We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good For One Night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   946 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91911   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
SaarLouis, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good For One Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for one night.
Enough free parking, good breakfast, nice beds, clean but really noisie... Right at a Street with thin walls, you could have trouble to sleep, for me it was ok after a 18h flight!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    34
    25
    4
    11
See reviews for
43
19
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I was in the San Diego area for about a week and actually went to quite a few other hotels before I finally found this one and it was GREAT! The rooms where clean and had everything I needed. The staff was very welcoming and helpful when I had questions. The location was also good. It's on a main road with lots of thing just right down the road. I am definitely looking forward to staying there again on my next visit to San Diego.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke On Trent
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stared our vacation in LA and stayed at another Best Western Plus but were glad to be getting out of LA to visit the San Diego area. For us, this hotel was ideally located. The staff were pleasant and effecient. The outside area and car park were fine. The room (which I must confess did smell odd when you first walked in) on the second floor was spacious, clean and comfortable. (The odour did disappear.) The breakfast was good quality but not as varied as some hotels that we stopped in but there was cereal, pastries, fruit, yoghurts, those little bun things(!) and juices/coffee/decaf/tea/milk. Ooh, there were eggs as well and a waffle maker, so on reflection, not bad! There was one thing that amused us though. One morning, we were finishing our breakfast @ 9.25, breakfast was until 10am, in walks another guest, to find that other than the liquid items, the breakfast items had been loaded on the trolley for taking away! LOL! I think that this was a no smoking establishment and was a little irritated when a fellow guest decided to stand outside my door smoking, just watching the world go by, but the smell wafted under the door, so thank heavens for neutrodol! My fellow travellers used the pool. Mmmmm, the water was rather cold! Check out was smooth and overall we wouldn't hesitate to return here for another stay as although the hotel is clearly a little old, the price for what is included is about right. We would make sure that we get to breakfast as early as possible though!

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As usual things have not changed at this location. you have your very helpfull friendly staff that go above and beyond to accommodate your needs. And then their is Juan. Rude, unattentive, unfriendly that will overcast a sunny stay. In the past as well as my recent visit. I bout son issues to his attention that would benefit all guest. Number one a shower fixture problem in my room. Number two. The problem with the waffle makers low heat and extends time 20-30 minutes to cook a waffle. other issues appeared to be of no interest to Juan. But he did make excuses. Maybe it was to close to the end of his shift that morning. Or maybe it my problem not his. Suggestion. Maybe the GMT should remind him that guests needs are important especially when the issues will benefit the chain or hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, bc
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I am not sure what the PLUS is all about. This is the old style two story MOTEL with exterior corridors and cars parked in front of the rooms.
This motel is starting to show signs of age and could use some renovations. The bottoms of doors and walls are worn and cracked. The rooms have a smell when you first walk in, most likely cleaning agents like bleach and ajax, but the smell does go away. The rooms are spacious and somewhat clean, although the towels are not. I had yellow stains in the face towels and the bath towels are not totally white, if you know what I mean.
The price was ok.
The breakfast room is big. It was converted from a couple of rooms next to the office,. There is even a nice clean public washroom there... The orange juice was ALWAYS out (with a sign apologizing) during our 3 days stay, But there is apple juice. The breakfast selection was your typical fare, and has breakfast sandwiches stocked.
The hotel only gets an "OK" rating from me because of location and price. Nothing to write home about.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
Again, don't know what the PLUS was about as I don't see anything special for this motel and probably would go elsewhere next time i am in SD.

Room Tip: ground floor, we had the room next to the stairs which gets a bit noisy when other guests are moving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is probably the 10th or more Best Western we have traveled to and were pleasantly surprised. There is another one a city north that we have stayed at and loved, but unfortunately they were sold out for the weekend. They mentioned the Chula Vista one on Broadway for about $40 less, so we gave it a shot. We were not disappointed with the level of friendliness and willingness to help in finding a room location perfect for my family away from street and close to elevator. We stayed in room 206 or 306 and it was perfect. For the price you can't beat the room, breakfast, and staff members.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCHULAVISTA, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Mae-Sal4,

First, we'd like to thank you for being a valued Best Western guest. My team and I are elated that you enjoyed your stay with us. We'd like to think that we provide the most value for our guests and are glad that you gave us an opportunity to do this for you and your family.

We hope you will keep us in mind the next time you are in the area.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn

Address: 946 Broadway, Chula Vista, CA 91911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Chula Vista hotel offers great amenities and is just minutes away from downtown San Diego, the Olympic Training Center and the Chula Vista Marina. The BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn located in Chula Vista, California provides guests with easy access to two major freeways in the San Diego area -- Interstate 5 and Interstate 805. Hotel guests will be close to several local tourist attractions including the Chula Vista Marina, San Diego area beaches and San Diego's Seaport Village.All guest rooms feature free high-speed Internet and cable television. The hotel offers an outdoor pool, spa, meeting rooms to accommodate up to 50 people and a complimentary continental breakfast. Each guest room is a non-smoking room.Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn are close to all of San Diego's great attractions including Soak City Water Park and Balboa Park. Families will especially enjoy being minutes away from the San Diego Zoo and SeaWorld®. The University of California San Diego, San Diego State University and University of San Diego are all within a short drive from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Chula Vista Hotel Chula Vista
Best Western Chula Vista
Chula Vista Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Chula Vista Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.