We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food and Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talavera Azul

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Talavera Azul
365 3rd Ave, Chula Vista, CA 91910-3928
619-427-6476
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 365 Restaurants in Chula Vista
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My friend and I decided to have a Mexican breakfast at this restaurant in Chula Vista. The food is very good (I cleaned my plate of chilaquiles in salsa verde), the coffee (cafe de olla) is excellent and not-too-sweet but you can taste (and smell) the cinnamon in it, and the service is excellent. Their organge juice is fresh squeezed. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is that there seems to be a major public works project going on just outside the restaurant, making parking very difficult, and walking to the restaurant just as difficult (the sidewalk on one side of the door is completely blocked off). But if you managed to get through the construction maze, you will be rewarded with great food and service. The breakfast menu is extensive and should satisfy anyone.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“a usual stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

There could be better chilaquiles in the S.D. area, but we have not found it. Chilaquiles sound like a simple thing to produce, but the real thing with great salsa and eggs is rare. This is the place! They cookup plenty of good looking food, but that is for others. We go here for our first breakfast on out trips from Montana. Bravo!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great chuilaquiles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

This pleasant restaurant was featured on the tv show The Best Thing I Ever Ate. Fast friendly service, cherrful interior. Their speciality is chilaquiles a delicious Mexican breakfast iitem. Their Mexican coffee, cafe de la olla, is outstanding.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“There is nothing better than a Mexican breakfast in the morning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

There is nothing better than a Mexican breakfast in the morning! Not only is there Mexican breakfast, but other types, such as Crepes, American style breakfast and croissant type breakfast sandwiches. Talavera Azul is open in the morning and afternoon for breakfast and lunch and this place can fill quickly. A good mix of locals visit this spot for a hearty breakfast and a tasty coffee. Come and give this place a visit. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talavera Azul also viewed

 

Been to Talavera Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talavera Azul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.