We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Crocker Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Crocker Inn to your Saves list
Old Crocker Inn
1126 Old Crocker Inn Rd, Cloverdale, CA 95425   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Direct and Save!
Ranked #3 of 5 Cloverdale B&B and Inns
Delmont, Pa.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This inn is not easy to find it is set back and you must follow the innkeepers directions so as to not get lost. It looks like an old california ranch. The rooms go around the main inn with a deck all around. We had the Crocker room. It was lovely and large. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. The dining area is very large and airy. The breakfast was very good. They also have a nice pool . If your looking to do a little step back in time enjoy this Inn. Heralds burg is a lovely town close by. Tony will give you a Map of wineries and coupons for free tasting. The area is great if wine is your thing this area is for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    31
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
149
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Inn. It is set at the end of the road among beautiful trees. Our room was the Stanford. What a nice room. There were fresh flowers in the room, candy in a dish, all the amenities you would need in the bathroom and what can I say about the bed. The sheets were so soft and luxurious and the comforter was perfect for a cool night. In the morning our breakfast was cooked only after we were seated. None of this cooked ahead of time and kept warm in chafing dishes. Both breakfasts were superb but if you go I hope the cook makes the Tuscan Scramble, It was to die for. Each evening something home made is put out for the guests to enjoy and the lobby is open 24/7 so you can have coffee, tea or hot cocoa whenever you desire. The owners were on site and available to answer any questions you may have. I would recommend this very highly. It was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of a big city but you can drive to town and the wineries for wine tasting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Old Crocker Inn near Cloverdale. The drive from Napa was beautiful through the small towns and wine countryside. What a treat to get away from the crowds and large groups in Napa and really enjoy the laid back wine region of Northern Sonoma County. The inn is located in the hills about 5 miles from Cloverdale-a perfect location to explore the Dry Creek, Alexander Valley, and Russian River wine areas. There are so many wonderful small and notable wineries in the area that you will need several visits to see them. The inn has this rustic charm and very comfortable accommodations. We stayed in one of the cabins but there are rooms within the lodge. We arrived in the early evening and found that coffee, tea, cold water, and a wonderful fresh cake in addition to other munchies were available in the dining room for guests to access all evening. Marcia brought us wonderful cooked to order breakfast with fresh fruit the next two mornings. The second evening there was a delicious almond cake in the evening for the guests which I will attempt to make myself here at home. Tony will make some suggestions on wineries if asked and offered to arrange a tour of one of the wineries that we might enjoy. We never would have ventured to the end of a dead end road to find Michel-Schlumberger but what a delight it was. The guide spend 2 hours with my husband, myself and another couple, drove us all over the winery, explained the process with the different varietals, and served us 7 different wines for tasting. The Crocker Inn is a place that is convenient to so many wineries or for just relaxing on the porch watching the wild turkeys and deer roam the ranch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapeview, Washington
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay here. It is located up in the hills above town, making it a very quiet location. The lodge is well kept and very clean.

We stayed in the Huntington room, a very large corner room, with an extremely comfortable king bed. Our deck was a great place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the day.

Breakfast was very good. I appreciate that they offered to customize what was being served. Something many B&B's don't offer.

A bit of a drive to go out for dinner but well worth it for the peace and quietness of the location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I you are looking for the typical Wine Country accommodation, this will not satisfy. However, if you crave seclusion or need a kid/pet friendly property at a very reasonable price, this is the ticket.

The property is a rustic ranch setting with a quirky somewhat vintage feel located off the beaten track between Healdsburg and Cloverdale. Our room, the Huntington, featured an over-sized king bed with bamboo sheets. It was a good size and we enjoyed the heritage decor. The bathroom was updated and everything was immaculate. There is a ceiling fan, room-controlled air conditioner, and flat-screen. We were in the main lodge and there is a wide covered verandah running around the entire building. In addition, a second exterior door opened onto a sunny interior courtyard, providing a short-cut to the dining room and lounge. A complimentary pass to 120 wineries is nice but you will need a designated driver to get back to the inn.

We enjoyed our host and it turned out he was originally from our home town. The plated breakfast was delicious and is served at your designated seating time. Service is not slick as noted by another reviewer, but it is in line with the offbeat vibe of the inn. The proprietors are making every effort to give guests freshly prepared, delicious food and if you have to wait a few minutes, it really isn't troublesome. After all, you should be relaxing not clock-watching. B&B's typically have their individual personality and this is no exception. I feel the website photos are very accurate.

Room Tip: Loved the Huntington, very quiet corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed two nights in the Hopkins room. The room was clean and spacious and had a welcoming porch to sit and enjoy the sounds of outdoors. Tony, the proprietor, gave suggestions on wineries and restaurants in the area. Breakfast was wonderful. One morning we had a delicious peach pancake with warm syrup and a non-alcoholic fruit based margarita that was very refreshing. The bathroom could use a little more lighting for ladies applying makeup. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Old Crocker Inn was wonderful we loved ever minute of our stay. My husband and I spent two nights there we were doing what we were calling our California sampler we flew into San Jose and went to Yosemite, Wine Country, San Fransico , and we drove down the Pacfic Highway. Staying at the Old Crocker Inn was the most relaxing part of our trip. Old Crocker Inn is a little bit out of the way it's in Cloverdale CA but it is so worth the drive. When we got to the Inn we were greeted by a very sweet Inn Keeper she gave us a tour of the Inn, and we had a cheese plate and a bottle of wine waiting. Every morning we had a out of this world breakfast and at night there were goodies sitting out to eat. The rooms were clean and nice I loved the claw foot tub. The owners were very nice and gave us some good ideals of what winery's to visit. We drove all around wine country eating and sampling wine. If you are thinking about going here do it!!!! It's like a little country piece of Heaven. We also saw wildlife wild turkeys were just walking around when we would drive out.

Room Tip: We loved Hopkins room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Crocker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Crocker Inn

Address: 1126 Old Crocker Inn Rd, Cloverdale, CA 95425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Cloverdale
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Cloverdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a hunting retreat owned by railroad magnate Charles Crocker in the 1880s, the Crocker Ranch has been a sheep ranch, dude ranch, restaurant and B&B. Tucked into the hillside above Sonoma County's Alexander and Dry Creek Valleys, two of California's great wine appellations, the Old Crocker Inn offers ten guest rooms and cottages, full breakfasts, massage service, a swimming pool and plenty of space to relax. This is rustic luxury at its best, just minutes from Healdsburg and dozens of world-class wineries and fine restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Old Crocker Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Crocker Hotel Cloverdale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Crocker Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.