We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“classy place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Claremont

Save Saved
You added Doubletree Hotel Claremont to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Claremont
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 West Foothill Blvd, Claremont, CA 91711   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Instant Getaway
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Claremont
GreenLeadersGold level
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“classy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Very happy with my stay, great service....Good chain brand, clean, comfortable nice location and has a California feel to it. Close to all. nice location. good restaurants walking distance from hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear thepri,

Thank you for the kind remarks of your most recent stay with the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont Hotel. We are glad to hear that you were very happy with your stay, and the great service you received.
Hilton is an excellent chain, brand, and we do feel that the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont is a very comfortable place to stay and in a great location.
We look forward to having you back with us again hopefully very soon.
Happy Holidays!
Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    142
    33
    21
    11
See reviews for
144
62
30
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Widen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a big problem upon check-in with the front desk woman. The big woman at the check-in counter was very rude and extremely unfriendly, that day was 103 F maybe the heat got to her a bit, we totally dislike her poor attitude working as a front desk lady.
At first, she can't located our reservation, then she told us we can't change room - We had booked a none smoking room with a king size bed, but we were giving a smaller double bed room, not to mention the room smells bad (we can leave the window open while running the A/C try to cool off the room while outside temp. is 103F..
We had lots of luggages but there's bellboy at this hotel to help us with our luggages.
Our room was located at the far end of the facility, it was a long walk to get there,by the time we were in our room, we were so angry and sweaty!

We dislike the color of the room - from light dirty brown to dark horror brown! The bed was so uncomfortable I can feel the springs poking my body.
There were loud ventilation noise in the bathroom which can't be fixed or turned off! One of the hotel staff told us all the room in this hotel has the same noise. Reeeeeally !!!

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for a wedding event, we hated everything in this hotel except the little restaurant. The food is not fancy but the friendly staff made this place felt adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello Suzycutie1212,

First of all thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review on the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont. I am very sorry to hear of the mishap that you had upon check in. This is not our standard at all and I am very surprised of hearing of the poor attitude. This will be addressed and discussed further with our front office manager so no further incidents like this occur.

All of our rooms are configured a little differently and we try to accommodate our guest to the best of their needs, our apology this was not to your liking.

We do certainly hope that you would give the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont the chance if you are ever back in our area again to really show you what we do pride ourselves on and that is outstanding customer service.

With kindest regards,

Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Good hotel, clean, comfortable nice location and has a California feel to it. Stayed here when we visited the 5 colleges. Close to town nice location. Did not eat at hotel, good restaurants walking distance from hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Steve08california,

We appreciate your feedback in regards to your liking of the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont and the proximity to the Claremont Colleges.

Yes there are many restaurants that are within walking distance which makes it very convenient for our guest, even including having Trader Joes in our parking lot.

Look forward to having you stay with us again.

Warm regards,
Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Have you ever been relieved to find a great full service hotel for regular business trips to the same location? Super fast and free WiFi, clean quiet well appointed rooms, a well outfitted fitness facility... sounds good so far.... Then you come across one detail, which you ignore as you think it might be an off day. But then the same irritating problem keeps reoccurring all week and ruins the whole experience. It even becomes the joke of the regular weekly business guests who openly talk about it while dining at the adjoining Buca De Beppo in the adjoining property. Why are regular hotel guests not dining at the hotel...?

After your initial positive experience of what is a great hotel, you might encounter the hotel bar and restaurant. You will stroll in after a tough day at work hoping for a drink only to wait with five other travelers wondering why the three staff members are telling jokes behind the door. Or maybe you will walk into breakfast where three employees are "hanging out" while the shift supervisor is forced to wait all the tables by himself for four consecutive mornings. Or perhaps you will walk down at 10pm for a light snack and the waitress tells you to call room service, then when you do 3 minutes later, it's the same person on the phone taking your order.... Great hotel, but requires a massive cleanup of their food and beverage. That is a one point deduction.

The second deduction point is for showing up at 2:45pm after a 9 hour flight and 90 minute car ride from LAX and attempting to check in. I am told, "we are not allowed to check anyone in until 3pm, why don't you have a drink at the bar". I asked if rooms are available and she stated, "yes but I'm not allowed to check anyone in until 3pm". Then I went to the bar and encountered a 10 minute wait for a drink with three others who were also waiting..... Sounds like a vicious cycle because it is. I probably would have forgotten about this experience if it wasn't for the restaurant.

