We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience,nice rooms with beautiful decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4450 Main Street, Chula Vista, CA 91911   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Chula Vista
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great experience,nice rooms with beautiful decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great service, nice rooms if you choose your room other side of the freeway otherwise it will be noisy. Morning breakfast was superb; location is just O.K.The guy at the front desk named Rene was so humble and cooperative. Free parking.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am really happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay. Rene will also be happy to hear that you liked his service. Thank you so much for writing about your experience. We hope you visit us again.

Regards.

Victor M Carrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    40
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
32
14
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The rooms are relatively nice for the price. We paid $79.20usd; a night, for a king bed. The bathroom are small and I don't mean hotel small. The neighborhood a 3 on the 1-5 sketchy meter. (5 being a seedy prostitution motel in a run down part of town) It isn't well lit in the parking areas. They haven't the slightest concept of security. I asked for a key to my room, I explained that my husband checked in the night before and the front desk agent merely made the key. He didn't ask for my I.d., credit card or even my name. They do have a fitness center but 4 of 7 machines don't work properly. Will most likely spend my a porrion of my meal allotment to get a better hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We apologize for not meeting your expectations. We strive to make everyone's stay memorable. We hope you can give us another oportunity so we can change your perception. If some of our lighting did not work during your stay we can asure you it has been fixed. Thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,
Victor M. Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I was kind of worried at first when I actually decided to stay here based on the lower reasonable price. Most of the time you get not such a clean room or not so great location but surprisingly it was quite the opposite.
It is also in a pretty good location. It's not that far from the city of your driving in and only a few feet from the E Street trolley stop.
There are quite a few business and good places within walking distance.
The only real negative comment would be it's got the typical Best Western basic breakfast (cereal, boiled eggs, make your own waffle, etc) but can't complain too much based on the price.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern8555, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

It was great to have you as our guest. We truly appreciate the comments and our staff is grateful to have the opportunity to serve you. We have recently added more items to our breakfast. We now introduced chilaquiles and beans plus our regular items that include scrambled eggs, sausage, rice & miso soup, pastries, beagles, yogurt, milk, coffee, tea, toast, etc. We hope you give us another opportunity and come enjoy our breakfast, hopefully you will have a better experience in the breakfast room. Thank you for your praises. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Victor M. Carrera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed at the Best Western in Chula Vista and found the room very nice with a bar fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We asked for a room away from the freeway and we could not hear it. They provide a nice complimentary breakfast each morning. The exercise room kept us on our routine.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay. thank you for your comments. We hope you visit us again soon. I am glad you enjoyed our fitness room.

on behalf of all of us here at Best Western Plus
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichiganUSA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The staff here were exceptionally helpful and friendly, going out of their way to ensure guests were comfortable. The room was nicely arranged (king), clean and very comfortable. I especially liked the comfortable bed which was firm enough for me but soft enough for my husband. The pool and pool area were very nice and clean and right off the breakfast room so guests could have breakfast at a table by the pool. The full breakfast was delicious with waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon, along with the usual continental items. There was cooked rice available for breakfast at least one day. Ask for a room on the side away from the freeway. The exercise room had good equipment in good repair and was open early to late. There was an elliptical, two treadmills and a bike.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side away from the freeway for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are delighted to learn that you had such a wonderful stay. Everyone in our staff will be happy to learn about your comments. We hope you visit us soon and we are looking forward to providing the same excellent service that you experienced during your stay.

Regards,
Victor M. Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Came here to get away from Los Angeles . It is 3 stories with stairs and an elevator . Room was quite large , and modern . Just west of interstate 805 . And a few minutes north of Tijuana . Noticed a fitness room , next to a gas station , which worked for me . And also if you need snacks or something to drink . Grounds were decent , rooms clean and parking was average . Cannot comment on anything that would set this apart from any other hotel . Continental breakfast was average . I would go back again .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern8555, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments. We look forward to hosting you again at our hotel. Spring is a great time to visit San Diego and Chula Vista has a lot to offer. Again, Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Victor M Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Everything was very much ok, except for the housekeeping. The ladies like to skip your room if they see the do not disturb on the door at any time, like in the morning. Then they never come back and claim the sign was on the door all day. Hopefully just one bad employee and not all. I would stay again and did I notify the manager, although he seemed to question if I had removed the do not disturb sign or not (100% I did!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from freeway (noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern8555, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your comments and for remaining a loyal customer even when you experience deficiencies in our service. Every day we strive to provide exceptional service and it is only through your eyes that we can see where we can improve and for that we thank you. We hope you visit us again and give us another opportunity.

Thank you,
Victor M. Carrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel

Address: 4450 Main Street, Chula Vista, CA 91911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an ideal location for business and leisure travel right off the 805 freeway, Best Western Plus Otay Valley is conveniently located close to Otay Mesa business park and is only 5 min from Tijuana Mexico.Best Western is also the closest hotel to the new Aquatica park by seaworld and the Sleeptrain amphitheater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chula Vista
Chula Vista Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Plus Otay Valley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.