We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   309 Prosperity Blvd, Chowchilla, CA 93610   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chowchilla
GreenLeadersBronze level
seymour tn
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel while visiting Yosemite. The hotel is very clean, huge rooms, very spacious breakfast area which was well-stocked, and convenient to the South entrance of Yosemite. Everything looked so nice that I thought maybe the property was new but the staff said its five or so years old. You can't tell - its really pretty and clean. Definitely recommend it!

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We were honored to have you stay with us during your visit to Yosemite National Park. I agree we are a convenient hotel to Yosemite National Park, only being a short drive. I am glad you found our facility well maintained and our rooms spacious. We really try to ensure that our rooms and service are above and beyond any other hotels in our market. We want to pull out the red carpet for each and every guest that stays with us. Thank You for taking time to share your experience. We look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    61
    16
    4
    10
See reviews for
74
59
22
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were traveling across CA and stayed in Chowchilla as our home base for going to Yosemite. The hotel is much farther from Yosemite than is implied. Breakfast was great with cinnamon buns and a pancake maker. Hotel is very clean and modern with DirecTV cable, DVD player, and iPhone dock in the room.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I want to Thank You for staying with us recently and sharing your experience. I am glad your stay with us was great and that you found our hotel very clean and comfortable. Service and Cleanliness are very important to our hotel and staff. We always try to strive to ensure our guests receive the best product and service at all times. We look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

smooth check-in, clean room, friendly staff, nice free breakfast with a lady who really work hard, keep cleaning the food counter, tables and floor. she never stops moving to clean and made me impressed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I want to Thank You for taking time to share your experience. I am glad you found our hotel comfortable and Clean. We really strive to pull out the red carpet for each and every guest to ensure our rooms and hotel is above and beyond the guests expectations. We look forward to your next stay while visiting our area.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were driving through late last Saturday night & still had 2 1/2 hours to go before we made it home.. my 7 month old decided he had enough of riding in the car & needed to sleep NOW!! walked into a clean, beautiful hotel & unfortunately the Night Auditor, Britney, was being treated poorly by a guest about something that she had no control over.. she kept her composure & when the guest left she greeted me with a beautiful smile & refused to let her previous encounter effect her attitude towards me.. Britney quickly checked us into a room at a reasonable price... the service provided made for a great experience, on top of the hotel itself being flawless!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accommodate you and your family late at night during your travels. We definitely understand that our guests have many choices and we always want to ensure that our guests pick us 100% of the time. I want to Thank You for taking time to share your experience and we look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Hills, OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We booked three rooms about 6 months before our trip to Yosemite. We canceled one room using the 1-800 number, but when we arrived we found out the cancellation had not gone through. After a long day of driving, we were told we still had 3 reservations and since it was 6:45, they were still charging us for a third room. The manager was quite rude and lazy, and refused to cancel the reservation because we didn't bring a cancelation code.

The next morning, the hotel manager Nick, basically told me tough luck he wasn't going to do anything. I pointed out that he didn't lose any business because the hotel was far from full. He kept repeating "Unfortunately, that's policy".

Additionally, I asked for extra pillows and towels, but I had to sign a receipt for them. They told me it was for housekeeping, but then said they would charge me if they weren't in the room. I decided to return them myself in the morning.

On our way out of Yosemite we decided to stay at the chowchila inn, and have to say it was a much more pleasurable experience.

Overall the hotel was in nice condition. It could have been a very nice stay, but unfortunately Nick felt his $130 was more important than doing what was right and keeping a customer.

I read the other negative reviews on here and the corresponding responses from the owner. Don't be fooled. They appear sincere, but there operating attitude has not changed, money is most important.

Chances are your stay will be fine, but good luck getting any help from Holiday Inn or the managers if its not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

I am disappointed we fell short of keeping you satisfied with our hotel policy and apologize for the experience. Although it does look like you had 3 rooms and at time of check in you only needed 2 and given our 24 hours cancel policy, we would not be able to make any cancels same day of arrival. As you stated you canceled the room although without any cancellation number we would not be able to verify this. If you were able to supply a cancellation number to our hotel we would have been more than happy to cancel the room, even if it was the day of arrival. Although it does look like you were able to check in to all 3 rooms and were able to take advantage of your entire reservation.

Again I do apologize for the level of service you were provided. We hope this will not keep you from staying with us again, we hope you will allow us to redeem ourselves and provide great service on your next stay as we always strive for.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Really nice hotel, lovely staff very friendly. Gave us a fab little itinerary for Yosemite that was perfect and ensured we saw all the main sites on our day visit. Breakfast is fine for a holiday inn and a few fast food establishments close by for dinner

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am glad you had an amazing experience at our hotel. Our staff does really try to be your personal tour guide while you are visiting our area. We try to provide as much information possible so that our guests can enjoy the sights. I do appreciate you sharing your experience, We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

They had all the answers and information on all the parks in the area and could not have been more helpful. The place was clean clean clean and breakfast was hot and fresh. Once again the people were over the top.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRP H, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I want to say Thank You for sharing your experience. I am glad to read you had an amazing stay with us. We try to roll out the red carpet for all of our guests. We understand that our guests are looking for comfort and an over the top customer service experience and that is what we deliver. We look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area

Address: 309 Prosperity Blvd, Chowchilla, CA 93610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Chowchilla
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Chowchilla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gateway to Yosemite enjoys an easily accessible address in California's Central Valley, just 14 miles from Merced Regional Airport Macready Field. Fresno, Madera and Merced are all moments away, along with their vibrant attractions and cultural arts. Spend your holiday with us, and enjoy the finest entertainment and recreation in the heart of California. Just beyond our sophisticated new lobby, our accommodations exude refinement, with amenities designed for the 21st-century traveler. Complimentary wireless Internet access, signature Simply Smart bedding, microwaves and refrigerators help you feel right at home in your guest room, while suites offer additional space to entertain or spread out your belongings. Start the day with our free Express Start hot breakfast buffet, featuring our signature cinnamon rolls, western omelets, sausages and 100-percent Arabica Smart Roast coffee. Afterward, lounge beside our sun-dappled pool, or work out in the Health & Fitness Center. Our concierge will be pleased to assist with anything that might make your stay more enjoyable, including maps and directions to Yosemite National Park only 56 miles from the South Gates. Located in Central California's Sierra Nevada mountain range, Yosemite National Park offers a diverse range of activities to enhance this incredible 1,170 square miles of breathtaking natural splendor. Guided tours, backpacking trails, top rated rock climbing sites and spectacular sunsets at Glacier Point are just the beginning. Yosemite shops offer everything from souvenirs to supplies, to ensure that you have all of the necessities for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Gateway To Yosemite
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Gateway To Yosemite Hotel Chowchilla
Chowchilla Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Northeast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Chowchilla - Yosemite Park Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.