We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clear Lake Cottages & Marina

Save Saved
You added Clear Lake Cottages & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13885 Lakeshore Drive, Clearlake, CA 95422   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Clearlake
Battle Creek
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My job placed me and my crew in Clearlake for a 2 month job. The first night I stayed in Clearlake was a disaster in a nearby hotel. I got on the phone looking for somewhere nicer. We called Clearlake Cottages and Marina and was surprised to hear how nice the staff was and were willing to work with us on long term stays. After arriving I was completely floored by how nice and clean the rooms were and all of the amenities they had to offer. It took about thirty seconds for me to think it over and sign the papers. If I ever make it back to Clearlake I would not stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Not a bad cottage in the bunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    16
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
25
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Island
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

A shame really, as the accommodation was pretty good but as soon as you arrive, the stench of the lake is over powering. You just can't sit outside. Apparently the lake algae hangs around for months and rots on top of the lake. You just can use appropriate words on this site to describe the smell. DO NOT consider visiting Clear Lake unless you ring to check on the condition of the Lake in relation to algae.

The Cottages and marina were nice although well over priced. There are many derelict buildings and jetty's around the lake, not surprising as who would want to stay there.

Look for a better place to stay.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClearlakeCottages, General Manager at Clear Lake Cottages & Marina, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We,as a intimate inn, strive to make each of our guests stay with us a positive experience and are saddened we were not able to provide that for you. We endeavor to meet or exceed the expectations of each of our guests and when have not accomplished this we take each of our guests suggestions on how to improve our inn to heart and do our best to make the changes we can. Guest satisfaction is of the up most importance at our inn!

Unfortunately, you visited our inn when the algae was at it's worst. This happens approximately 20-30 days out of the year. We have taken measures to help alleviate the problem the algae causes and plan to increase our measures with more equipment this summer so that the algae that blooms near the shore of the lake will not have a negative impact on our guests.

We have been in contact with our local officials about this issue on several occasions and have asked them to do more to make our lake just as beautiful on the algae concentrated days as it is during the other 335 days of the year. We ask all visitors who have had a negative experience visiting Clearlake to contact them as well as we feel change will only happen if we are all proactive. We would appreciate you contacting our Water Resources Director, Scott De Leon, at (707)263-2344 and/or our District Supervisor, Jeff Smith, at (707)263-2368.

We hope that you will come visit us again. We would love the opportunity to show you what Clearlake is like the majority of the year! If you would like to discuss this matter further, or have any other suggestions, I would love to hear from you. You can contact me by email at cherie@kilaproperties.com or by phone at (707)995-5253.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here over the 4th of July weekend with some friends of ours
when we checked in on the first night our AC didn’t work but the management took
care of us above and beyond. The place is very clean the pool area is well kept
the staff is great and friendly.
The cottages are very clean and set up very nicely well go back for sure.
And it’s close to some great local wineries
Thanks again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Me and my family had a great time the service was excellent the rooms were very clean the pool was great looking forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We found these cottages to be incredibly clean & comfortable. The property has a great lakefront location and a small beach area. Pool is very clean. Overlooking the lake is a BBQ area with tables & chairs for the use of guests. We stayed in a studio cabin with a very comfortable queen bed. Bed linen and towels all looked brand new. In the separate kitchenette we had a microwave and large coffe maker. We liked the fresh coffee, sugar and creamers that are provided. Loved the way the room has been decorated. The owners, who live on sight, were very friendly & helpful. After seeing some of the other properties in the area we are so glad we chose Clear Lake Cottages.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and a I have been here for about 3 1/2 weeks we will be here for a total of 4 weeks when we check out on july 10th. Its been great I used to live here years ago and this is the only place here that makes it bareable to be in this town thank u to the whole staff everyone has been just awsome. Its very clean and comfortable.but the staff is what makes your stay wonderful. So thank you again Heather and your whole staff u guys are a great team.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My BFF and I spent a great weekend at Clear Lake Cottages & Marina. We used Cottage 14 and it was perfect. There were 2 Queen Beds, one of them in a bedroom and the other in the main living space. Perfect for friends who need their own space and privacy. We also loved the full kitchen, fridge (held plenty of wine) and microwave (makes perfect popcorn).

The staff was SUPER helpful and fulfilled all our requests with a smile. Truly great customer service.

Our favorite part was the pool! It was clean and a perfect for swimming a few laps or just floating around on your inflatable tube reading. The area had several chairs, tables and lounges plus huge beach towels were provided.

Other perks included a 10% discount to a great local restaurant about 5 minutes away, unlimited free DVD's for our viewing pleasure and easy on-line reservation system.

Bottom-line: We didn't want to leave! If BFF didn't have to work on Monday, we would have stayed another night. Planning on going back next week with significant other to enjoy it all over again.

Room Tip: All the cabins are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clear Lake Cottages & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clear Lake Cottages & Marina

Address: 13885 Lakeshore Drive, Clearlake, CA 95422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Clearlake
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Clearlake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Clear Lake Cottages & Marina 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 18 brand-new cottages close to Clear Lake’s shore, plus a boat launch, ten slips, a pier, and our own grassy peninsula (with fantastic views of water and mountains), Lake Escape Resort is the place to stay if you want to fish, play, or just relax on California’s largest freshwater lake. We’re close to town and just minutes by boat to all the fun at Konocti Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Clear Lake Cottages & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina Hotel Clearlake
Clear Lake Cottages And Marina
Lake Escape Hotel
Clear Lake Cottages & Marina Lake County, CA - Clearlake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clear Lake Cottages & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.