We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would not recommend” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13865 Lakeshore Dr., Clearlake, CA 95422   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clearlake
Upland, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“would not recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. There website lists free Wi-Fi , but if your more than 10 feet from the little lobby you cant get the signal and when you do its less than dial-up speed, the continental breakfast is a choice of two dry cereals that you must ask for, the self-serve containers are left empty. The pool was dirty and not usable they skipped cleaning our room one day. The dock was about 6 above the water, If you wanted to pull a boat up to the dock you would need a ladder,, it only takes 2 people and 10 min to adjust the dock height and I know the water level has been that height for over 6 months so no excuse. Many other places in the area to stay I would recommend finding one of them

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviclearlake, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you for your comment, we appreciate your taking the time to post your review. We use your comments to evaluate our Inn and provide additional training for our employees and also the possibilities of future renovations. We apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered while a guest here. We do provide a continental breakfast for our guests between 7:30am and 10:00am each day. The breakfast includes Cereal, oatmeal, cookies, fresh fruits, muffins, pastries, juice, milk and coffee. Our dock is able to be lowered if requested by our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
5
7
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Bay, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

This past Saturday night, my family and I stayed at Highlands Inn. We choose this Inn based on the photos we saw on the internet. However, upon arrival, nothing could have prepared us for the overwhelming smell coming from the lake. Locals said it was beacuse of dead fish and seaweed but this was a definite smell of sewage. We visibly witnessed what looked like a mass of feces surrounding the boardwalk. It was disgusting. When I asked the owner about it, he said they pay a fee every month that is supposed to be used to blow this matter away. I don't know how people can live with such a pong on a daily basis. Our room smelled of disinfectent and cigarette smoke and the carpet was dirty. We also thought it was overpriced. We did enjoy a meal at the local Corkman's Clipper which is owned by a genuine Corkman all the way from Ireland. There is an extensive menu of Irish food and a great selection of beers, ales and the likes.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2007

Upon entering the room with my wife we discovered an odor reminiscent of old cream cheese and sweaty feet. My wife and I opened the windows, turned on the AC, and took a walk to the hotel dock. When we came back to our room five minutes later. The windows were closed and the AC was turned down. The manager had gone in our room and shut the windows.

Later that night my wife and I went to join friends for dinner. Suspecting that the sly and rude manager would come back in our room-I took several digital pics of my suitcase closed, and placed tiny torn pieces of kleenex on the zippers. When I returned to the room - it was obviuos that someone had entered the room and had rummaged through my suitcase.

I was furious and confronted the manager the following morning. we left for Ferndale Resort the next morning

Bottom line... this hotel is seedy, overpriced, and in a bad part of town.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clearlakeheron, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 22, 2009
Dear Our Guests,

We are deeply embarrased and apologetic that we were reviewed as overall unspeakable lack of supervision and mismanagement in regards to the efforts must have been extended to the comfortness and satisfaction of accomodating guests however, we had failed to this respect.
This incident was absolutely unexcusable
regardless whatever resons and we are honestly apolozise that the described complaints were immediately corrected.
In order for us to show you our improvements.

Subsquent to your review was published, we
have made continued efforts to correct and
to remove the defficiencies.

Lastly we are sincerely apolozising for all the
unpleasant, dissatisfaction and inconviniences which we have caused you in
the past and look forward to serve you in the future with satisfactory services.

We also apolozise for belated response to your honest and helpful reviews.

Most respectfully yours,

Highlands Inn

Mike Mun, Manager and entire staff

Encl.: Attachments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calif.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2006

This hotel characterizes itself as upscale. It's about as upscale as a Motel 6 at the price rate of a Hilton chain hotel. Grossly mis-represented.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 13865 Lakeshore Dr., Clearlake, CA 95422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake County > Clearlake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Clearlake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best value Inn & Suites is located at the west end of the City of Clearlake. We are a lakefront location with a private fishing pier. We are close to dining, wineries, Casinos,Golf Courses, State Parks and we have lake recreation on site. We are about an hour and a half from Calistoga and Napa Valley, 2 1/2 hours from San Francisco and Sacramento. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake County, CA - Clearlake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.