We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place To Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Claremont

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel Claremont to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Claremont
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 West Foothill Blvd, Claremont, CA 91711   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Instant Getaway
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Claremont
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Nice Place To Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The Doubletree was in a good location with a variety of restaurants nearby. The rooms were nice and appeared to have been updated recently. I had reserved their "larger" king room and it was fairly large but it was what I would have expected a regular king room size to have been. It was fine for the 2 days that I was there. The bed was very comfortable and had plenty of pillows! There was a small balcony which I couldn't enjoy due to the rain that was coming down. The bathroom door had a large opaque glass inset so if you were sharing a room it left some privacy but not as much as if it had been a solid door. The bathroom itself was nice but there was no where to hang any clothes. The only place to hang anything was right at the edge of the shower. The restaurant on site was good but was on the expensive side. I found it cheaper to order off the menu than it was to get the buffet breakfast. The staff were all very pleasant. All in all I would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back if you want it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    174
    39
    27
    15
See reviews for
173
73
33
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Was not accomodating for a late checkout, even on Sunday! Sounds from adjacent rooms excessive. otherwise staff was helpfull, location is great, within walking distance of DT Claremont and easy access to US 210.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for an anniversary getaway. Great location in terms of being close to restaurants, the Claremont village, the colleges, etc. The rooms are well-appointed, fairly up-to-date, and clean. We booked the "larger" king-size bed room, and while not very spacious to be sure, the room was fine for what it was. Nice swimming pool and jacuzzi, too.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the mountains (the rooms on the third floor). Some can be a bit noisy depe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very convenient and comfortable. Room was well appointed but the bathroom was a little small. Check in staff was very friendly and the restaurant was perfect for a family of 4 with very varied tastes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Convenient for us off the highway since we are stopping before we reach Seattle. Location quiet, staff friendly, rooms great, bed comfortable. If you need a spa day it's available too along with a nice restaurant on site. Will definitely stop back on our way back to Florida

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Gmama65,

We really appreciate you responding to us in how convenient the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont was for you before reaching Seattle. It is located right between the 10 and 210 Freeways which does make it very convenient.

Good to hear that you liked the location and it was quiet and our staff was friendly. Yes our Serta mattresses make for a good night sleep and are very comfortable.

Our Essentials Day Spa & Salon is open 6 days a week for our guest and local residents as well as our Orchards restaurant which is open 7 days a week, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.

We definitely look forward to having you stay with us again on your way back to Florida.

Kind regards,
Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I'm a Claremont Graduate University student who has since moved across the country, and I always stay here when I return for school business. You can easily get a decent price on a hotels web site (approx. $100 a night, sometimes!), and the hotel is clean and easily accessible. I've never eaten at the restaurant or bar, but you don't have to, because Claremont has a wonderful variety of establishments within walking distance. The sliding door on the bathroom is a little weird, but livable; also, the coffeemaker didn't exactly produce great brew, but there's a little coffee and smoothie bar (The Spot) around the corner that is highly recommended. Couple that with the fact that Trader Joe's is right next door, and you're set for food in a hurry. The room has a fridge, so it's easy to grab a couple of salads and sodas and settle in for work or relaxation if you wish. Highly recommended for travel to Claremont!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hello kjveach,

Thank you for the kind words about the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont Hotel yes it is in great proximity to Claremont Graduate University.

Hopefully next time you stay with us you have time to try our Orchards restaurant on property out the food is very good and reasonably priced with great daily specials.

Glad you had the opportunity to try the little coffee and smoothie bar (The Spot) around the corner its very good.

Yes Trader Joe's is right next door and our guests do love that, always great for that food on the go and being fresh is even better.

All of our rooms do have a refrigerators in them and microwaves can be offered based on availability on request.,

We look forward to having you stay back with us again when visiting CGU.

Kind regards,
Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I was impressed with all aspects of the hotel and location. The grounds are gorgeous, even in the winter. The rooms are quiet and it was an enjoyable stay. Matt did an outstanding job with the check in process and chose a wonderful room. If ever in the area again for business, i will choose this location and recommend it to others. There is a great little village with shops and restaurants close by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear FanofRomo;

First of all let me say I love your name that is too fun!

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy day to write such a great review of your most recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont.

I am glad that you were impressed with all aspects of the hotel and location. We do take pride in our grounds and am glad to hear you thought they are gorgeous, even in the winter.

I have passed on you kind words to Matt and let him know that he went above and beyond in insuring that he chose the perfect room for you and this is what makes our guest return; he does an amazing job here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont so thank you for noticing.

Yes the Claremont downtown village is great with many shops and restaurants close by.

We look forward to having you back with us!

Happy Holidays,

Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Claremont

Address: 555 West Foothill Blvd, Claremont, CA 91711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Claremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Claremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Claremont 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Claremont
Claremont Doubletree
Claremont Inn California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Claremont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.