We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay instead at the Doubletree” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa 425

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casa 425 to your Saves list
Hotel Casa 425
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   425 West First Street, Claremont, CA 91711   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Claremont
Portland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stay instead at the Doubletree”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here with daughter for move in weekend at The Claremonts. Pulled covers back to get into bed late the first night only to discover large croissant crumbs in the bed. Called the front desk and about 15 minutes later the man at the desk brought fresh sheets and tried to hand them to us. He did come in to make the bed once he realized we would not be changing the bed ourselves though he had not brought pillowcases as he didn't realize we would want those changed as well. It was another 15 minute wait for the pillowcases. During our two night stay, the staff did not make an effort to be helpful or welcoming which was a surprise given that Casa 425 is a small boutique hotel in the lovely charming college town that is Claremont. We have always stayed at The Doubletree and we were looking forward to treating ourselves to a stay here. We are locked into staying here for graduation next May (3 night minimum, no refunds, higher nightly rate) because we booked it before our dirty linen stay. In the meantime, it's the Doubletree for us. Management's response to our unchanged linens? 10% off the first night. With my protest, she gave me 20%. Go for the Doubletree.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    48
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
59
41
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for a college visit and she loved it. I agree with cyberdouglas that it is starting to show it's age. I think a little TLC and attention to faucets etc. will bring this boutique property back to life. The room is very modern and the glass windows overlooking the courtyard and mountains were just great. No bell-service, which wasn't too much of a problem for us. Really nice complimentary breakfast put out nice and early for those of us still on east coast time. Built around a lively courtyard, but we were not disturbed by noise at all. Love the town, too. Oh, and friendly staff, also.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

In the heart of Claremont Village, this hotel is an awesome place to stay while visiting kids at the Claremont Colleges. Rooms are comfortable and pleasantly updated with modern contemporary amenities and comfortable tempurpedic beds. Rooms and common areas are clean. And, the staff is amazing, helpful, and accommodating!

Room Tip: 2nd floor room are great. Room 206 can be a little noisy as it backs up to The Back Abbey Pub and R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I've stayed here for business about 4-5 times over the last 5 years. It's a nice place. The hotel is layed out around a central courtyard and is very open.

The pluses: it has a central location and is walkable to bars and restaurants; the rooms are fairly large and open. It's a boutique-style hotel in its overall design.

The minuses: something on my last visit gave me the feeling that despite a fairly high price-point for Claremont, the hotel is trying to cut costs. I know they've done this for a few years, but it still bugs me: the shampoo/conditioner/gel dispenser in the shower -- the kind of shower dispenser at your local gym. Boutique hotels always make a point of featuring the kind of bath products they provide. But, you're never going to know what products you're using here because even the hand soap is in a dispenser. Speaking of the sink: the control for the cold water wasn't even fastened to the countertop -- so every time I tried to turn on the cold water the entire control turned (irritating). And the bathroom's countertop (a Caesarstone-type material) hadn't been cleaned properly or has become irrevocably stained --either way, it didn't leave me with a good feeling. The TV setup is strange: there's a cable-type box along with the TV -- both need to be turned on separately -- and the channel navigation is something I had to spend time trying to figure out. My big peeve is that breakfast is only served from 7-9am. I showed up at 9:02 and it was cleared down. The last time I stayed, the breakfast was nothing to get excited about but I don't think serving coffee and cereal until 10am is too much to ask.

I know it seems as if I'm being a little critical. And if I was staying at a run of the mill (and cheaper hotel), I wouldn't expect as much as I do from a boutique hotel. Again, it's a nice place, but nothing special and could certainly use some more boutique touches.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los altos
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Casa 425 is a very special place. This boutique hotel is well located in the middle of Claremont Village. Service is great, breakfast is lovely, and the room amenities are just right. The outdoor lounge is very animated (at least on the Friday night I was there).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Superb customer service, warm and friendly staff who made a business trip fun! Arrived early for check-in, no worries waiting due to beautiful lobby (Lounge 425) and free WiFi. Beautiful room, 312 (spa room), third floor (only three floors at Casa 425) clean and amazing views from the front door. Room great to relax in - spa tub (you can pull the spa tub curtains for privacy when taking a bath/another person can watch tv with no worries), pvt bathroom for toliet and shower, comfortable bed, refrigerator, coffee machine, water, etc. Staff very helpful with directions of activities to do in Claremount Villiage (visited The Black Abbey for dinner - wonderful, Crepes de Paris - excellent food, Packing House Wine Merchants - great customer service/wine selections). There is a free parking garage directly across the hotel, no issues with parking/feel safe at all times. Stayed on a Wednesday and Thursday, no issues with noise from my room, Thursday night was busy with young and older customers who had been visiting the outdoor patio/Lounge 425 for food and drinks, including myself - great place to kick back and relax (fire pits, water fountatins). There is a back gate from the outdoor patio to get to The Blacy Abbey, restaurants, shops in claremount village and/or the movie theatre (Laemmie 5). Truly Casa 425 is an excellent boutique hotel for couples, for business travel and/or solo individuals.

Room Tip: Corner room, third floor, front door facing the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel on four occasions and it meets all the standards and necessary requirements to be a great boutique business hotel. Fast wireless Internet, large work space, full bar and restaurant and an early breakfast. They've done an awesome job in the finish out and it was my first time in a Tempurdic bed. Also, this hotel could be a great place for a romantic getaway with a giant soaker tub in the middle of the room.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor near the ends of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa 425? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa 425

Address: 425 West First Street, Claremont, CA 91711
Location: United States > California > Claremont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Claremont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Casa 425 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa 425 is a stylish boutique hotel and lounge opening onto a tranquil courtyard in the heart of historic Claremont Village, California. Located on the town square, within steps of fine restaurants, cafes, boutiques, art galleries and the prestigious Claremont Colleges, Casa 425 is the only sophisticated boutique hotel in Southern California's Inland Empire, a short drive from Ontario International Airport. Casa 425 is your home away from home, for business or pleasure, for drinks or the night: OUR HOUSE IS YOUR HOUSE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casa 425 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa 425 Claremont
Casa 425 Hotel Claremont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa 425, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.