We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woodsy retreat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Crocker Inn

Save Saved
You added Old Crocker Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Crocker Inn
1126 Old Crocker Inn Rd, Cloverdale, CA 95425   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Cloverdale B&B and Inns
Millbrae, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Woodsy retreat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here this past weekend and felt like we really got to get away from it all. We stayed at the Canton cottage. Breakfast was good. Went to dinners in healdsburg, 30 mins away, which we didn't mind. So nice to wake up to lots of trees. We saw deer & fox. Would love to go back when pool is warm.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    28
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
138
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Nice private inn in beautiful wild setting, cabins well appointed, sheets and beds great, breakfasts great. We met people in Sonoma and Healdsburg that knew it well and said that was where locals often stay to avoid the tourists. Staff very kind, well prepared with lots of packages, tickets, information to help you plan the best suited strategy to see the area. Relaxed and informal. A bit out of the way north of Cloverdale, but worth the drive. Peaceful atmosphere, beautiful views, secluded pool, places to walk, altogether lovely.

Room Tip: Everything good here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Loved the charm and character of the inn. Wide porches with wicker chairs and various comfy sitting areas in the main rooms and large dining room. Plenty of reading material and many good movies to borrow. Bedrooms have high ceilings, beadboard, fireplaces, comfy beds. Owners make a cake every night and a delicious full breakfast in the morning. So quiet at night. The inn is about 5 miles outside of Cloverdale so you are north of the Dry Creek area. Since it's dark early, we brought dinner back to the inn and set up in the dining room which was nice. We'll be back in summer when the pool is open, would be a great way to finish off a day in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I was looking for a quiet vacation away from the city for me and my boyfriend and I have to say this place was perfect. I loved the fact that they had a variety of rooms to choose from. We ended up staying in the Clement which was one of the cottages. It was extremely comfortable and cozy. We especially liked the fireplace and multiple outdoor sitting areas/patios. The bathroom and shower were immaculate. Besides the rooms which we loved, there are so many additional features to staying here. Check-in included a nice tour of the place by Tony and included a slice of Mary's freshly out of the oven cranberry cake and hot beverages. I found both to be amazingly friendly and charming hosts. They were very accommodating for breakfast and were sure to ask of any allergies or food issues. And the breakfasts are not to be missed. I typically skip out of hotel breakfasts but we both thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts. They have an assortment of boardgames and a pretty amazing selection of DVDs. There are a ton of guides to the area, as well as free tasting cards for nearby wineries. The location of the place is out of the way but we didn't mind the 15 or so minute drive to the freeway and it made the property feel very relaxed and secluded. You would probably want to plan dinner in advance though, as there aren't any options without having to get back to the freeway. Overall, this was an amazing stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to spend a weekend relaxing or wine tasting.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elverta, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I spent our 37th anniversary at The Old Crocker Inn - Bed and Breakfast. I found it to be delightful! The secluded woodland area, in close proximity to several quaint communities in the wine country of Sonoma County proved to be an excellent choice for our special time away. We enjoyed the "Stanford" room, with its high ceilings, large bed and premium bedding. The bath boasted a clawfoot tub and vintage feel that I really liked. We arrived on a Thursday afternoon, around 3pm. Tony met us at the door with a warm welcome and an offering of a glass of wine and the promise of a nice, fresh from the oven, cake later in the evening. Off to a great start! We asked several questions about the Inn and Lodge and were treated to a short history and great conversation about the region. Tony shared some good advise about things to do and wineries to see as well as great tips in dining out. We stayed two nights. We will be back, and I have already laid the groundwork with friends for a group outing, with The Old Crocker Inn as the centerpiece.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the "Stanford". It is off the courtyard, in the lodge. I liked the proximity to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Old Crocker Inn is everything we wished for and then some! An old hunting lodge perched atop a hill overlooking the vineyards, away from everything and very quiet. Dripping with old world charm, the place is extremely clean and well maintained. Also, they allow pets in the cottage rooms, so it was nice to have our baby girl with us. Were able to go for long hikes in the morning and evening on the surrounding hills and admire the scenery and the abundant wildlife.The gourmet breakfast was cooked and served by the owners themselves and was to die for. The majority of hotels offer continental breakfast, so to our surprise our breakfast was healthy and fresh, with muffins and scones just out of the oven, fresh fruit and scrumptious home cooking in a beautiful presentation every morning. The Wine Passport we received at check-in allowed us to taste free of charge at a lot of wineries and we also got a discount on the wines we purchased. Marcia and Tony were extremely friendly and accommodating, we were literally treated like family the moment we stepped in the door. I read many reviewers complaining that the inn is too secluded and far away. If you are enjoying big, shiny hotels in the bustling downtown of a city, then this place is not for you. Would highly recommend to anyone who wants a quiet, romantic getaway. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed at the Old Crocker Inn for only one night, but we loved it! The room was beautiful and the view was fantastic. We had to leave very early to get back to Torrance to celebrate my husband's birthday, but Tony and his wife went out of their way to prepare us a wonderful, hot breakfast.

Yes, the Inn is secluded, but we really enjoyed it. It has a much different feel from Napa. We tasted wine in Geyserville from very small vineyards. Some of the wine was served by the actual wine maker.

We were hoping to fish in the nearby streams, but the water level was too low. So we will return after the rainy season. Fishing and wine- makes for a great vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Crocker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Crocker Inn

Address: 1126 Old Crocker Inn Rd, Cloverdale, CA 95425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Cloverdale
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cloverdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a hunting retreat owned by railroad magnate Charles Crocker in the 1880s, the Crocker Ranch has been a sheep ranch, dude ranch, restaurant and B&B. Tucked into the hillside above Sonoma County's Alexander and Dry Creek Valleys, two of California's great wine appellations, the Old Crocker Inn offers ten guest rooms and cottages, full breakfasts, massage service, a swimming pool and plenty of space to relax. This is rustic luxury at its best, just minutes from Healdsburg and dozens of world-class wineries and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Crocker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Crocker Hotel Cloverdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Crocker Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.