We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Bella Pizza Garden

La Bella Pizza Garden
373 3rd Ave, Chula Vista, CA 91910-3928
619-426-8820
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Bella Pizza Garden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 365 Restaurants in Chula Vista
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: G Street
Transit: MTS on Third Avenue
Chula Vista
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Family and I enjoy coming here, but the occasional inconsistency can be annoying. Sometimes a little later at night the pizzas can be made with less care such as too much cheese or not enough toppings. Overall la Bella is a nice place to take your family.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    22
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Going Down Hill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

La Bella use to be the best family-owned italian restaurant in Chula Vista. Food was good and service was excellent.
Last year we had a family reunion at La Bella's and we were very dissapointed. Our party totaled 16 people. Although we had a reservation it took at least 15 minutes to set up a table for us. We ordered an array of items which included appetizers, pizzas, lasagna, garlic bread, and assorted entrees.
When the order was served we noticed that we were missing several items (a cheese pizza, garlic bread, an entree or two). When these orders arrived... most of them were burned, dry or in the case of the cheese pizza... simply never arrived.
This was very dissapointing since we had told our family members tha La Bella's was going to be quite a treat. From now on we'll consider other italian restaurants.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Papa favorite pizza-the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

If you like cheesy pizzas, great lasagna, garlic bread, literally anything this is the place. Family owned for 50+ years, Kitty and Papa's ghost are still around. Good service, take-out, delivery, even a Game center at the LaBella's Game center in back of the old La Bella's. The Panini's are good too. Lots of different Beers on tap, good hang-out.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Family social”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is not the La Bella Pizza Garden restaurant, although they’re operated by the same family. The La Bella Pizza Café and Games is a great place to go for family, group and social entertainment. There are about five pool tables, a couple of dart boards, and an arcade center. There’s also a sports bar area with a couple of televisions. The menu is Italian, with all the traditional foods like pasta, spaghetti, pizza, etc. I ordered a side pasta dish of fettuccini Alf redo with chicken and a side salad. The pasta dishes come as sides or full. Several of us commented on the size of our side of pasta dishes. The side dishes for our pasta were bigger than we expected and made us wonder just how big the full size dishes would be. The food was very good. The pizza was nice and cheesy and both the spaghetti and penne rigate had plenty of marinara sauce on them. The service was prompt and the waitress came by several times to refill our water and ginger-ale pitchers. The atmosphere was friendly. Our group broke up into several groups with the kids hanging out at the arcade, and the rest of us divided between the pool tables and dining tables. The restrooms were larger than I expected as well as clean. As for parking, there’s 2 hour parking on the street, along with parking in the shopping center in front and at the back of the building.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fab Cheesy Pizzas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

If you like pizza, on the real authentic italian style side, this is the place to go. The pizza here is the best in town and the most reasonably priced for what you get.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bella Pizza Garden also viewed

 

Been to La Bella Pizza Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Bella Pizza Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.