We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad / not good / just very average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn
15135 Lakeshore Dr, Clearlake, CA 95422   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Clearlake
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Not bad / not good / just very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here based on a recommendation from a local resident. Supposedly this is the best hotel in the area. This is not a bad place to stay, it's just not a really good place to stay. So I guess due to the lack of any better places to stay you are stuck staying here. The room itself was large enough and clean although a little dated. I did get a good nights sleep as the area is very quiet. The hotel is in need of an update. Unless they build a new hotel in the area I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    22
    13
    8
See reviews for
30
24
5
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Very clean and comfortable stopover for the money. Would not hesitate to recommend it. One of the best motel overnight places that we have ever stayed, and we are timeshare owners. Although the room was very clean and accommodating, we prefer staying at timeshares for long-term trips.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The hotel or motel whatever they call it is generally clean when we initially check in the first night. It was comforting that it was comfortable and the sheets and towels were white.

However, there seemed to be some problems in their service. We wanted to brew some coffee in the morning but when we got water from their vending machine, there was none. I asked help from the front desk staff but she just helped me get my money back from the vending machine and that was it. There was no breakfast offered though there was a restaurant in the ground floor but it would have better value if free breakfast was provided since Clearlake was a small area and did not have accessible restaurants outside.

When we returned from our activities at the end of the day, we found our room the way they were when they left. We thought they did not make it up as we forgot to put up a sign but we were surprised that they took the trash out, our wet bathroom rug and that's it. Worse, they did not even replace the bathroom rug and left it just empty.

Hope they improve on their service considering that Clearlake is really a small town and if the staff were more accommodating, it would have made our stay better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The room was tired. The furniture was filthy. The room layout was amateurish. It is one of the better hotels in the area, but you may want to consider avoiding staying overnight in the Clearlake area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Nice staff, but the rooms have some minor maintenance issues. Restaurant is adequate for breakfast. When I booked the room online, the room description stated that a continental breakfast was provided, but when checking in we were told they do not offer that service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is one of the nicer ones in Clearlake. The pool was a disappointment, it was small and needed to be cleaner. However, the staff were friendly and the room is nice. We did have a mishap with the smoke detector, however, the staff tried to rectify it quickly. The bed was super comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This property should be called a 'hotel' instead of a motel. It is just beautiful, and the staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant is nice and the prices reasonable. The rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn

Address: 15135 Lakeshore Dr, Clearlake, CA 95422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Clearlake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Clearlake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Grande Hotel Clearlake
Best Western Clearlake
Clearlake Best Western
BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn Lake County, CA - Clearlake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.