We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Broken Yolk Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Broken Yolk Cafe
884 Eastlake Pkwy, Ste 1611, Chula Vista, CA 91914-4548
619-216-1144
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 401 Restaurants in Chula Vista
Restaurant details
san diego
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

just an average breakfast diner. lots of canned fruit. omelettes are dry and not original, big portions. poor service, ihop or dennys is a better bet.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Bad Advertising = Bad Food?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Received an advertisement in the mail yesterday (Get1Free booklet). Since I had never tried The Broken Yolk Cafe and I had some time before my morning meeting, I decided to visit. Imagine my surprise that, contrary to the ad copy ("open 6:00am") just above the large bold Eastlake address, it was closed. I checked the ad and the menu I printed out just to be sure. Yep, both show an opening time of 6:00am. I saw the Broken Yolk sign lighted up from the street, but when I and two other cars parked in front of the Broken Yolk the large sign was suddenly turned off. So, I wasted 20 minutes (one way) and the opportunity to eat breakfast before starting my day based on poor ad copy. One can only imagine the same lack of care may extend to the food preparation. No excuse for disrespecting ones customers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Don't use a credit card....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We came here and used a credit card we hadn't used in a month or so. Next thing we know 3 days later it was used again. We did inform the manager when we came back to eat again. The place is very crowded so the food is worth the wait. It's noisey inside and very fast paced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Highly recommended, a diner/cafe with fine dining ambience, minus the expensive tab....the menu boasts of a long list of mouthwatering American and Southwestern dishes. Our server Fernando, is an asset because he speaks Filipino, Spanish, French and Japanese! Last year, we went at 3:10 pm and since they were about to close (open only from 6am-3pm), they offered uf free waffles when we visit again...15 months later, they honored what they promised, and gave us huge waffles with a side dish, on the house!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Decent food, popular shopping area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Came here for lunch w/ friends. Food was fair in quality. My burger was so big, it fell more and more apart w/ each bite! Finally gave up as it was such a mess w/ the guacamole dripping everywhere- and ate it w/ a fork as the bun completely fell apart. The soda they brought me was HUGE!
One friend ordered breakfast. The potatoes were greasy and some were black and inedible for her.
Waitress was okay, the bus boy was wonderful- he made it more enjoyable with his attention to detail.
Parking can be hit or miss in this busy shopping area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broken Yolk Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Broken Yolk Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broken Yolk Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.