We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed with the most comfortable pillows I've ever slept on!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vagabond Inn Chula Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Vagabond Inn Chula Vista to your Saves list
Vagabond Inn Chula Vista
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91910   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Biggera Waters, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great bed with the most comfortable pillows I've ever slept on!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

I forgot to ask where they get their pillows from. Seriously they were the best we've ever slept on. My son and I agreed on that. Was worried about the trailer park next door but that didn't pose a problem at all. The first night though we did have people above us who decided to keep us awake half the night. Other than that all was good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J P, Manager at Vagabond Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thanks for the old review albeit older, we have upgraded a lot since your stay many years ago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    5
    3
    11
See reviews for
10
8
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

I have stayed in this hotel for years, I have never ever had a problem. I am safe and the rooms are great and the staff is awesome. I always feel very safe. The beds are comfortable and the hotel is clean.

You will not be sorry staying here at all.

In todays economy everyone can save a few dollars and have a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J P, Manager at Vagabond Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Although this review is old, we do appreciate all of the feedback and we have upgraded many things at this hotel. Please come and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Stayed from Friday July 2-Sun July 4th for a baseball tournament just me (Mom) & 4 boys (17 yrs, 11 yrs, 5 yrs, & 3 yrs). Perfect hotel room with 2 rooms & 3 beds! The pool & jacuzzi were such a fun & relaxing activity to do at the end of every day! This hotel is also placed where you can travel to anywhere your family would want to go in San Diego at a reasonable price! We traveled to Coronado State Beach, Imperial Pier, Old Town San Digo & Seaport Village, plus lots of baseball fields! Staff was very helpful when you needed them & the complimentary breakfast every morning was yummy & plentiful!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

OK so your travelling to San Diego and thinking you might try and save a coupla bucks on accomodation. Well you will save them here, but may regret the experience. I was bushed having just driven from LA, so we asked for a couple of quiet rooms, which was a big mistake. Staff thought this was hilarious, and spent much of the night doing burn-outs, running up and down the balcony screaming and yelling stuff like "Do you think we're being quiet enough!?" and my in-laws were woken every few hours by the phone - a mexican pimp looking for his girls. I ripped through the manager in the morning, but he couldn't have cared any less. Rooms were dated and seedy, the only bonus was we weren't slaughtered in our sleep.

Best view of the Vagabond Inn Chula Vista is via the rear-view mirror.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

We spent one night in San Diego and this motel was near where friends lived, so we picked it. Not expecting to spend much time in our room, we didn't want to pay much, but next time we'll pay a little extra. This is an old motel and it shows. The room (132) was basic: bed, dresser, TV, etc., and seemed clean. It was a cold night and the thermostat on the wall was apparently only for show, so we ended up sleeping with our sweaters on and socks! The doors still use old metals keys and the beds were too soft. Bring your own towels since they have the thin, rough kind. For $80 on a Saturday night, we shouldn't expect much I suppose (which is unfortunate these days), but it just didn't feel safe. If you're on a budget, I suppose this will work. I'm not too finicky, but this wasn't a pleasant stay. We also grabbed dinner at Keith's Diner, which is north on Broadway. 24 diner with just okay food. That probably didn't help my reviewing mood. ;-)
If you can spend a little more, you probably should. I must also point out, in this area it seemed to be mostly seedy hotels so this was probably considered high end in comparison.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Mugu NAWC, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2007

Booked through sandiegohotels.com. Got a king room for around $70 a night. For that price in San Diego I was not expecting much. I was pleasantly surprised. Now you have the usual for rooms with a door to the outside (not inside hall). But I was surprised that the room was very clean. The maids did a wonderful job cleaning up. They even placed my daugher's stuffed Scooby on the pillow after they made the bed. They cleaned with out being intrusive. My only negative was the breakfast pretty much stunk. But with the money I saved on the room breakfast was not a huge deal. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the rooms
  • Disliked — Cont'l breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

We stayed in the Vagabond Inn for 3 nights. The place is very convinient to all the attractions visited (Gaslamp, Old-Town, Parks and Zoo). It is only 2 blocks away from I-5. We stayed in the first section of the facility; re-modeled so it was quite clean and comfortable. Looked at the end sections of the facility and they are still undergoing renovations so try to stay in the first section of the Inn. Employees are friendly didn't have a problem checking in or out. Walls are thin but didn't bother us much. Its a Family friendly place and even seniors are seen staying and seemed comfortable. Price is good for the Inn.

Will stay here again.

-J.F, Northern California.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vagabond Inn Chula Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Chula Vista

Address: 230 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91910
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Chula Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Vagabond Inn Chula Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Chula Vista Hotel Chula Vista
Vagabond Hotel Chula Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vagabond Inn Chula Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.