We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Motel Considering Remote Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Cloverdale Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Cloverdale Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Cloverdale Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   324 South Cloverdale Boulevard, Cloverdale, CA 95425   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cloverdale
Sacramento, CA
1 review
“Nice Motel Considering Remote Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Standard Room rates at this Best Western are $100 to $110, a little on the high side, but understandable considering that you would have to drive to Santa Rosa, 30 miles south, to find other comparable accomodations. The rooms are larger than I expected at a Best Western, and appear to be very recently painted. The ground floor rooms are significanty cooler than the second floor rooms (no surprise there), so I recommend asking for a ground floor room; you might be able to get by with less running of the a/c. The a/c units are the standard motel type mounted below the window. The fan is loud, but no worse than average for this type. At least it worked well and cooled the room from 78º to 68º in less than 20 minutes. The room was quite comfortable and has most of the amenities I would ever need, including cable Internet (very nice, and much preferable to WiFi), a worktable actually big enough for two people to work on separate laptops if needed, Microwave oven, 2.5 cubic foot fridge, a bathtub instead of just a shower, a standard king size bed, hairdryer, clothes iron, etc. The decor of the room was kind of upscale, like a Ramada Inn.
Other reviews on this property commented on the phone message light flashing - they still haven't fixed this problem as of Nov. '09. I didn't use the pool as it is now late autumn and too cold for swimming, but it did look clean and well maintained. The breakfast is pretty simple: cereal, milk, hard boiled eggs, juice, coffee, and pre-packaged danish. It was ready by 5:45am, which was very nice, as we needed to hit the road early. Cloverdale is a very small town, and I don't think there is anywhere else to eat breakfast that early within walking distance, so the continental breakfast, while sparse, was better than nothing.
The manager seemd friendly and efficient on our check-in and check-out. I didn't have any problems with the room so didn't have to test management service under adverse conditions.
If you are traveling on business, with your company paying the tab, it's certainly an adequate motel. If your budget is a little tight, there are probably motels in Santa Rosa that run $20~$30 less.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    24
    19
    13
See reviews for
23
34
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lakeport, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

This motel looks fairly new. There is a nice pool, the desk personnel were nice, and the room was very very clean. The only bad thing about this was the bed/pillows. I awoke numerous times during the night and my partner and I both had back pain in the morning. With an upgrade to a better mattress this place would be A+. Breakfast buffet nothing special, but a great sports bar a block away.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

We stayed here for a couple of nights for a mini family reunion in the area. It's a fairly new property; the rooms are quite clean. It is significantly more expensive than comparable BWs we have stayed in just down the road in Eureka but this is wine country so it is probably the most affordable decent accommodations available in the area. Although it is next to 101, we stayed in that wing and didn't hear any noise. We didn't experience any rudeness from the staff or mgmt but they aren't the type that dotes on guests either.

Downsides: the pool was dirty (many dead bugs aside from fallout from the fire); nothing is within walking distance (after being in the car all day, it's nice to stretch your legs), and there just isn't a lot in the area for families with kids to do. (not the fault of the hotel).

If you are planning a stay of more than one night in the area, and cost is not an issue, I'd say go for something with a bit more character and location ...

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

The room itself was clean (we also stayed in 214), but none of the trash cans had bags, the towels were too few, and the tourist/TV information booklets were out of date. The breakfast room was very inconvenient with little selection and several things empty (OJ and milk). The pool was dirty - which was somewhat understandable, given recent fires - but it could have been cleaned. In the room, the air conditioning unit was incredibly loud - thankfully, loud enough to drown the neighbor's TV, but it woke us up every time it went off or on.

This is what I'd expect from a run-down Motel 6, not a pricey Best Western. I was disappointed.

  • Liked — It was convenient for our travel plans, and close to the freeway.
  • Disliked — The price was too high for mediocre accommodations.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Alberta
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

We recently stayed at this property, in order to be close to Anderson Valley and Mendocino area wineries. This property was less expensive than staying in nearby Healdsburg, which is the reason we chose it. The room was adequate, and the location was good for our purposes. We enjoyed the town of Cloverdale and the surrounding area - the area feels less crowded and busy than Napa Valley and more small town America, with little pretension. We found the service at the hotel to be less than satisfactory, especially from the management, and the breakfast was rather poor for its type (self-service, cold continental). We never could get into the sauna/exercise area (advertised as an amenity at the hotel), and we had to ask at the desk for towels for the pool (which wasn't very clean). The hot tub was not working, and looked like it hadn't for some time. The furniture by the pool was in poor condition (cheap quality, broken). I would think twice before booking this hotel again - only if there was nothing else in the price range.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Poor service and responsiveness from management
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

We use this hotel as one night stop between Mendocino and Sacramento. I do not have any major problems with this hotel EXCEPT the bottom sheets! They are not tucked in. They are too short to be tucked in; it makes it hard to sleep

Please, please buy correct size bottom sheets, and make a bed the correct way.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High wycombe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

Room ok but the breakfast was poor, most things had run out and no one was in attendance to refill, and this was at 7am Had to keep on ringing the bell to get assistance. Overpriced for what was provided.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Cloverdale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cloverdale Inn

Address: 324 South Cloverdale Boulevard, Cloverdale, CA 95425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Cloverdale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cloverdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Cloverdale Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cloverdale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cloverdale Hotel Cloverdale
Cloverdale Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Cloverdale Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.