We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2013 Fourth of July” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Inn

Travel Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Travel Inn to your Saves list
Travel Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   394 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Moreno Valley, California
1 review
“2013 Fourth of July”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Last minute for 4th of July getaway. Cheap price is right. You get for what u pay!!! Towels are so old, they were very rough. There was 4 of us & only 3 towels in our room our 1st night. 2nd night, they didn't leave us any towels. I had to go to the lobby to ask for towels. The room smelled like urine. Might have been the beds. Yuk is right!! Even w/ the deodorizer we bought, didn't help. We were out all day & just slept there but still, it would be nice to come & sleep in a nice deodorized place. You can even feel the springs on the bed. no dryer, no clock. TV channels suck. Wiifii kept on disconnecting or buffering. Oh yeah & paper thin walls is correct. The ceiling in the bathroom felt like it might have caved in if it got more wet up there. It was yellow & pealing off. Scary!!! You can hear other peoples tv's or conversations & upstairs we had running kids so late @ night. Ugh! As long we were out of the hotel we had fun.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    6
    2
    14
See reviews for
4
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Pierce, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel uses a photo of Howard Johnsons, which it is NOT. The hotel is in a less than desirable area. Rooms are rented as housing for locals to live in. The room was a "suit". It had a small kitchenette, separate sitting area and bedroom bath combo. The room was dirty and smelled like mold/mildew. Parking is bad, as the spaces are extremely close togethere. There is a lot of foot trafic and prostitutes roaming about. Our stay lasted 3 minutes. They would not give a refund and were very rude. Spend the exta $50 and stay in a safe, clean area. This place is a dump and should be avoided.

Room Tip: AVOID Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelinns, Manager at Travel Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
This review is not for Travel Inn. We do not have suite or kitchen at all.

The motel described is Travelers Inn & suites, changed to Howard Johnson?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We did't find last minute available rooms elsewhere, so we got a room here.
The price is OK, compared to other nicer hotels, and the room was big, with a fridge and coffee maker (a plus). However, the walls are paper thin, it's very outdated, rugs are dirty, and they don't seem to change sheets and towels after a guest leaves (got a very very dirty towel, with make up on, and hairs...gross!!)
The staff if very friendly, and they offer hot coffee and pastries for breakfast.
We had a non smoking room but after coming back from dinner, the halls and the room itself had a strong smoke smell.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is not fancy at all, however, I could open the window! So many places have the windows sealed shut so I enjoyed the fresh ocean air - lovely.

My room was clean albeit a bit worn from wear. It was a nice large room with clean sheets though.

The propreitor was kind and remembered their promise to give me a quiet room. This I greatly appreciate.

Room Tip: Ask for the fourth floor, ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were filthy. Within 20mim of being there I saw a roach on my pillow. The room has a really thick smell of old cig and who knows what else. I immediately tried to check out and the manager would not refund me. She was very rude. I ended up switching to a different room but the place is just filthy. Motel 6 down the street was much nicer for the same price.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NM
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Didn't get very good reviews but decided to try anyway. We were there visiting someone in the navy and it is close. Ok room. Bed is hard. I would bring my own pillows. Accepts pets. Never had any problems here. Quiet and reasonable price. Not sure why it got such terrible reviews. Maybe not in the best area, but again never had any problems with anything.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Stayed there for one night it was kinda ok for the price I payed the only things that I didnt like was that the mattress makes alot of noise kinda old I guess and the coffee is too strong didnt like needed more creamers .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Address: 394 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Hotel Chula Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.