We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   710 E Street, Chula Vista, CA 91910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The location is decent since it's right off the freeway. You can definitely tell it's an older hotel and the crowd it attracts because of the price isn't the greatest. Don't leave anything in your room after you check out because it will be gone. We called a day or two later and they couldn't "find" what we had left. The sheets and pillow cases were stained, but again you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    28
    31
    18
See reviews for
68
32
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chula vista ca us
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for over 20 nights in last 2 months I got more than what I paid for friendly staffs clean room comfortable bed also breakfast was much better than other hotels in same class.
As contractor working at coronado for next year I will come back to this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san dego, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I love this hotel. the staff is very nice and always helpful. however I hate insects and both times I stayed in the past 6 months both rooms had roaches. I have stayed at this hotel in the past about a year and a half ago and it had no roaches. but when I stayed there before it was in the rooms by the pool so maybe they are upgraded.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

very dissatisfied, front door hard to open, carpet filthy, mold in tub ac unit noisy did not cool very well, room had slight ordor to it. I wanted to pay cash and was told needed an additional $50. deposit until check out. We stayed here last Oct. and then again in 2010 both times it was a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Great location and price for clean, pleasant stay. Near downtown Chula Vista which is a must to visit. Compared to other hotels in San Diego best for price and comfort. I have stayed in various locations in San Diego and this was the cleanest, handiest and most economical I have found in the recent past. Friendly staff. Could use some improvement in breakfast area - but it is free......

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

A 2 night stay booked for us by a travel company became a 3 night stay because the staff made it so easy! Our 2nd floor room overlooked the swimming pool. Room was spacious with a king size bed. Bathroom somewhat small but adequate. Close to a variety of restaurants, but we ate the complimentary breakfast and then went to other San Diego sites to eat. Really helpful front desk and maid service.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodland Hills, CA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Nice clean BW at good prices. Professional staff to get you checked in. If your working in the area it's a good value for a clean room. Hotel had some upgrades, to the outside and breakfast room is new.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Address: 710 E Street, Chula Vista, CA 91910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Bay Hotel Chula Vista
Best Western Chula Vista
Chula Vista Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.