We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91 E Bonita Road, Chula Vista, CA 91910 (Formerly Ramada Chula Vista/San Diego South)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Oceanside, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This Comfort Inn is conveniently located right off the freeway with easy access around south San Diego. The staff here are wonderful! Everyone was kind and eager to please their guests, which made our quick-trip easy & enjoyable. The beds are comfy & the rooms were very clean. We stayed poolside, opposite the freeway, and were able to enjoy quiet nights. This hotel room included a small couch with coffee table, and desk with chair; it's like having a mini living room which was perfect for our business trip. You'll find a gas station, Burger King, and an awesome pizza shop/liquor store, and a high-end Mexican restaurant within direct walking distance (less than 5 mins). Breakfast in the morning was more than decent with the usual findings, but I loved that they served yogurt and a great assortment of teas! Make sure to check out this hotel when you're nearby and looking for an affordable, very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Grab a room that's poolside for a good view of your parked vehicle, and to sleep opposite the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    18
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
6
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very nice and helpful staff, clean rooms, great beds, free Breakfast. Short drive to all.
Big thanks out to these staff members Liliana, Carmen, Solangel, And Richard for making my stay Great. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 420 over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear LennyD d,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We are thrilled to hear we have “very nice and helpful staff” at our hotel. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel went out of their way to give special pricing for guests attending a nearby funeral. The hotel was very clean and room was spacious. Bed was comfortable and bathroom good size. Great shower head but bathtub plug didn't work. Room had refrigerator and microwave and desk.front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was ok - had scrambled eggs and link sausage, mostly muffins and a few choices of cold cereal & oatmeal - yogurt and I think there were boiled eggs. There are quite a few restaurants close by.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear EHPhxAZ,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed a “clean, large room” during your stay. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked another hotel in Chula Vista and after two days checked out. We ran over to this hotel and quickly checked in. The staff is friendly, rooms are clean and they have a great breakfast in the morning. We liked it so much that we have already booked our next visit. We would like to thank the staff for saving our vacation!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear 684maryl,

Thank you for taking the time in reviewing the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We are thrilled to hear “the staff is friendly” at our hotel. We strive in providing our guests with excellent quality service and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We look forward to your next night with us and appreciate your feedback regarding the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the Comfort Inn in Chula Vista for a short weekend after a conference in Downtown San Diego. The hotel met our needs 100% with free internet access and free breakfast each morning. Everyone at the front desk was super friendly and helpful and the room was very clean and comfortable. The highway is right behind the hotel which was super convenient to getting around, but yet I didn't hear any road noise or traffic and had no trouble sleeping each night. I'd definitely recommend this hotel if you're staying in the Chula Vista/San Diego area and need a basic, clean, comfortable hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear McCabe18,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We are thrilled to hear our hotel is clean and comfortable. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I really liked this place

i know our first thought is "hotel doesn't matter were hardly in it anyway" but i learned on this trip that it does matter after a long day out what you really want is to come back to a clean fresh and comfortable hotel room and sleep knowing there are no creepy crawlers on the floor or bed****specially if you have kids***

Originally i had booked another cheaper in price hotel for my trip to san diego, as soon as i arrived there i was disappointed the place was a "suite" but it was like a roach motel room. So my first night in san diego was a total bummer, the very next day i decide to search for a new place there was no way i could spend another night here.
I ran into Comfort Inn what a 360 change in quality and service yes it was a about $30 more a night but well worth it. We spent the first day all day in the hotel and in the pool my kids and i loved it it was like a breath of fresh air compared to the other hotel.
Pool - Super clean and the water was fresh, hardly any hint of chlorine i could actually open my eyes under water and see with out the sting.
Jacuzzi- very warm and comfortable
Room- well decorated classic colors comforter and pillows "amazing" clean and sooo comfy. Big flat TV, fridge, microwave, coffee machine and te, iron and board.
Bathroom- well decorated CLEAN and white, bat tub spotless lots off towels and the hotel provided samples of toiletry items (which was awesome because we had forgotten our toothpaste)
Last but not least...............
Breakfast - free provided by the hotel, area was spacious and clean good variety of healthy options - cereal,waffles,yogurt, eggs,sausage, oatmeal and juices.

Overall the change of hotel rooms saved my trip to san diego....

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Patricia A,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We are thrilled to hear our hotel is “comfortable and clean”. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

It a good please.
Nice room & good breakfast. ..
And kind staff.
I must recommend this hotel.

This trip of business at Westfield
Plaza bonita.
good location..

Tow years ago I visited same location
But now all remodeling...
Wonderful..

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South, responded to this review, March 27, 2015
Dear Realjoy1004,

Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay at the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the recent remodel of our hotel. We work hard in providing our guests with a well-maintained property and are touched you took notice. As you mentioned, we do offer complimentary breakfast and are delighted you were able to enjoy it during your stay. We hope to see you again, during your next trip to San Diego. Once more, thank you for reviewing the Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South

Address: 91 E Bonita Road, Chula Vista, CA 91910 (Formerly Ramada Chula Vista/San Diego South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chula Vista
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Chula Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Comfort Inn located at I-805 and Bonita Rd. 12 miles from downtown San Diego and 8 miles from US Border. Rooms feature refrigerator, WIFI, coffee maker, 40" flat panel TV, hairdryer and hot breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn San Diego South Hotel Chula Vista
Ramada Inn Chula Vista
Ramada Chula Vista
Chula Vista Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Chula Vista San Diego South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.