We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Geranium reminder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel to your Saves list
El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   416 Third Avenue, Chula Vista, CA 91910   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Chula Vista B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Geranium reminder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I was reminded that I owe this boutique hotel a long pastdue review every time I saw the beautiful Geraniums in my garden, in red, pink and white single petal. They were cut by the owner from the hotel garden and traveled and planted in my yard more than a year ago, when I had chance to stay in this small hotel twice. The experience still gives me lasting warm and homelike feeling. I missed the room, the patio, the variety of homemad breakfast and fresh fruits, and the hospitality of the owners.
If you even want to go to San Diego, avoid the cooperate hotel chains, try this one, if they have a room available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    20
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
58
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed at El Primero when in town for a wedding recently and were very satisfied with the level of comfort and service. The building is old but well maintained and very charming, especially the sheltered patio at the side. The beds were comfortable and everything was clean and tidy. There's a good breakfast buffet in the morning. The best part, however, is the owners, Pie and Sol Roque, who are on site, attentive to all guests' needs, and warm and congenial. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

If you're looking for a great home away from home experience, this is the place for you. I received the best customer service at a hotel that I can ever remember. The breakfast was phenomenal (especially the banana bread!) and the local area was filled with plenty of food choices. The rooms are cozy, the beds are comfortable and the hotel has tons of character. The owners are the friendliest people and you really feel like your staying at an old friends place instead of a hotel. I will be staying here again when I return in the summer to visit SeaWorld.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My company is based in Chula Vista and while recently visiting I had a pleasure of staying at El Primero for four nights. I travel almost every week and the hotel was a breath of fresh air. Great room and a breakfast that made you feel like you were sitting in your own kitchen. The staff, Pie and Sol were excellent and caring hosts. I am staying there again next week and have also booked new company associates to stay there too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We took a family trip to the San Diego area to visit a relative for his 60th birthday. We chose El Primero because of its proximity to their home and free breakfast. It was a great experience. The owners could not have been nicer or more accommodating. It was very secure and comfortable. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here for Comic Con. Whilst it was a little out of the way the value and excellent service made up for the trip into the city daily. The breakfast was superb and the owners were friendly and welcoming hosts. I've recommended this hotel to various friends who have also stayed here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed one night at the El Primero B&B to celebrate my birthday in the San Diego area. The location was perfect for visiting Tijuana and San Diego. From check-in until check-out the owners made us feel welcome and special. They are very knowledgable about the area and what to see/do. The room was clean and the bed really comfortable. We enjoyed the historic photos, both in the room and throughout the hotel. The breakfast was outstanding including a variety of fresh fruit, homemade banana bread, and frittata! It was nice to eat outside in the courtyard as well. We would definitely stay here again - thanks for the legendary weekend!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor, facing the courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel

Address: 416 Third Avenue, Chula Vista, CA 91910
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belonging to the heart of downtown Chula Vista, this historic landmark was brought back to its 1930's glory in 2005. Each of El Primero Hotel's 20 guest rooms provides a cozy king or queen bed for travelers to relax in, after a a day of work or play around beautiful San Diego. Located minutes from the Cricket Wireless Amphitheatre, Olympic Training Center, Gaslamp Quarter & other city destinations, this inn gives visitors modern touches with down home comforts! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Primero Boutique Hotel Chula Vista
El Primero Boutique Bed And Breakfast Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Primero Boutique Bed & Breakfast Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.