We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zorbas Greek Buffet

Zorbas Greek Buffet
100 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91910-2208
(619) 422-8853
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 401 Restaurants in Chula Vista
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We found Zorba's when we were looking for a place within walking distance of our hotel, and we ended up there on a Wednesday evening with the $8.95 buffet. Good food all around! The place has been there for 23 years, and it is apparent it's an institution in the neighborhood. Just catching bits of conversation of the other patrons around the buffet, we realized that many of them had Greek heritage -- that's a recommendation!. ("My Big, Fat, Greek Wedding" had been on TV a few nights before and, well, the conversation of a couple of the young ladies could have been lifted straight from the show.) We will definitely be going back on our next trip to Chula Vista, and we will try to catch the live entertainment on Friday and Saturday night then, even if we have to pay another $5 for the buffet.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    6
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tijuana, Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Authentic Greek and absolutely great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Talk about a deal! This place has an absolutely wonderful buffet for only $8.95, Mon-Thursday. Salads are great. Hummus is yummy. Gyros the best. All good stuff and a great variety. Don't forget to ask your server for the tzatziki sauce, because it is not on the buffet. Service is average, but it's a buffet.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Took the wifey here for some lunch. The scalloped potatoes were good as was the hummus. Bread is awesome. The chicken was a bit undercooked. Desserts are fantastic, that was probably the highlight of our visit.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cheap Greek Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Craving Greek without wanting to shell out too much? Zorbas is THE place to go. For the cost of a gyro sandwich meal at other Greek restaurants you could eat here and try it all at their buffet. "All" you wonder? By "All" I mean fresh salad bar, soups (I favor the lemony chicken & rice soup over the lentil but hey that's me) chef's special dish of the day, and standards like gyro, chicken souvalaki, spanakopita, and mousaka to name a few. The dessert choices are standard. Be warned, the baklava is sweet. I stick to the fresh fruit. FYI the tzatziki sauce is brought to your table and not available in the buffet. They're pretty good about bringing it to you but you may have to ask for it on a busy day. Best time to go is Monday-Thursday and it's $8.95 all day. Slightly higher prices on the weekends, entertainment included only then.

Service is average as it can get a bit hectic during peak hours. It's hit or miss with the waiters clearing out your used plates and refilling drinks. I guess it just depends on who's working that day. Interior is a bit dated but clean. The restaurant has their own parking lot located in the back. Parking during the weekday is not a problem but weekends may pose a problem.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Made me wanna go "Opa"!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

The buffet was an array of temptations awaiting your choosing. Excellent choice of delicacies! Everything Greek for the taste buds!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zorbas Greek Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Zorbas Greek Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zorbas Greek Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.