We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Highway Inn Chula Vista

Highway Inn Chula Vista
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Highway Inn Chula Vista to your Saves list
Highway Inn Chula Vista
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   70 Broadway, Alpine, Chula Vista, CA 91910   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beware!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I booked this place for my dad on Friday night, because there was NOTHING available in San Diego due to a convention. When we got there, the "front desk" was a sketchy window with the staff behind glass, there was a mattress propped up on the outside of one of the rooms, the carpet in the room was stinky, everything was sticky, the phones in the room had no service, the curtains were broken and one side was hanging off of the rod and worst of all, there appeared to be urine left on the toilet seat from the previous "guest". This place is absolutely horrifying!!! and disgusting! My dad couldn't even stay, we immediately checked him out. I understand this is a budget motel and not the four seasons, but I would have at least expected a basic level of cleanliness. YUCK!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
SInce this review, we have updated our rooms and we are more aware of our room cleanliness and customer service. Thank you for your information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
1
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I have stayed here on multiple occasions across a several year span. The prices are very reasonable, staff is always attentive to my requests. Rooms are clean, not modern by any means but clean none the less. As far as safety, your in Chula Vista not La Jolla, I've always felt safe.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We are updating this hotel and we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Currently staying here and unfortunately for the next two nights.
AREA: Across the street is a generic brand gas station, kitty corner is run down vacant looking building plus an old garage that never seems to be open even though cars are parked out front (they may have been there a while). As soon as you turn on Broadway to get to this motel you know something is wrong, it immediately turns ghetto. People seem to kick it at the gas station and across other street during the evenings. Just seems open, like anyone off the street could walk in and break into your car or hang out in front.

MOTEL and ROOM: SURPRISE! Martha Stewart says sleep soundly to cover up the screams at night with her everyday brand pillows! Rooms are decent. Aged comforters, floor is dirty &old looking. Bathroom tub had dead ants, whatever. Tried to nap during stay, woke up to fire engines and police sirens that seemed to stop somewhere close, twice. Nearby residentals have bars on their windows. Random mattresses thrown in corner of 3rd floor. Stuffy smells. Night life slighty heavy with bad booming car radio rap. Check in window located outside near driveway. Slept bad last night due to fridge clinking and tinking, maybe there was a troll inside.

Wouldn't have stayed unless I had no other choice. Constant rape jokes are told between my friends and I.

Pro's:
Does have AC, does have good hot water, has a decent fridge and microwave (haven't used).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thanks for your information, however this is very old and we have changed management and upgraded this hotel, it is a limited service budget hotel and we are in the midst of making additional changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

after reading the other reviews I was worried about the cleanliness of the place and security of it. Once we arrive at the Inn they pointed out that an error had been made on our reservation and they were fast at helping us with the accommodations for our family. This was a last minute trip to San Diego with the price of the hotel and the cleanliness of it I was very satisfy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you we have upgraded some things, if you are in the area please come back and check us out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

A/C had 2 settings, on and off, making our sleep infuriatingly uncomfortable. Security is also lacking, as our car was broken into while parked in the most well-lit space in the lot. Hotel employee (singular) masquerading around as "security" was lackadaisical and didn't seem at all surprised by the break-in. On top of it all, the room was grossly overpriced even through hotwire.com's asinine "hot deals" gimmick.

Don't stay here. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We are an older limited service hotel but we are in the midst of upgrading. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, MT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

This is an icky motel, the carpet was sticky, the toilet leaked, the rooms stunk! Cheap motel, I suppose you get what you pay for! Its almost like it is in the ghetto!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J P, Manager at Highway Inn Chula Vista, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Since this review we have upgraded and we are making improvements. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highway Inn Chula Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highway Inn Chula Vista

Address: 70 Broadway, Alpine, Chula Vista, CA 91910
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Highway Inn Chula Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Chula Vista, this motel offers a 24-hour front desk, wake-up call services and on-site laundry facilities. Our guest rooms at the Highway Inn Chula Vista are air conditioned, We have Cable TV with HBO and Microwave and fridge are available on request. Our motel is closed to many attractions including the Seaworld Aquatica and Coronado State Beach. The Westfield Plaza Bonita shopping center is within a 5-minute drive from the Highway Inn Chula Vista.We look forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Highway Inn Chula Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highway Inn Chula Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.