We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burgers and Pastrami -- Worth a Stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hamburger Ranch & Bar-B-Que

Hamburger Ranch & Bar-B-Que
31195 North Redwood Highway, Cloverdale, CA 95425
707-894-5616
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Cloverdale
Restaurant details
San Clemente, CA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great Burgers and Pastrami -- Worth a Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We discovered this place a year ago on a road trip through the area and liked it so much we decided to visit it again this year while passing through town. Their house-made pastrami remains thet best pastrami I've ever had. Great flavor and texture. Others in our party ordered burgers, and declared them among the best they've had as well. Service was a bit slow, but friendly. The place is clean and busy, and its walls are adorned with postcards from fans of their food around the world. The fanfare is well-deserved, and we'll be stopping by the next them we find ourselves in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    30
    7
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A must stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stopped for lunch on the way to the coast. Very good BBQ. The meat was moist with just the right amount of smoke. Three different sauces from mild and sweet to spicy. Excellent service. Clean restrooms. Will stop again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A nice outdoor spot with decent burgers and overpriced steaks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Patio tables abound, and I do recommend outdoor seating unless the 'dale gets into triple digits. Stick with the burger menu and you won't be disappointed. The steaks, while tasty since they're BBQ'd on an open oak-fired grill, seem a bit overpriced for the venue.
Decent beer selection, don't recall the wine offerings (since we generally order beer).

Also have had a decent breakfast or two there, and recently enjoyed excellent pulled-pork sliders at a wine industry hospitality event.

A nice stop on you way out (or back from) the North Coast via 116.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Summer Outdoor BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

A little too greasy to my taste, but outdoor BBQ was a nice experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“always a tasty stop on the way to Mendocino..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stopping at the Hamburger Ranch has become a family tradition for my wife and me when we travel west on Highway 128 from Highway 101 to Mendocino. Yesterday we stopped and they were serving barbecue. We shared a combination dish -- baby-back ribs, pulled pork and tri-tip steak with sides of ranch fries and coleslaw. Two cold tap beers helped make the meal complete. Everything -- but particularly, the pulled pork -- was delicious. Very good value and well worth a stop. The restaurant walls are covered with postcards sent from around the world from satisfied customers. "Traveling the world one meal at a time..."

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamburger Ranch & Bar-B-Que also viewed

Cloverdale, Sonoma County
Cloverdale, Sonoma County
 
Cloverdale, Sonoma County
 

Been to Hamburger Ranch & Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamburger Ranch & Bar-B-Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.