We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BobDog and Skypine Vineyards and Winery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BobDog Winery

BobDog Winery
31955 Pine Mountain Road, Cloverdale, CA 95425
707 894-4812
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The highest winery in all of this area, and the only winery on Pine Mountain, at 2000 feet above the Russian River and Alexander Valley, overlooking all of Northern Sonoma County from the coast range to Napa and Mendocino Counties. We specialize in personal vineyard and winery tours, very educational and tasty, with the goal of making our guests a better informed consumer on all things wine. BobDog Wines is home at Sky Pine Vineyards, and welcomes you to reserve your personal tour and tasting; a truly unusual and unique wine country experience. Contact us to make a morning or afternoon appointment.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“BobDog and Skypine Vineyards and Winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Visiting the winery and vineyards gives you the perspective of a 'real' family operation in a spectacular setting high above the valley. Tim always adds to my knowledge of wine and shares the real 'dirt' farmer side of making great wine. This is a nice alternative to the packaged pouring room tour and a chance to interact with the grower and owner.

Visited March 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timwbobdog, dirt farmer and vineyard manager at BobDog Winery, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hi Ed: it takes a brave decision to get into the wine business...and I know you are just itching to do that. So stay in touch, we would love to have you as a neighbor here in Sonoma County. If there is anything we can do to further your quest, let us know. Come back for crush...and get your hands dirty,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great wine, great people, beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I were drawn to Bobdog by the allure of panoramic views. Little did we know that there would be so much more to our visit. After making the trek (yes, it's a trek) we had such a great experience that the panoramic views were almost an afterthought.

First, the drive. The owner, Tim, sent us a list of detailed directions which were very helpful. We wound our way up the steep and crooked roads along the mountain. The road turns to gravel, but is paved at its steepest point. Just when you think you can't go any further, you go a little further. By the end, you will be thinking "this better be worth it." Luckily, it is.

Upon arrival, Tim greeted us with his wife and the vineyard dog. He proceeded to give us an informative but engrossing run-through of the vineyard, the winemaking process and the different varietals. He was sure to ask our level of prior knowledge so he could tailor the information. He answered all our questions and it felt more like a great conversation than a tutorial.

Then we moved on to the best part: tasting the wine! Tim asked which types we preferred and catered the tasting based on what he had available. The whole process continued to be educational but fun. We shared conversation not only about wine, but all sorts of topics. It was a relaxed environment that was unlike anything we found in Napa, Sonoma or Healdsburg.

Most importantly: the wine was great! We were on a pretty tight budget but their wines were very reasonably priced (most between $17-$25 per bottle) and the quality was great. We purchased a bottle of their 2010 Mountain Merlot and a bottle of their late harvest Merlot (with a taste akin to a port) but had to stop there to leave room for wines from other wineries.

We will certainly be ordering this wine from our home state on the east coast. They seemed more than happy to accommodate a shipping order of any size.

Overall, it can be very simply summed up as the true essence of a perfect visit to wine country.

Oh, and the view is unbeatable.

Visited March 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timwbobdog, Dirt Farmer at BobDog Winery, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thanks for your detailed analysis of our operation. We have made every effort to emphasize the reality of growing and making wine, rather than keeping it a big myth with lots of fancy words. It has been our experience that people really want to learn more about wine and that learning process is what creates a better customer. Its not secret wine is just a special food, to be enjoyed with food, friends and family. So chin chin. And please bring your wife back, as she has the greatest questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Real Education in the Art of Growing, Making and Tasting Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Each time my wife and I visit the breathtaking Skypine Vineyards and Winery, we are immersed in the 'off the beaten path" experience of real wine grape growing and wine making. Skypine is not a facade where the first thing you want to do is buy trinkets. Rather Skypine is an exceptionally maintained vineyard which, to the observant eye, will the visitors a benchmark with which to compare other farms of the growing regions of Sonoma County. Beyond the fabulous views overlooking the historic Alexander Valley, the real visitor experience occurs when the proprietors, Kandy and Tim, explain the attributes of the various blocks of grapes, the varieties being grown and diverse terra of the farm. Once inside the winery (do not expect glitz), visitors are exposed to the "real world" of artisan wine making. The wine making processes are explained in-depth and the tastings begin. Whether one is new to wine or a truly knowledgeable sommelier, all will come away with new knowledge. The learning environment is relaxed, informal and yet special. And don't expect someone behind a granite counter-topped bar to be pouring with their pinky finger in the air and a white napkin on their arm. Skypine Vineyards, BobDog Wines and Skypine Wines are the real deal.You will not be disappointed.

Visited October 2012

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
1 review
“Good wines,great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have spent many vacations touring California and Oregon wine country but our trip to BobDog vineyard and winery is one of our all time favorites. We were there at first bud but am certain that at anytime of the year Tim varies the tour and you will see and learn what is happening at the vineyard and winery at that point in time. Tim is both the farmer and the wine maker which is an unheard of combination in my experience. A delightful and enlightening experience, and very exceptional wines are being made at the highest elevation for a winery in Sonoma County.

Cristy and Roland

Visited March 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timwbobdog, Farmer of wine grapes at BobDog Winery, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Love to hear those kind words about our little project here on Pine Mountain. Thank you for your appreciation, since we truly do make every effort to create a fun and informative experience. Safe journey to you on your trek home. Come back soon.

Tim Ward for BobDog Wines, home at SkyPine Vineyards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Learning about Wine Tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was so impressed by all the things I learned at BobDog Wines!!! Tim & Kandy are wonderful teachers!! Even though we had gone to other Tasting Rooms, I learned more from them than I had ever known! We have even gone on Wine Tasting excursions in Germany, France, & Italy & never learned as much! Gorgeous setting!!!

Visited March 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timwbobdog, Vineyard Manager at BobDog Winery, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi Larry and Linda: Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. We have as one of our company goals to provide greater consumer education to the public about growing and vinting wines. We ejoyed your company that morning and really like it when there are great questions from our guests, like yourselves.

Please come back again when the vines are in their full splendor, the weather is warm and the grapes are ready for the crush.

Please tell your friends in Alabama about our little winery on the mountain.

Best to you: Tim and Kandy Ward for BobDog Wines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BobDog Winery also viewed

Cloverdale, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to BobDog Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BobDog Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.