We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as it was, but still good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Back Abbey

Back Abbey
128 Oberlin Ave, Claremont, CA 91711-4620
909-625-2642
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 107 restaurants in Claremont
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Claremont, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not as good as it was, but still good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Back Abbey is still a great place to go but my wife and I haven't enjoyed it as much as we used to. Of course the fries are great, and burgers are solid. If you haven't been there, it is worth going, Don't expect Bud, Miller or Coors. It's all euro beers with specific glasses for that beer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    49
    33
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best eats in Claremont”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely the best eats in Claremont - as well as a great place for a beer. Staff are super friendly, decor very cool. Food and beer superb. Burgers are the best in town. A little piece of city in the country. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It's the Duck Fat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Met up with a friend to have lunch and it was a great experience. I had the Schnitzel salad and here is the website's description:

"Breaded pork loin fried in duck fat. Topped with a sweet & tangy salad of endives, arugula, frisee, red grapes & red sweet sauerkraut. Dressed in our apple cider vinaigrette"

And their Pommes Frites or fries are to die for:

"Fresh Kennebec potatoes fried once in duck fat and once in Canola oil, then served with horseradish chive sauce, roumelade and ketchup"

I think the duck fat makes all the difference! Will be back the next time I visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Suds and Smiles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a beer bar. I had a light Bavik and my husband had a medium Zwickl, both on the advice of our friendly waitress. Delicious burgers. I had a veggie with portobello mushroom, eggplant, red pepper on a brioche bun...yum. Don't miss the pommes frites...half order shared was plenty for the two of us. Loud jazzy music, concrete topped tables; we'll be back soon! Our tab with a generous tip was $53.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Duck fat fries fall flat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I heard this was the best place one earth for a burger and fries. I will admit I am not a huge burger lover, but what killed it was the slime from the duck fat fries (this is the only way they make them) on my teeth. Service was slow, drinks good, but overall not a winner for me. Eureka burger is better and does not have weird fries.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back Abbey also viewed

 

Been to Back Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back Abbey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.