We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For More Established Folks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walter's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Walter's Restaurant
310 Yale Ave, Claremont, CA 91711
909-624-2779, 909-624-4914
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 107 restaurants in Claremont
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
alta loma
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“For More Established Folks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Walter's has a large menu with prices above average: ten dollars for a hamburger. The service is good, but the layout is strange so if you have difficulty walking let them know. The place is usually busy with more established clients. It appears a good place for parents to take their children who attend the local universities. The food is good, but don't expect gourmet meals. Parking was a problem as the nearby lot was full. I would rate Walters as a place to go to meet friends and not as a place to do business. A safe choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    26
    26
    8
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
socal
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Always a Good Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Walters is one of those good "standby" restaurants. The food and service is always good and the outdoor patio provides a lovely ambience. The home baked french baguette always comes out warm at breakfast, lunch or dinner. We had chili and salads on our most recent visit but there are many good options to choose including some afghan dishes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A short walk from the village center, I had a nice breakfast. Sit in the patio area, if possible; it's not really an outdoor patio but is still comfortable.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food, fabulous coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had breakfast at Walter's on a Saturday morning. We chose to sit inside, although most diners were out on the lovely patio. I think this made a little bit of difference to the speed of our service, since the same waitress had both sections, and she had to go back and forth between the two. Since the patio had more diners, they got a bit more attention. Other than that, our service was excellent. I just felt sorry for the waitress racing back and forth. Food was fantastic, good size portions, good variety in the menu. Coffee was some of the best I've had in a restaurant, and I am VERY picky about coffee. We'll definitely eat there again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Ate lunch at Walter's Friday, April 12 with a group. Everyone agreed the food was delicious. I had the Lamb Burrito ($14) which was a little 'too' Mexican with too much cheese and beans. The lamb was delicious and I ate the meat, leaving the cheese and beans. The Afghan fries are sliced potatoes, battered and deep fried. Very substantial. Those of my group that had lamb dishes raved about how well cooked the meat was.
We ate on the covered patio which was very pleasant with a water feature and lots of light. Service was very good considering the size of our group (20).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walter's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Walter's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walter's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.