We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Education in the Art of Growing, Making and Tasting Wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BobDog Winery

BobDog Winery
31955 Pine Mountain Road, Cloverdale, CA 95425
707 894-4812
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The highest winery in all of this area, and the only winery on Pine Mountain, at 2000 feet above the Russian River and Alexander Valley, overlooking all of Northern Sonoma County from the coast range to Napa and Mendocino Counties. We specialize in personal vineyard and winery tours, very educational and tasty, with the goal of making our guests a better informed consumer on all things wine. BobDog Wines is home at Sky Pine Vineyards, and welcomes you to reserve your personal tour and tasting; a truly unusual and unique wine country experience. Contact us to make a morning or afternoon appointment.
Bend, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Real Education in the Art of Growing, Making and Tasting Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Each time my wife and I visit the breathtaking Skypine Vineyards and Winery, we are immersed in the 'off the beaten path" experience of real wine grape growing and wine making. Skypine is not a facade where the first thing you want to do is buy trinkets. Rather Skypine is an exceptionally maintained vineyard which, to the observant eye, will the visitors a benchmark with which to compare other farms of the growing regions of Sonoma County. Beyond the fabulous views overlooking the historic Alexander Valley, the real visitor experience occurs when the proprietors, Kandy and Tim, explain the attributes of the various blocks of grapes, the varieties being grown and diverse terra of the farm. Once inside the winery (do not expect glitz), visitors are exposed to the "real world" of artisan wine making. The wine making processes are explained in-depth and the tastings begin. Whether one is new to wine or a truly knowledgeable sommelier, all will come away with new knowledge. The learning environment is relaxed, informal and yet special. And don't expect someone behind a granite counter-topped bar to be pouring with their pinky finger in the air and a white napkin on their arm. Skypine Vineyards, BobDog Wines and Skypine Wines are the real deal.You will not be disappointed.

Visited October 2012

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
1 review
“Good wines,great tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have spent many vacations touring California and Oregon wine country but our trip to BobDog vineyard and winery is one of our all time favorites. We were there at first bud but am certain that at anytime of the year Tim varies the tour and you will see and learn what is happening at the vineyard and winery at that point in time. Tim is both the farmer and the wine maker which is an unheard of combination in my experience. A delightful and enlightening experience, and very exceptional wines are being made at the highest elevation for a winery in Sonoma County.

Cristy and Roland

Visited March 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timwbobdog, Farmer of wine grapes at BobDog Winery, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Love to hear those kind words about our little project here on Pine Mountain. Thank you for your appreciation, since we truly do make every effort to create a fun and informative experience. Safe journey to you on your trek home. Come back soon.

Tim Ward for BobDog Wines, home at SkyPine Vineyards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Learning about Wine Tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was so impressed by all the things I learned at BobDog Wines!!! Tim & Kandy are wonderful teachers!! Even though we had gone to other Tasting Rooms, I learned more from them than I had ever known! We have even gone on Wine Tasting excursions in Germany, France, & Italy & never learned as much! Gorgeous setting!!!

Visited March 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timwbobdog, Vineyard Manager at BobDog Winery, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hi Larry and Linda: Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. We have as one of our company goals to provide greater consumer education to the public about growing and vinting wines. We ejoyed your company that morning and really like it when there are great questions from our guests, like yourselves.

Please come back again when the vines are in their full splendor, the weather is warm and the grapes are ready for the crush.

Please tell your friends in Alabama about our little winery on the mountain.

Best to you: Tim and Kandy Ward for BobDog Wines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“BobDog Winery Is Well Worth the Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have been wine tasting in Sonoma and Mendocino Counties for a long time. We found BobDog Vineyards a couple years ago. This is now one of our favorite places to wine taste each time we go up.

You need to call and make an appointment to taste wine. The owners work their small winery and are sometimes busy with the work. The owners are the people who share their wines with you and make your visit far more fun and educational. The wines are very good.

There are two things that make this winery a really fun place to visit. First, the drive to the winery is an adventure. It is a fun drive up the mountain to their winery. You definitely need directions to find it but the drive is well worth it.

Secondly, the personalities of the owners make you feel like friends are sharing their favorite wines with you. It is a very personal and fun experience. This is not the stand in line type of wine tasting. This is one that you will remember.

BobDog Winery is also known as Skypine Vineyards. The web site gives you contact info: http://www.bobdogwine.com/

We will be there again in March so hope to see some of you.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The wine makers did a great job of educating us on the art of wine making. We particularly enjoyed their Cabernet Franc and "port" style wine. View was fantastic...worth the drive!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timwbobdog, Manager at BobDog Winery, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Our greatest joy is introducing our guests to an educational experience about growing and making premium wine, allowing this special place to create that totally unique experience in the wine country. Our guests often are celebrating special occasions like anniversaries, birthdays, and honeymoons. And there is no better place the Sky Pine Vineyards home of Bob Dog Wines. Thank you for your kind remarks, and come back again for that next special celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BobDog Winery also viewed

Cloverdale, Sonoma County
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 
Healdsburg, Sonoma County
 

Been to BobDog Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BobDog Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.