We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Trolley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   710 E Street, Chula Vista, CA 91910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Providence
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Close to Trolley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I like this Hotel because it offers very close proximity to the San Diego Trolley, and from here you can get to almost anywhere in San Diego. I have stayed here in the past, however, all of the rooms have undergone an upgrade! The carpet and drapes were much improved and of much better quality than my previous stay. It doesn't look all that fantastic on the outside, however, with the upgrades to the room, I found it much better than before and a good option for me. There are lots of dining options close by also.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    58
    33
    32
    18
See reviews for
74
37
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Banos
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Least expensive BW we have stayed at recently. Nice, clean, quiet. I prefer BW places when I can afford them. Overall they have gotten really expensive... not this one. Lots of food choices close by. Close to Sea World. Nice Breakfast.. Nice staff. Has a small poolwhich was well kept.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not horrible, but there is a great need for some maintenance on a number of rooms. The first room had a trail of ants, staff was not concerned and had no bug spray. They said they would need to leave a line item for maintenance. The second room needed to have the door pulled shut just to get the latch to release. You guessed it, the maintenance request. the next evening we checked and the day shift girl could not find either of those reports on the maintenance log.
The third room was ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Felipe, Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have been having many hospital stays recently for my spouse and I like to be nearby- this Best Western property is moderately priced and in a wonderful location. It is one block east of hwy 5 in Chula Vista at E Street. The location makes it very easy to get onto the freeway to get to Balboa Naval Hospital or Balboa Park. The rooms have been recently renovated and are attractive and comfortable. It is close to the Trolley station, however the trolley didn't bother us and the rooms are quiet. They include breakfast- waffles while you wait, four types of cereal, four types of juices, sweet rolls and bagels. They also had bananas, oranges and apples....hot coffee and tea as well. I was impressed.

Room Tip: there is a Denny's next door and across the street a MacDonald's as well as a Black Angus Re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWSBI_Manager, General Manager at BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us and other travelers about your experience at the Best Western South Bay Inn. Our property provides one of the best-situated locations in Chula Vista as we have quick access to all the main areas: the freeway, the bay, downtown SD, local dining and shops. We are glad you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and that your overall stay was a comfortable experience. Thank you for your kind comments about our breakfast as well. We continue to put effort into making our breakfast a valuable amenity for all our guests.
We are pleased to be convenient place for your hospital visits in San Diego and we hope we will be seeing you again soon!

Kindly,
Best Western South Bay Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place is pretty dated, things are worn, but it is clean. The price is very reasonable and the location is convenient by the blue line trolley is only 30 sec walk. There are many restaurant choices within walking distance too. If you are really fussy about have only the best this place will disappoint you. I look for value and location. This place is really great if you don't want to rent a car.

Room Tip: I like to be in the main building because I don't usually have a car and it is closer. The back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed 5 nights on business in and around the San Diego area. Clean rooms and staff was great. Close to HWY and places to eat. Breakfast was also, done well, clean area and wide variety of food and drink. The WiFi is disappointing at times when everyone is on early in the evening, but overall stay was very good. I wiould go there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Address: 710 E Street, Chula Vista, CA 91910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Bay Hotel Chula Vista
Best Western Chula Vista
Chula Vista Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.