I think it's time for the GM to follow his regular guests and see how much food and beverage revenue he/she is losing by a poorly managed restaurant.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear MKristian,

It is a real shame to read your feedback on the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont Hotel that this was your experience of the Hotel. This review has been discussed with our restaurant manager as well as our management team. This is not our standard operating procedures at all and will not be tolerated.

These concerns have been addressed as The DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont will not tolerate this type of customer service, nor should our guest have this type of experience so our sincere apology.

Just to reference at this time Year to date The DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont Hotel is ranked #23 out of over 250 DoubleTree Hotels in the United States. So hopefully you can see we do not take issues like this lightly.

If I can be of further assistance or would like to discuss further I would really like the opportunity to speak with you. You can reach me at my direct # 909-445-1824.

We do hope that you do give us the chance to really show you what The DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont is truly about.

Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

There are not many choice of hotels in Claremont Colleges area and we chose Doubletree for its great location and reasonable room rate. However, it came to my surprise on the overall value for money that this hotel deserved the positive feedback. The lobby is spacious and the staff are friendly, but as they were always busy not many point of personal contact (only good but not GREAT yet). The room was clean, well maintained and the bed was comfortable. The wi-fi was fast. We stayed here 2 times first we got a room on a ground floor with small patio opened to the garden consequently there was a big bug in our bathtub. Our next stay we got the room on the 3rd floor all was in good condition. The pool area was well looked after. The garden and the ground around the building was nice. Overall I like this hotel for its comfortable and well maintained environment, as well as its convenient location near the college.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Greetings Bibi548,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont.

I am glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and the hotel grounds as we do pride ourselves on insuring our hotel grounds are to perfection.

Being close to the Claremont Colleges are also a plus when coming out to visit your child or looking for a college.

We look forward to having you back with us again. If I can be of any further assistance please reach out to the sales office and we would love to assist you.

Warm regards,

Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widen, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

What should one report? You're in CA and you get a hotel room for just over $120 per night. Reason to be happy. Sometimes. In our case, not so sure. First off, the experience of check-in was very unpleasant to say at least. The front desk clerk admitted that their reservation system was at fault, but she was unable to fix it. 2nd, the rooms are dark and very dated. The bathroom was equipped with some kind of a noisy draft fan that ran continuously, without the possibility to be shut down, not even by hotel maintenance staff. During the day, garden maint. personnel used their gas powered blowers for hours, adding more noise and dust to the scene.
The upsides ? Good question. The staff in the restaurant are very friendly, and the property itself would offer a nice setting, were it not for the noise that lingers around everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Mike D,

I am sorry to hear that you did not have a very pleasant experience here with the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont. These details will be discussed with our management team of your mishaps as this is not the normal for our service as you can see by most of our comments on Trip advisor.
These concerns are not acceptable within our hotel policies and procedures so again these will be addressed with our management.
As for the noise concerns that you heard sometimes things like this are out of our control but we do have a no noise policy in place. So if there is a continued complaint by a guest we do make a phone call to the room making the noise and if it is continued they are asked to leave the property.
Thank you for the nice comments on the staff of the restaurant, this will be forwarded onto the team.
We do hope you give the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont another chance to really share our outstanding customer service and our attention to details that we do pride ourselves on.
Kindest regards,
Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel before on trips to the greater Los Angeles area. Overall the property is excellent. Well maintained, clean, customer service is top notch. My biggest complaint is the restaurant. The service is very slow (multiple tries, same result) and not very good. Foo dis not bad but nothing special. The hotel and the associated amenities are well above average, some attention needs to be paid to training in the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovemyjob_10, Director of Sales at Doubletree Hotel Claremont, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear BuzzCzar,

I want to thank you for taking the time out of your day to make these comments in regards to your recent stay with us here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Claremont.
We do value our guest concerns and appreciate the feedback so we can always look at ways to improve our service and attention to details.
Sorry to hear that the restaurant was not to your satisfaction the last couple of times, we will address this with our Restaurant manager.
We do look forward to having you back and if there is anything we can do to make your experience better please do reach out to the management team upon your return.
Warm regards,
Shirlene Maldonado
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree Hotel Claremont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Claremont

Also Known As:
Doubletree Claremont
Claremont Doubletree
Claremont Inn California
Address: 555 West Foothill Blvd, Claremont, CA 91711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Claremont
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Claremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Claremont 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Claremont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Claremont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.