We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and clean - personable and helpful owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel to your Saves list
El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   416 Third Avenue, Chula Vista, CA 91910   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Chula Vista B&B and Inns
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quaint and clean - personable and helpful owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

What I loved most about this hotel was the customer service. The woman who answered the phone actually remembered my fiancee's name when we called to make a reservation. We were both touched!! Pie put on an excellent breakfast buffet - fresh fruits (including papaya and pineapple), hard boiled eggs, english muffins, bacon, etc. It was great! The breakfast courtyard is nicely adorned with beautiful blooming plants and flowers - I'd definitely stay there again. Also, it's very close to the Las Americas outlets - a must visit!

Room Tip: Ask for their largest room if you can - El Coronado - it was comfy and had a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    20
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
58
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairport, New York, Usa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband and I recently spent several days in Chula Vista and we were so comfortable at this beautiful little hotel. It is the nicest place we have stayed in a very long time. The "innkeeper" and his wife are warm and friendly, always available with suggestions for what to do, where to go, or just for a bit of conversation. Our room was very comfortable and clean. The bed was cozy with nice soft bedding and not the usual hotel style mattress, this was as nice as my bed at home. The breakfast was delicious with lots of fresh fruits and all sorts of other good things. We enjoyed eating breakfast in the courtyard with all the flowers in bloom. The courtyard is beautifully planted and we spotted hummingbirds several times. This place has a lovely gentle peacefulness about it and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

El Primero was everything we needed for a great experience in a great city! I was so comfortable here I slept like a rock every night. The beds are comfortable, pillows firm, widows can open for fresh air (but there is also great air-conditioning) – and the best part is how quiet the rooms are! The hotel is small so you don’t have to worry about groups of party people or huge convention-goers. The owner/inn-keeper is extremely friendly and was able to help us with every question we had. Things I especially liked: Parking is free, breakfast - which was a LOT more than I expected - is served in a sun-drenched courtyard, and the neighborhood is cute! El Primero is a great home base because it’s in a “barrio” that is pretty much a 10 minute drive from all the important places like Gaslamp, Balboa Park, Coronado beach, etc. I will deff be staying here next time I get the chance to visit this amazing city!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

First thing you notice in this little hidden gem is the owners have put a lot of love into this hotel. From the architecture that has been lovingly restored, to the yummy breakfast, they did everything possible to make us feel right at home! It's an older building which has a lot of character. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Even though it is on a main street, our stay was quiet and relaxing. We didn't hear a peep outside. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The bed was super comfortable, and we slept soundly. Breakfast was delicious as well! Plenty of fresh fruit, coffee, various pastries, breads... even eggs and bacon and sausage! The patio area is beautiful and relaxing. The owners are very kind and genuine. They clearly care about what they do here, and care about the people who stay with them. The price was excellent too! If you don't stay here at least once you are missing out. Thank you both for having us! We really enjoyed our stay and didn't want to leave! Can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Patio are very nice, and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I booked this hotel for my wife on 2/13/14 for a stay from 7/19/14 to 7/26/14. She is traveling with her girlfriend. Priceline said that they can promise a room for two people, but what if they don't want to sleep together in a queen bed? I thought that since the stay is so far off, that it would be easy to put in a hotel request for a room with two double beds. We already prepaid $1200.50 for the stay. When I called and talked to the owner, Profino Roque he said that we were locked in to a room with a single queen bed and that he was refusing our hotel request, stating that it would be an extra $200 per night for a room with two double or queen beds. Don't book with this hotel if you want your own bed or you will pay dearly for it as the owner is extremely inflexible, will not give concessions and does not care about repeat business. STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL UNLESS YOU ARE A COUPLE THAT SLEEP TOGETER. DON'T USE PRICELINE "NAME YOUR OWN PRICE" SERVICE OR "EXPRESS DEALS" TO BOOK YOUR ROOM AS YOU WILL END UP WITH A SMALL ROOM WITH A QUEEN WITH NO OPTIONS BUT TO SHELL OUT A LOT OF EXTRA MONEY TO GET A ROOM WITH TWO QUEEN BEDS. STAY AWAY. MANAGEMENT IS VERY INFLEXIBLE!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else unless you are a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Large clean and comfortable room. Very kind and pleasant owner/operators. They renovated a historic So. Cal. Hotel and in doing so, brought back a great piece of nostalgia. A very tasty breakfast is included, of course. We will return if we ever get back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I found this hotel at the last minuet. I was desperate to find a place and there they were. It's located in down town Chula Vista a Unique and unexpected place as well. The Breakfast was great and the owners made everyone feel cared for and welcome. My room was just enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel

Address: 416 Third Avenue, Chula Vista, CA 91910
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belonging to the heart of downtown Chula Vista, this historic landmark was brought back to its 1930's glory in 2005. Each of El Primero Hotel's 20 guest rooms provides a cozy king or queen bed for travelers to relax in, after a a day of work or play around beautiful San Diego. Located minutes from the Cricket Wireless Amphitheatre, Olympic Training Center, Gaslamp Quarter & other city destinations, this inn gives visitors modern touches with down home comforts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Primero Boutique Hotel Chula Vista
El Primero Boutique Bed And Breakfast Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.