We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but noisy at night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn
15135 Lakeshore Dr, Clearlake, CA 95422   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Clearlake
Placerville, United States
1 review
“Good stay but noisy at night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I liked the hotel a lot, good facilities and clean. But there was a lot of outside noise at night that made sleep difficult, drag racing until 2 Am outside the hotel. Otherwise it was a good stay in a nice facility.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    22
    13
    8
See reviews for
30
24
5
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Masterton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Not our best stay. Clearlake, despite the name doesn't much seem like a tourist destination. We got a room on the second floor, with a view of the spa pool, utility area full of junk and a car park.

We couldn't get dinner because they'd had a big Mother's Day event and couldn't be bothered opening the restaurant in the evening.

Wifi service in the room was intermittent at best - I had to go to the lobby to get reliable coverage. The bed was OK but we were kept awake by the antics of a couple in the spa.

Breakfast (not included in the room rate) was tasty enough but large. We were kept entertained listening to some elderly locals discussing the current price and state of the marijuana industry.

Room Tip: Get one on an upper level and away from the spa area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Becky is the manager of this hotel. She has a extremely snotty attitude and will not lift a finger to insure that you enjoy your stay. The hotels Direct TV service was TEMPORARLY INTERUPTED during our stay. Wonder Why. They off no breakfast or coffee in the morning, you can feel the springs in the mattress.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Best hotel in the area. Good value. Very relaxed atmosphere, which is appropriate for the area. Restaurant provides excellent value, but service is average. The whole hotel is dated, but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

It is the only place to stay in clearlake. Locals eat at the restaurant because it is the nicest thing around. I wish they had coffee in the loby for guests. It was almost easier to walk across the street to the gas station for fresh coffee. Comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: 4th floor was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The hotel was very nice it is one of the best ,Best westerns that I have seen. The only thing I did not like was the door on the rear elevator did not close by itself, I had to pull it closed to go up to my room. Later when I wanted to go down the elevator never came and I finally just walked down the stairs. I assume the door would not close by itself and stayed because of that. Other than that the hotel was very clean and the room was fine. Andrea was very helpful in finding me a room that was quite as I was very tiered after a long day. The lack of a full breakfast that is offered at most Best Westerns was a bit of a letdown as I normally take advantage of that. I did go down to eat in the onsite resterant but they did not open till 7: 00 , I needed to be moving before that a I had a job to do in Middletown in the morning. I wound up checking out and stopping at a local place there in Middletown for breakfast. Other than that it was ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Clearlake, Ca does not have many great hotels, but this is one of the better ones....Clean, affordable, personable and conveniently located. We had business matters to attend to and needed to spend the weekend. We enjoyed our stay. Pros: clean rooms, nice staff, restaurant in hotel as well as funky, fun bar....swimming pool also. Cons: room was dated, bathtub paint was coming off, beds were super hard (better in other rooms which we have stayed) a remodel would be nice, but still clean and ok. Thank you for a nice weekend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn

Address: 15135 Lakeshore Dr, Clearlake, CA 95422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Clearlake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Clearlake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western El Grande Hotel Clearlake
Best Western Clearlake
Clearlake Best Western
BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn Lake County, CA - Clearlake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN El Grande Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.