We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Enter a caption for your photo
Gingerland
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tegan F
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very helpful owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Unfortunately we were unable to stay in the Yellow cabin due to a double booking. However the owners were very helpful and arranged alternative accommodation for us to stay in. They also arranged car rental for us and were generally very helpful throughout the whole process.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2014
Tegan,

We appreciate your review. Thank you for being so understanding about the double booking. We are disappointed that you did not get to experience our lovely accommodation but we extend an invitation to come back and do so in the future. We wanted to ensure that you were well taken care of on your stay so I am happy that you appreciated the effort we made. I hope you had a wonderful vacation and we hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
paul r
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“just as good as we hoped”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Yellow Cabin with my wife in February 2014. The photos looked great and I can honestly say that the cabin is as good as it looks. You should be aware that it is not in walking distance from the sea, indeed it is out in the bush on the slopes of mount Nevis and you definitely need a hire car. Good hire car deal from Striker's who also own the yellow cabin. The nearest house is three or four hundred yards away. Semi wild donkeys roam about, along with humming birds, green vevert monkeys, and a very friendly Caribbean Robin who spent most of the day pecking his image in the wing mirror of our hire car!
Tezel looked after us really well - for example I asked about a barbecue and a few hours later a new one magically appeared. The internet connection was quicker than we encountered in any hotel in the Caribbean.
Very positive report on the Botanical Gardens and the Horatio Nelson museum which I will review separately.
If you are looking for somewhere special which is clean and remote you cannot improve on the yellow cabin!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Secluded paradise
Liked least: no real problems. The access track was very rough
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2014
Paul,

Thank you for such a beautiful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and we loved having both of you. As with all guests we try to make your stay with us as relaxing and enjoyable and go the extra mile to ensure we make it a memorable one.

Thank you for the lovely drawing of the Yellow Cabin. It is absolutely beautiful! We are delighted that you were inspired to do draw it and we have gladly framed and displayed it there for everyone to see.

Looking forward to you visiting us again. All the Best!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
alvanique
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tranquil Haven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We were a bit reserved booking a cabin away from the beach (as the beach is top of the list on a Caribbean holiday). However this was the best decision of our holiday. The little yellow cabin is just what it says on the tin. It is nestled in a quiet village in the tranquil island of Nevis and is the perfect place for a relaxing and refreshing holiday.

The cabin in fully furnished with all the amenities you would expect in an top hotel. Fresh fruits greeted us on our arrival along with a fridge stocked with Carib the local beer and water.

Although located away from the beach, in Nevis beaches are never more than a short drive. And with the discount on a vehicle with the cabin rental we were ready to explore the rest of the island.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The service, The authentic carribbean feeling of the cabin
Liked least: that we evntually had to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We absolutely loved having you and your guest and look forward to you visiting us again. We tried to ensure that everything was perfect for your stay and from your review it seems like it was. All the best to you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Mary P
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, great place for a very good price. I highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The Yellow Cabin is comfortable, clean accommodation and modestly priced. We would definitely stay there again!!

The owners were very attentive to our needs. We got in late had to take the last ferry over from St. Kitts, we were met by Tazel at the port taken to the cabin (I don't think we would have found it in the dark). Our rental car was at the cabin. They had stocked fridge with bottled water, fruits and coffee/tea (which was great; need my coffee in the mornings). Thank you Tazel. :)

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2014
Mary,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Yellow Cabin. We absolutely loved having you and your guest and look forward to you visiting us again. We tried to ensure that everything was perfect for your stay and from your review it seems like it was. All the best to you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
timrabonj...
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house and grounds on Nevis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife, myself, and our young child enjoyed a wonderful two night stay at this great little house. It had everything that we needed to make our time enjoyable. The owners were very friendly and made sure that all of our needs were met. We were surprised to find some fresh fruits and beverages waiting for us. We highly recommend this little oasis on the beautiful island of Nevis!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The unique decor and architecture of the house
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2013
Tim
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us at the Yellow Cabin. We absolutely loved having you and your guest and look forward to you visiting us again. We tried to ensure that everything was perfect for your stay and from your review it seems like it was. All the best to you and your family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Merwyn R
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Winter Escape - COLD BOSTON MA VERSUS WARM AND SUNNY NEVIS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

It was dead cold winter in the North East and I was looking for a short get away on sunny Nevis and found The Yellow Cabin which was just right for my budget. I have stayed at numerous big name hotels, and quite frankly, at The Yellow Cabin, hospitality and ambience is second to none.

Upon arrival in St. Kitts /Nevis, I was transported to “STRIKERS CAR RENTAL & AUTO,” picked up my rental vehicle and then escorted to The YELLOW CABIN and given a tour of the fully fenced facility. My goodness! I was greeted with fresh fruits, water, local beers and wines. I wasted no time and jumped started my seven day stay with an ice cold “SKOL” beer!

The facility was exceptionally clean, bed well made and exceedingly comfortable. The air was fresh and tranquil. I visited the local beaches and bars, and historical places of interest, all in close proximity about 20 -30 min drive from The YELLOW CABIN.
The “WIFI” worked very well, and I was able to chat using my IPHONE “Apps” SKYPE and Magic Jack, while sitting under the “GAZEBO” with a few friends eating a home cooked meal and sipping on red wine.

The final, couple hours of my stay was a bit traumatic! I forgot the lights on in the Rental Car and ended up with a dead battery. A quick phone call and the folks from “Strikers Car Rental and Auto” were to my rescue in less than 20 min. Amazing service!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location, ambience and cleanliness of the property
Liked least: Everything met my expectation.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We absolutely loved having you and your guest and look forward to you visiting us again. We tried to ensure that everything was perfect for your stay and from your review it seems like it was. All the best to you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jmcke1nd
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What a GEM! Better than we could have hoped.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

The yellow cabin is such a good deal. I can't believe how it met and exceeded my expectations. The family that owns it (as well as the largest car rental on the island) is friendly and helpful. They provided ample materials on things to do, checked in during our week, and left some cold Caribs (local beer) and fruit for our arrival.

The island is round and you are able to drive the "loop" in 45 minutes. The cabin is located far enough off the main road to have monkeys, goats and donkeys in your yard, but still close enough to run to the store for more coffee or wine.

The nature of the island is such that the beaches and restaurants are spread all around. If you are interested in a non-all-inclusive resort, never leave the hotel vacation, this is perfect for you. We wanted to try all the different beaches, bars and restaurants and this allowed us to do that.

Again, such a deal at the price for a lovely place with friendly people to have your Caribbean holiday!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
2 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Beautiful home, conveniently located, a GREAT deal.
Liked least: The pillows! The bedding was clean and great, but the pillows were terrible.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2013
Jessica,
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We absolutely loved having you and your guest and look forward to you visiting us again. We tried to ensure that everything was perfect for your stay and from your review it seems like it was. All the best to you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$80
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
Priscilla L
Speaks English
Listed since : Oct 2012
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 15 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing