We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   710 E Street, Chula Vista, CA 91910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Chula Vista
Minnetonka
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ok place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place is pretty dated, things are worn, but it is clean. The price is very reasonable and the location is convenient by the blue line trolley is only 30 sec walk. There are many restaurant choices within walking distance too. If you are really fussy about have only the best this place will disappoint you. I look for value and location. This place is really great if you don't want to rent a car.

Room Tip: I like to be in the main building because I don't usually have a car and it is closer. The back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    28
    32
    18
See reviews for
68
32
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed 5 nights on business in and around the San Diego area. Clean rooms and staff was great. Close to HWY and places to eat. Breakfast was also, done well, clean area and wide variety of food and drink. The WiFi is disappointing at times when everyone is on early in the evening, but overall stay was very good. I wiould go there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My room was by the elevator so it was a little noisy. Otherwise a nice room and the hotell is right off the exit for the 805. There wasn't a lot of restaurants and things on Main St. But there is a lot within about a three mile radius. It's been updated, it's nice and i wouls stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is a bit dated. The amenities are not 'top drawer'. Is it comfortable? Yes. Is it convenient? Yes. Is it clean? Yes. Is the service good? Yes? We try to use our travel budget intelligently, and have realized that we don't spend much time (awake) in our room. We are out and about and seeing good stuff. We routinely rent a car (mass transit is CLOSE here) and we tend to sleep shower and rest only in our room, so we aslked ourselves, what do you really need? Our answer was reasonable cost, some amenities, access to roads (and Starbucks), a decent bed, a clean bath and pool and/or hot tub. These things are available for a reasonable cost, if you spend some time looking. We don't don't need expensive rooms, room service, gawdy baths, or high prices. This hotel met our expectations without any difficulty. Is it "excellent"? No. Was it good enough and inexpensive? Yes. I hesitate to compare to the Hotel Del Coronado, but then again =, we paid less than 25% of the cost of staying at the Hotel Del. The Hotel is a wonderful place, but we stopped there and had one beer each. Nothing exotic, just a coupla beers. With tip, $30. At the Best Western, there was a steak house across the street that feed us both, (we had steaks) inclluding drinks and desert for around $60, and it was very nice. I recommend this hotel, and this concept of reasonably priced travel, because in the end, I came to see other things, (Balboa Park), and spent my time and money there. Think it over. What do you want? How much can you afford? What is you real destination?

Room Tip: Not everything is available here, but it is close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, Ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Some sites show this place as a 3 star. We were very surprised how tacky it was. They reserved a smoking room for us, which we did not want. When I called to see about fixing this error, I was told they had no more non smoking king rooms but they could put us in a double queen for another $10. Amazingly, when we arrived an hour later and my very large boyfriend went into the office, they'd had a cancellation and our non smoking room was available. The card keys often did not work and the gentleman in the room next to us also struggled with his. There were only two smallish bath towels and one washcloth. I found a housekeeper and asked for additional towels. The next evening, I called front desk to ask for fresh towels and again, two small bath towels and a single washcloth were delivered. Why the aversion to hand towels and why only one washcloth for two guests? There was a fly in the bathroom upon arrival. During our two night stay, we dealt with a total of three flies and never figured out why. The paint in the bathroom was old and chipping, showing many layers and a variety of past colors. The bottom of the wall next to the bathroom door was actually eroding. There was a chunk of wall missing. A foot or so further up the wall were a few small spots and a smear of what appeared to be dried blood. The bathtub had a large section that looked as if it had peeled away, causing a discoloration. The drain didn't drain and the caulking had mildew. Wifi was very weak, continental breakfast barely so-so, and the coffee in the room was horrible. Thankfully, the toilet and the bedsheets were clean. I've stayed at 3 star properties that were amazing. Best Western should be ashamed of this dump.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there are any "good rooms".
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for one night a few weeks ago. Our check-in time was listed as 3:00. We checked-in at 3:15. When we got down to our room they were not only still cleaning it, but they were also doing maintenance work. We waited for about 15 minutes thinking they just had a few things to finish. We ended up going back to the front desk where they assigned us a new room...which was also still being cleaned. We didn't get into our 3rd and final room until about 4pm. The lady at the the front desk didn't really seem to care that our room wasn't ready, nor did they seem very organized. We went out for a concert that night and didn't return to our room till almost 2am. Upon our return, the smoke detector kept going off due to a low battery. We called the front desk and they didn't do anything about it. My friend had to get on the table to silence the alarm, which started going off about 5 hours later.

Bottom line: the customer service here is complete crap. Book your hotel elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn

Address: 710 E Street, Chula Vista, CA 91910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Bay Hotel Chula Vista
Best Western Chula Vista
Chula Vista Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN South Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.