We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good, casual Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aruffo's Italian Cuisine

Aruffo's Italian Cuisine
126 Yale Ave, Claremont, CA 91711-4722
909-624-9624
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 106 Restaurants in Claremont
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Chef Tom & Valerie established Aruffo Italain Cuisine in the Claremont Village 28 years ago, it's been a Claremont Village "Best Place to Dine Out". Tom and Valerie's delicious selections of regional Italian specialities is inspired by their Italian Roots. Aruffo's menu highlights the bounty of artisan and house made ingredients, daily baked Italian bread, fresh pasta's, ocean fresh seafood, angus steaks, free-range poultry and veal. Influenced by farm to table, artisan foods, and authentic italian ingredients, their passion for exceptional italian cuisine is present in their signature bold Italain flavors with a refined twist.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always good, casual Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Good value, nice service, full bar. Food is consistently good and atmosphere is nice. Not stuffy. Good place for a group.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The tortillini was fair, the ceasar salad awful and the bread massive with cold tomato sauce in the center was not anything to write home about. I did like the atmosphere and the waiter was pleasant.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Italian food at it best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is the 'special' place to impress that special person. Soothing atmosphere, great food and wine.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Cal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good value for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

As of 2012 this restaraunt has been a Claremont staple for 28 yrs. If this plce wasn't good it wouldn't have lasted in the village for so long. I went there with my elder family who are super food finicky and they loved it. For the quality of the food I would expect it to be priced higher. But I think it's a terrific value for what you get. Good wine list too. Food is delicious!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We were drawn to this restaurant by its attractive interior, nice menu and convenient location on Yale Avenue ("Main Street") in downtown Claremont. We were very disappointed, however, by our dining experience. There were six of us dining, and we were seated at a too-small table, which made things uncomfortable. The service seemed "disinterested," and the food was mediocre at best. The final substandard detail was a dirty restroom (which we reported to one of the waiters). Very, very disappointing.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aruffo's Italian Cuisine also viewed

 
Claremont, CA
 

Been to Aruffo's Italian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aruffo's Italian Cuisine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.