoke dissipated later.

We ate the burgers for dinner and they were yummy but had American cheese (ewww) instead of something good like cheddar. For breakfast the next morning the omelets had the same American cheese in them.

My husband and daughter took a swim and the pool was clean.

The staff were all very nice. The price was decent and check in and check out were smooth and quick and we'd not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyHWSGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Homewood Suites in Clovis. We take great pride in our hotel and its services and are glad you enjoyed your stay. Your insight and feedback are very important to us. It was our pleasure to be of service to you and hope you will consider staying with us in the future should you return to the Clovis area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

Nice spacious rooms, clean property, and friendly staff. Centrally located near food and about 5 minutes from the airport.

Only area that could use improvement is the fitness room. It's small and cramped.

Other than that, it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyHWSGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for recently being a guest of ours at The Homewood Suites in Clovis. We sincerely appreciate you sharing your feedback with others who may be traveling to the Clovis area. On behalf of our entire staff, it was our pleasure to serve you and we hope to be of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed here while visiting my family. Here's what we thought.

Pros:
* The rooms are quite large, kitchen facilities are nice, and (since it's all new) they're quite clean.
* Service was pretty good (breakfast, front desk, etc.)
* They have a handy market next to the front desk.
* Common facilities are nice and new.
* Ample (free) parking.

Cons:
* Our adjoining room had someone who watched TV until 2am. So, you may want to request a non-adjoining room, if it suits you.
* Elevators can be *super slow*
* Complimentary breakfast was free, but I'd give it a 3/5 for freshness. (I had a nasty egg.)
* The bathrooms have large showers, but ours didn't have a tub. You may want to request this.

Room Tip: You may want to request a non-adjoining room (for peace), unless you actually require it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyHWSGM, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for being a guest at the Homewood Suites in Clovis. We appreciate your feedback and offer you no excuses for your experience at breakfast. Corrective action is currently underway in this area. Thank you again for your insight and we hope we may be of service to you on your next visit to the Clovis area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clovis
Free Parking, B...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Clovis - Airport North
Free internet...
Show More
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Fresno Clovis
Free internet...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Clovis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Clovis Fresno Area
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Clovis Cole
Quiet, Budget...
Show More
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Clovis
Comfort Suites Clovis
#6 of 8 in Clovis
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis

Address: 835 Gettysburg Avenue, Clovis, CA 93612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Clovis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Clovis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Clovis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.